August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Solitude

by rxi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:

x : jump
c : action
arrows : move


Alternative Controls:

l : jump
k : action
WASD : move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood4.41
Coolness60%
#6Audio4.15
#9Graphics4.52
#9Overall4.15
#80Theme3.81
#192Fun3.41
#335Innovation3.29
#453Humor2.42

Comments

TomboFry says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50am

Just brilliant. I love the music! (and everything else about it ._.)

Ditto says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:04am

Wow, just.. wow, that was incredible! Thanks a lot for that, wow, I'm speechless!

Sestren says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41am

Very nice, soothing music, although the jump sound effect seemed to clash with it a bit. The mood is well done, and the lighting is very pretty. Great job!

hughsk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:17am

Great aesthetic!

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Looks amazing! Love the atmosphere too. I only wish there was a way to skip or speed up the dialogue.

JAH2488 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Love the music, art style, and polish of the whole thing. Really great job. A lot of the dialogs became annoying as they were blocking and took awhile to get through, but obviously that bit would be polished with more time.

graytest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37pm

The game looks amazing. Took me a while to figure out why I even needed a flash light, but it got clear later. I haven't finished it, but will probably give it another go. Agree with one of the previous reviewers that the text need a skip button (I had to click through the same cryo pod text a few times). Great job though!

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:39pm

I really like the overall atmosphere, I think that Solitude is pretty well chosen name. Graphic style is incredible. Well done

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:57am

Great job! I loved the background music and atmosphere of the game. Some of the sound effects were a bit loud in comparison to the background music, but such a small thing. I wasn't even able to get sound done on mine!

Intro was a bit long and would be nice to be able to quickly skip out of text bubbles. But I liked your take on the theme with the flashlight and being able to recharge it at stations was a nice touch. The lighting effects were pretty cool all around. Its pretty amazing how much you were able to get done.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:06am

I like the music and the terminal text at the beginning. It's a great mood in the game too. Very nice!

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:56am

Pretty amazing, especially given the timeframe. I liked how you worked the theme in too.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Very atmosphere =)
Like idea with battery and ability to read in darkness. Want more!
Well done, man!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Nice lighting work and music. The approach to the theme is cool too, definitely getting a high score in mood from me.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Such a good atmosphere to this game, love the way it looks

rezoner says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Great atmosphere and assets. All it lacks is SHODAN trying to kill you.

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Amazing! I love the atmosphere you managed to put into the game.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:50pm

So so lovely, really enjoyed playing this. Those light effects and the overlay were really well done, very pretty to behold! Atmosphere was spot on for me too!

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Very nice game overall! Good job.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Lovely game. There were a few jumps that were annoying to make, and I had to try 3 or 4 times. It's a bit too hard for me to finish right now, but I'm going to come back to this one.

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:22pm

very solidly developed game, the intrigue kept the drive going!

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Wow, great visuals.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:29pm

FANTASTIC WORK!!!11!! :)

Sense says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:32pm

One of the bests. Awesome!

LiamJPeters says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Absolutely phenomenal work for just 24 hours! Love your post mortem too!

pereubu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:54pm

nice :3

jglrxavpok says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Some dialogs are a bit annoying but still a great game! Love it!

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Absolutely wonderful. The atmosphere is so powerful and I wanted to keep going until I found all the notes. Never expected a LD game to affect me emotionally, but it did. Very well done.

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:11pm

This game has a very good atmosphere to it. Even though it was just running around, I could not stop until I had found all the notes. The only small complaint I have is, that some jumps where a bit far, so that I had to do them over and over again. One of my favorites!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Excellent and moody game, nice work on the overall look.

stenol says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Excellent game. Great graphic. Had lot of fun playing it.

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Very nice, and extremely well polished. Lighting system and music added a lot to the mood, and the story kept me going. My only complains are that I didn't care for the sound effects, and I wish I could go through text a bit faster. Well done.

PeaCe says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:50pm

This is Ludum dare Game Jam. This is a game comment . I am going to write a comment. I hope it works. "Nice Game!"
just kidding, but lots of annoying text about nothing, this made me to leave the game at the first note. Nice look though.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Really great game. Although I collected every note, I'm still not sure what the story exactly is... but maybe I'm just a slow thinker. But I'm for sure no slow reader, so it would have been nice to skip text faster.

loxo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:56pm

I particularly like the graphics and lighting. Overall a great game!

tigerj says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Really great work. Very polished and well done. Nothing seems lacking and it's a very robust entry.

Good job and thanks for making such a fun game.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Pretty impressive entry on all fronts. Great use of light/darkness as a gameplay element.

SneManden says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:50pm

A true piece of art! The graphics are stunning and along with the audio, it really set the mood.

The gameplay was also spot on; at first I thought it would be too overwhelming with so many choices, but I managed to collect all the notes without wandering for too long.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Amazingly good looking game. Wonder if some dedicated people can do this in 72 hours, what can be done in a month?

Esenti says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:06pm

It would be nice to have the use key fast-forwarding the text. Otherwise - awesome game!

goyal says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Music is dope. Well polished.

Split82 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:55am

Awesome music and nice visuals.

mrcdk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:38am

Nice game I love the music and the graphics

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:06am

simply beautiful.

leafo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Really cool game idea and great graphics. I just wish there was a map or something. I got lost pretty early and spent a lot of time just wandering around without a note in sight.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:50pm

You create a fantastic and immersive universe.
Also you gave me the will to play with lights.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:08pm

The overall style of this game is bound well together.
The music, graphics and lighting fit to really nail the "Mood" aspect which is absent in too many games.

