August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

DungeonRaider

by Dioiminik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have to find a secret treasure hidden in a randomly generated Level in order to win. Move using either "wasd" or the arrow keys. Attack using spacebar. The twist in this Game is that after 10 seconds each room collapses, killing you if you're still in that room. So you got to move quick!

Sadly I only had about 15 hours this weekend to work on the game :/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#261Audio3.06
#392Theme3.33
#647Fun2.81
#686Mood2.56
#694Innovation2.78
#798Humor1.84
#820Overall2.78
#1072Graphics1.97

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46am

Nice!
The basic gameplay is well done. The map is a bit huge though, and you have no indication on where to go :)

It does feel repetetive really fast. Either run through a room, avoid or kill the eye and wait for the time to nearly run out. Rinse and repeat.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43pm

The random level generator is a snazzy touch for sure!

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Mmm closes as soon as I open it :/

TheHobbit9797 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47pm

It was fun to play, but I think you need some luck to really win the game.

Kevlanche says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49pm

I agree with Endurion. The map is VERY large! Other than that good job. I found the treasure and Won! :D

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56pm

I've to pack res/ folder into the jar on linux to avoid crash on startup. Movement is little bit annoying and the dungeon seems too stereotypical. But I really like the idea of fast-run through the dungeon :)

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:22pm

GreenyUk Are you using linux?

Clavus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Well done. Movement is a bit wonky, it's a bit difficult to go in-between two blocks. Managed to find the treasure pretty quick.

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Awesome!Rooms with ennemis seem a bit pointless though.

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54pm

I loved the audio for this entry, really well done.
The map is quite large, it would be nice for there to be some kind of hint in some rooms or something like that or some minor treasure to help you. Really good work though, the eyes kept killing me :(

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54pm

So fun! :)

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:59pm

I cleared a pretty big deal of the map before finding the treasure. Maybe it was a wee bit too big.
Other than that, i really loved the high pace of the game. I did, however, find the quick controls a little hard to navigate in between two block. maybe a tile based movement would have been better?
graphics were OK. Could have been nice with a little polish as you mentioned, but i know how hard it is to finish a game in 48 hours :)
I enjoyed it!

Oh, and badass music B)

Boodog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Cool game! :D

rejome says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Nice work, missing some polish as you said (but we all know how hard it is :) ). Good job for the music although.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Fun and fast paced. The collapse idea was nice, I like how it progresively gets darker and starts trembling. It was interesting.

kebabskal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Pretty good, feels a bit unfinished tho. I like the idea a lot! :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:45pm

More interesting than it first appears, actually. I like the idea of the rooms remembering your time limit. It's not much to look at though, to be honest. But its certainly something that could be elaborated upon!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:38pm

It was fun to run around, but the map was way too huge, and there was no real reason to kill the eyes. Seems like you hit some time problems ;)

Sephiroth87 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Crashes on launch on osx :(

Myyyvothrr says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Simple, but I like it!

Latcarf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Very nice! Especially for a game made in 15 hours

porglezomp says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:14am

I like the collapsing effect a lot, but the rooms start to feel repetitive after only 5 or 6.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:46pm

(by the way, it works on Linux)

psychomonster says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:00am

For a 15hours game jam this one is really nice. random level generator... Like the the stuff I've seen so far... Hope you will have more time at the next LudumDare! Have fun!

Linusson says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:56am

This was fun and stressful. :D I really wanted to find the treasure and I did. :D

Even if I barely had any time to look at the minimap it was a great thing to have. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]