August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SF-1

by frogmaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are agent SF-1. Your contact has sent you on your new quest to North Korea. Prove yourself worthy and once again save the world!

Keys:
W,S,A,D, Space
and Enter for menus

EDIT: I've removed the tiny bug with annoying intro message. You can check hint.lua for more info, or just download the original 48h *.love file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#206Theme3.55
#384Innovation3.20
#512Graphics2.95
#650Mood2.60
#820Audio1.95
#906Overall2.68
#956Fun2.40
#1422Coolness39%

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:45am

Packaging up with the run time would be neat.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Nice game. Ought to provide a way to show the entire conversation at once, so we can get through it quicker, but still read it!

smash ball says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Tried a few times, but I couldn't beat it. Was an interesting game though.

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Thanks for putting the runtime in there.

This is basically a endless fall? It's annoying fast that there is no indicator and you have to count the beeps.

frogmaster says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Thank you all for playing!
@Endurion: I just needed an additional day to patch the runtime up. I had to do this on another machine :)
And, to answer your call: no, this fall lasts about 40 seconds, as you can see the lights grow bigger. After that the game proceeds to next level. There IS a victory screen at the end of the game :)
Counting beeps is the aim of the game. Basically it's a game about multitasking :). I've tried with a drawn clock, but it's just too easy then.
Although I know, game is a bit too hard, it lacks in introduction.

alts says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:48am

I like the narrative device of a "I'm still alive" button. I don't think the mines are an effective obstacle, since they don't seem to be predictable at all. That results in deaths being a matter of luck more than actual failure, and that's sometimes frustrating.

frogmaster says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:23pm

@alts: You are right. In fact, they are supposed to make character to move. When you are in still move, they are easily ommitable.
On the other hand, they are too hard obstacle for the first few seconds of play and I've made a horrible mistake throwing them at the unexperienced players...

Mekuri says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:03pm

I like the idea, but the bullets are frustrating, at least the fast ones. I really liked how you used the theme, and personally I like games that challenges the mind, in this case - to multitask.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:13am

Quite a original idea for the theme, and quite tricky to play. And that the tutorial interrupts the 10 second timer is just evil. ;)

01rafael says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:18am

have error on windows 8 ((
please compile to web

SmudgedCat says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 3:42pm

I quite like the idea of this game. I couldn't finish it unfortunately as stuff can kill you quite quickly.

tompudding says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Really nice idea, having to count the 10 seconds is quite innovative. It was a bit too hard though I think, but it looks good. Nice job

Croze says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Was a very great idea, good test of multitasking :D Hated the audio lol, but the graphics were awesome.

dj_pale says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Nice idea and story, gets too hard too quickly unfortunately. A more visual cue of falling would be good in the beginning.

jwolf says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:43am

Pretty decent game, altogether. I think the mines need to be telegraphed a bit more ahead of time somehow, because they seem impossible to avoid if one starts on top of you.

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:18am

I couldn't find how to play the game... :(
But from what I have seen (not much), the gameplay seems quite smooth.

frogmaster says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:34am

@01Rafael: Sorry, I have some problems with webplayer. It turned out that this game doesn't like web :(
Also there was a bug I've created repairing previous bug. The last bug made it almost impossible to complete level 2. Yesterday I've upload the stable (I believe) build.

I see many of You have problems with mines - there is an easy method: keep moving, stop only if you have no exit. It's hard, it took me 4 attemps after some break. My friend, who had not played it before, made it in 3! He's good!

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:35pm

omg supameganicegraphics. don't know why but I loved it. gameplay was ok too.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:09am

Interesting concept. It wasn't implemented the best, as stuff will often just appear out of nowhere and shoot you out of the sky, but despite that, I had fun.

Latcarf says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:07pm

I like the idea of having to count to ten, but the inertia makes the game very difficult, I didn't pass level 1.

haxpor says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:34pm

I pressed on the keys but nothing happens. Not sure what's the problem, but I guess it's about the game's update loop or not as I found the effect of dialogue message at the beginning slowly unfolds itself. I would love to play this as the idea is very attractive.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]