Well done!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Very atmospheric! The music provides just the right mood. Great art and lighting effects, too.

rxi: You requested a Linux build of my game. It's available now! Let me know if it works for you.

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Great combination of audio and lighting to create an appropriate mood. Simple mechanics used to deliver an interesting and compelling little story. Great work!

koe415 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Wow you weren't kidding. Even the controls are the same as my game! Anyways, your game is awesome. The lighting looks nice and plays well with the flashlight dynamic. Very good use of the theme. Great minimal story that slowly unfolds. It definitely left me wanting more! Nice intro as well. I had issues with some of the jumping platforms but they were minor.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:59am

A very atmospheric game, I enjoyed the mood and the way in which the charging stations create these 10-second timed areas/challenges around them.

Laguna says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:15pm

This is really great! Being done in just 48 hours is impressive. I really dig the Music and the graphics style.

zzForrest says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Interesting game, although I think the music clashed a bit with the mood. I felt like you could have gone for a more somber and scary mood, and made the environments more ominous and forced the player to do uncomfortable tasks such as jumping down large pits, but you missed the opportunity. However, the end product is still a quite amazing game!

Diptoman says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Okay, this was simply one of the best entries I've played yet. Loved the mood and atmosphere with the dynamic lighting and aesthetic soundtrack. There were a couple of hard jumps, but I was just hooked on to this until I got to the end. I want to know so badly what the actual events were. Would definitely want to see more of this.
There were very few downsides, the most prominent being the loose implementation of the theme.
But anyways, congratulations- Awesome work!
(PS I found the walking animation quite catchy lol)

tamat says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:10pm

very neat, light effects where great.
maybe a little ending would had made it perfect

oxysoft says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Awesome ambiance but gameplay's a bit boring

poohshoes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:27pm

This game would be fantastic if it weren't for the text. The text scrolling sounds really annoyed me. As well as the tons of unnecessary text when reading letters and charging. I must have read the crypto chamber dialog 4 times as the button to skip text is also the button to examine, ARGH

Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Amazing graphics and audio!
By the way I remember your game "Happiness"!!!

Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Like others, I really enjoyed the music and atmosphere. I love space games :)

TijmenTio says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:56pm

The battery system really makes this basic platform adventure something new and exciting. Along with the amazing visuals( mosaic+lights ) and the soothing music it became an amazing game!

spitfire87 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Felt in love with this shaders and lighting in 2D. Srslly stuning graphics.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:35pm

fantastic entry. beautiful in every way.

Cryovat says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:34pm

The music (oh the MUSIC) and mood of this game was incredibly serene and mysterious, and everything meshed well together. Length seemed well balanced too. I'm in awe. :)

My only niggle would be that the notes can be a bit hard to find. I ended up doing four round-trips of the entire level to find the last one.

Apart from that, just incredible. Wow.

fdevant says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Solid stuff!

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:33am

This one has a nice mood. Love the lighting effects and the music. The sound effects of jumping and walking felt a bit out of place. And it would have been nice to be able to skip some of the text bubbles. Other than that, an amazing game :)

Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Really well done game, though the theme doesnt play too big of a role in the game. I did like it though, very well polished!! I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZbxb_2pbIE

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:28pm

For a game that relies so heavily on its light mechanic, there are a lot of jumps that are harder to make than they need to be. Some make sense -- it's a matter of having time to get to a place before the flashlight runs out. But when you're making the jumps to get back up to the charging station in the dark, it shouldn't be hard to do.

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Everything about this is top-notch. Very impressive work on this. The only thing that took away from the experience was how long some of the text was. Other than that minor complaint, this was brilliant.

Sebastian says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Incredible atmosphere you have created here. I would have liked to be able to move during the dialogues, especially the charging complete.

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:43am

Excellent title! :)
Very polish, perfect atmosphere, nice story, very good graphics!
One of the best games of the contest. :)

Antidote says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:32pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=doyBT7GFnWg - Recorded me playing and commenting on it :)

rxi says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 6:26pm

@Antidote

Thanks for doing the video! It was great seeing how you got along with the game, and really gave me some insight into how other people might be playing it.


@Jupiter_Hadley

Cheers for including me in your compilation video -- it's a bit of a shame you didn't get a chance to see where the theme came more in to play, but I appreciate the fact that you're trying to get through all 2213 games!



In regard to all the other comments, I agree with most the criticism, a means of speeding/skipping the dialogue is something I'll make a priority in any future games I create. A lot of the points mentioned were things I noticed the day after submitting, but due to time constraints and lack of sleep I didn't pick up on at the time.

For everyone that played the game, thanks for playing and leaving feedback! I'm glad to see how many people enjoyed it.

bukt says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Very special game is here. Awesome soundtrack, pretty cool art and interesting puzzle-idea. But there is only one minus: game ending. No more, than fade-out is disappointing. Could you please add endscreen with all collected note's texts? I really love backstory and want to know more :)

MrBlade says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:40pm

WHOA! SOUND ON/OFF! THANK YOU. Nice work. Amazing graphics great sounds. AND AAAWWWWW MY WITTLE TUMMY! AWWW. I understand there is a point and everything to the reading notes thing but dear god the text is slow. Very very amazing work on the lights. Keep it! 9/10.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]