August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Con 10 Sedi

by Capro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I interpreted the theme "10 seconds" as "10 second places", so I made a game about ten runners that tries to finish a race together to win ten silver medals.

Enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#13Theme4.24
#25Innovation4.07
#49Humor3.76
#80Overall3.71
#238Graphics3.48
#262Fun3.31
#298Mood3.08
#300Audio2.99

Comments

Aug 25, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Hah, awesome!)

balta says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Damn that's hard! Nice :D

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:25am

Well done!! the theme fits perfectly, and it's very original .D

infernet89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:13am

Nice interpretation of the theme, most original i've seen so far. Well done!

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Best idea ever. :D Loved it and even on "Affordable" it was challenging.

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Really fun and challenging idea! Not sure how it really fits with the theme since it lasts for more than 10 seconds, but I like the managing aspect of it.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Really nice pixel art!

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02pm

I loved it. Played it on Kongrgate yesterday by random and knew I had to rate it here instantly. Great use of the theme!

xhunterko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Great little idea! Really neat!

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:52am

Brilliant interpretation of the theme.

rujo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:50am

awesome game! very difficult though

Ninquo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:18pm

brilliant idea, my favorite game so far ;)

pbdiode says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Nice! good mechanic!

I think some animation or some thing on the menu screens to make them a little less static looking would have been great, but that's just a minor thing, especially for this competition, and they certainly served the purpose!

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:50pm

I did it mom! I came in second! Nice game. I had fun.

SneManden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Wow, very nice game! Funny interpretation of the theme. Really liked the neat oldschool graphics.

Like the ironic difficulty levels (wasn't quite childishly easy)

Shmarah says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:51pm

I adore it!
As a runner who has that one "Celere" on her track team, this is so touching and adorable! I'm totally getting my team to do this during the next relay race. My favorite game so far!

eckcz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Idea is awesome. You got the theme right :D

ModestArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:15pm

REALLY enjoyed this. Excellent take on the theme, and it's very fun to play. Fantastic work.

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Great idea! Gratz! :D

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:39pm

A really good title here. One of the best interpretation of the theme. Very fun and challenging game. =)

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Hah, nice idea! The controls and interface were strange at the beginning, but after a second try I understood it.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Love it. Way to think outside of the box. I bow to you :)

wintermute says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Very very nice. As other guys said, great re-interpretation of the theme. Art is cool and the game is too, although it's not easy at all! Well designed too, maybe it's just a little thing but it is good that you mapped the numeric keys to the runners, make everything more intuitive.
Loved the quote from Orwell at the end :D

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Nice! Similar interpretation of 'second' as in my game :-) And +1 for the Animal Farm.

BNeutral says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:01am

Best use of the theme.

superfrog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:45pm

very funny!!!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Probably my absolute favourite interpretation of the theme, and a fantastic game to go with it. This is just great.

KeithE. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Awesome use of the theme! Really fun little game. :) Great Job!

Unept says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:30pm

I absolutely DOMINATED in Childish mode. And by "dominated" I mean "took 2nd place." Bravissimo!

bassarisse says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:21am

Played on Healthy, what a good challenge!

hbocao says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:56am

Oh man! This is awesome! I totally suck at it :( haha

Toshiro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:55am

Hahaha what an idea ! You're crazy, and it's really too hard. Well done :)

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:13am

Excellent work ! Great take on the theme and nice execution. Loved the music :D

wally2069 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Best use of theme that doesn't involve time units

Pierrec says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

I would pay to see this race on TV

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Very hard, yet fun. Great use of theme!! I featured it in a compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVjNz61S5Vg

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:22am

Hah, a funny take on the theme!
Congrats on being picked on indiegames.com! It lead me here :]
(http://indiegames.com/2013/08/browser_pick_con_10_sedi.html)

rylgh says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:04am

Great take on the theme, super cool music!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Haha yes, a nice punny take on the theme. One thing I would say is that I ended up not looking at anything aside from the icons. Maybe the icons could be nearer the runners, or maybe not have icons and make it easier to tell which runners are behind/ahead by looking at them?

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Leftist Society: The Game

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:23pm

good job

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Best use of theme. Really lovely idea.

Zap says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:26pm

<3<3<3
I agree with GarethIW that too much time is spent looking at the icons. What if the arrows were right near the corresponding runner?

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Awesome game :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:50pm

very cool use of these -- nice job

Oxydam says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:15am

Very good and original interpretation of the theme.

larb says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Wow, genius idea. Really cool.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:41am

Good idea and fun game. Simple but different.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Great idea, quite tricky with no line to gauge it by!

Awesome :)

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Nice interpretation of the theme and application on a simple and fun little game.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Love how you used the theme! 5 for theme for you.

netgrind says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:59pm

That was a great take on the theme, great thinking.

aquilicoco says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Awesome idea! good work

Aceria says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Creative take on the theme! Very nicely done within that timeframe. :D

Dry Tree says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:38am

Interesting take on the theme and great retro styling. Tricky though - I had to tone it down to 'childish' to beat it. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]