August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Knight Time

by mechagk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Get to the next 'room', before the timer hits zero!
Please, be aware that enemies don't 'kill' you, only the timer!

Keyboard | Gamepad
Movement: Arrow keys | Left Analog Stick
Jump: Z | Button 0 (A)
Attack: X | Button 2 (X)
Quit: Escape | n/a

Enjoy!
@MechaGK

Engine: Unity3D
Code: C# in Visual Studio
Graphics: Piant.NET and Pickle
Map: Tiled with Unitmx for Unity import
Font from Google Web Fonts

Please, contact me on Twitter (@MechaGK), if there's any problems, as I, for example, haven't tested the Mac and Linux builds.

Changelog:
Fixed checkpoint
Fixed gates

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#372Overall3.24
#373Fun3.14
#656Graphics2.73
#700Theme3.00
#819Humor1.80
#885Mood2.28
#1004Innovation2.27
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

doonay21 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Awesome graphics! I wish there were any sounds, anyways this game is awesome :) Good job!

berkano says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Pretty fun and nice level design! Would be great to have some sound, and moving enemies. Good job though!

BackwardSpy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:02pm

I enjoyed it! It's pretty good fun, not much in the way of difficulty and the physics seemed a little wonky but that could just be my personal preference. I had fun, and I think with more levels, a bit more of a difficulty curve and some sounds you could have a pretty awesome game!

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:05pm

The hit detection on attacking enemies seems a bit off; sometimes I swear I'm hitting them, but I end up getting bounced way back anyhow.

mechagk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Thank you for playing, glad you all like it! =D

About the hit detection: It's one of those thing, I would have cought, if some one else had played it. =P

Spotline says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Well done sir !

tchem says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:33pm

great game man,,, cool graphics

mechagk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:50pm

For those who want to play with better hit detection: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/8478905/Games/LD27/Knight%20Time%20-%20Better%20Hit%20Detection/Knight%20Time%20-%20Better%20Hit%20Detection.html

fgielow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Well made for 48 hours. Like the graphic and the movement its very smooth.
Just think that the concept of the theme could be better resolve. But well done =)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Great game, kept me coming back and trying again. I was so pleased when I came across a checkpoint! :D

local minimum says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:48am

I liked how the instructions came into the game so that the difficulty wasn't about what to do, but simply managing to do it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]