August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Flick Fight

by raoz - Jam Entry

Made by RaoZ and Ervion of the Team Lumiosity, this game is set a few hundred years in the future of space travel. In this game, you fight in illegal underground battles that take place in the recycling areas. How long can you survive?

Oh, and one small thing: every ten seconds you switch locations with somebody .

INSTRUCTIONS: Use mouse to steer(Move mouse up to pull nose up, move mouse left to pull nose left and vice versa), scrollwheel to adjust main thrusters, leftclick to attack.

NB! You might have to pause the game once using escape for your mouse to be captured.

P.S. We're currently investigating severe performance issues in the webplayer. Use at your own risk: http://raoz.bitbucket.org/flickfight/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#226Audio(Jam)3.00
#347Graphics(Jam)3.05
#358Mood(Jam)2.71
#458Innovation(Jam)2.53
#481Fun(Jam)2.42
#493Overall(Jam)2.65
#547Theme(Jam)2.37
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

kantieno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:42am

Controls were rather unresponsive, so I probably would have played more if I could control it better.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:53pm

The controls don't seem to be very good. I can't predict what way I'm going to go based on what I do, and I randomly teleport places.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:57pm

The mouse controls are really weird and it's extremely difficult to steer.

tiffi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:59pm

cool game, great explosions, controls are a lil bit tricky. Its made with unity?, so why no webapplication?

Reicher says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Looks cool, but hard to see since i was rotating all the time, it didnt seam to respond on my mouse=/

cwkx says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Making a 3D space shooter in such a short amount of time is a real challenge, good work - especially like the music and particles :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:22am

Really impressive that you were able to get a 3d space shooter playable in most instances! I too had mouse issues and I couldn't press ESC because my keyboard's broken and my ESC key doesn't work :( I have a ticket in to Razer to get that fixed...so sad.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Fun game and great concept. The mouse controls are a bit tough to get used to without instant feedback...

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Controls were unresponsive and I was unclear on what I had to do, hard to fly and hit stuff and I don't see how it fit in the 10 second theme.

mactinite says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 12:33am

So I run a pretty high end system and I was getting frame drops. I've never encountered this before with unity so I though I'd let you know. Otherwise the controls were a bit tricky I really couldn't get around. I did, however, feel like I was in this huge space battle.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]