August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tower Infinity

by esayitch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: Game link might take 20-30 seconds to load!

ABOUT THE GAME:

This is a mini-RTS that doesn't use a mouse and takes away all the burden of micro-managing your units (even baddies like me can play it)! Your goal is to protect your tower and destroy your enemy's tower. To do that, you add modules to your tower that allow you train units, improve its defense, generate Power (a.k.a MONEY) or periodically send a group of weak units at your enemy.

Commands are all carried out at intervals of 10 seconds; meaning once the big huge red counter reaches 0, all of the commands currently in the queue are carried out... you can also see what your devious opponent is carrying out, and react appropriately!


CONTROLS:

You toggle the Z,X, and C keys on and off, and based on that, a command is generated (don't worry, the game explains what each command does).

Pressing Space will add the command to your Tower's queue, or, if the thing is not possible (you don't have enough Power for example, or you need to build something else first), then it notifies you why that is.


GENERAL (FUN) INFO:

This is my first LD entry! Huzzah!

I made everything using Flixel, paint.NET, and sfxr, barring the tubular, awesome track playing at the background, which was gotten from www.nosoapradio.us (a lifesaver!)

I had a day to work on it due to a full time job on Sunday (I know, I know), but it turned out all right! Well, I hope so at least. If you liked it, drop me a line, if not, drop me two!

Also, peaches are tasty and Dani Ludum is innocent >:)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#197Innovation3.52
#247Audio3.10
#332Overall3.29
#351Mood3.00
#407Graphics3.13
#439Fun3.06
#578Theme3.16
#617Humor2.14

Comments

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:25am

A bit confusing at first, but its a really original gameplay :D
Good work!

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:27am

I like the art style and the sound effects. The gameplay is pretty simple and doesn't offer a whole lot of depth. It's not really what I would call tower defense, despite the fact that you are defending a tower.

Also, I believe that using a music asset that you did not create is in violation of the rules of the 48 hour compo.

KeithE. says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30am

Dig the overall aesthetic. I was a little overwhelmed when first booting it up but once I parsed through all the text it started clicking. Good job!

loolpolo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:33am

It's kind of confusing but the music is good and i liked the art too.

rot13 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42am

Pretty good game, might look a bit complicated at first but fun once you get the hang of controls. I liked the art style, too.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:07am

Good and innovative. Needs some tweaking as of now it seems like a real long drag to finish a match. This has HUUUGE multiplayer potential =)

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Awesome entry, it was pretty tough, but I really liked the game, excellent graphics and audio!

grayhaze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Really fun once you get used to the controls. Well done!

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Not easy to learn but after that it's a funny game !

Static 64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:39pm

The game is tough, but the method of executing commands is extremely unique. Nice thinking!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Didn't really know what was going on, pressed some buttons and then lost. Not very satisfying...
Anyway, you shouldn't use music you downloaded somewhere in the competition, it's against the rules!!!

mobyvb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:50pm

super fun. My favorite game so far. I was about to skip it because I thought it would take too long to learn, but it's very intuitive in my opinion, even with such a minimal tutorial. I admit that I kinda suck at the game (I didn't hurt the enemy tower at all), but it's still really fun and unique.

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:51pm

In regards to music (I've seen two comments regarding that), I was going by the following (in the rules):

Fonts, drum loops, drum samples, and sampled instruments are allowed IF you have the legal right to use them.

And if you check the site I got the track from, it's free to use and to publish in games :P

On other news, thanks al ot for the feedback, it is really appreciated :D

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49pm

I think you need to choose your colors more carefully : some parts of the screen are hardly lisible; and there is an overall "what the f*** is going on ?!" feeling at the beginning that will probably make some people quit before they understand how the game is supposed to be played.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:26am

I'll have to admit, I really wanted to get into it but the controls were a bit confusing. If there was an easier way to pick commands, it would be a lot of fun. Otherwise the concept (mouse-free rts), graphics and music are pretty cool.

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:20pm

I LOVE THE GRAPHICS, Retro.

lazyeels says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:24pm

I felt very nostalgic and wanted to pull out my Amiga. Cool concept and graphics and sound.

Paraknight says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Brilliant game once you get the hang of it! My favourite strategy was to build three boosters and two generators then just sit back till I have around 150 power. Then delete one booster and one generator, build two factories and flood the place with slaughterers. Instant win!

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Wow, it tooks me sometimes to understand the control, but i really appreciate that mechanic!

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:32pm

MAGICKAL TOWER PIXEL WAR. I DIG WHAT IT INVOKES.

Lurieh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Great entry, prolly my favorite so far!
Lacks maybe of a rock paper scissor effect of some sort, spamming slaughterer can beat all the rest alone.
Towers have too much HP, less HP with maybe a number of rounds to win. That is of course if you plan to go further with this game :)

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Nice graphics, a theme of 10 seconds is lost on me here but never the less, it is awesome and it is fun tweaking around. AI is challenging enough. Great job.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:04pm

The mechanic was very good and the gameplay was great. The music and art fit very well. Good job!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Interesting game. The amount of hp the base have is way too high.

motty says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:18am

Neat little game. Graphics are nice but could be clearer. Love the deliberately arcane control mechanic.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:46am

Good tower offense! This game is fun to play but I feel the slaughter is a bit too strong. Nice game overall :)

flarb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:22am

Pretty cool trimmed down RTS.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:24pm

original and complex.

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Took me a minute to catch on but quickly able to hold my own and advance, congrats on a great first entry! Controls took the game to a new fun level. :-)

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

acro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:43pm

clever use of 10 seconds! I didn't feel like I was getting anywhere, though. Is it winnable, or genuinely infinite as the title implies? Spamming behemoths wasn't as effective as I thought it might be... Only criticism, there's somehow too much text and it's a bit fiddly getting started.

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

I really don't get what's happening out there, you need to clearify the graphics IMHO

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Didn't get it at the start but it's pretty interesting, 999hp might be a bit long though :D

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Really smart design, just needs tuning for each match to finish a bit faster. . Good job!

esayitch says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

@acro: Game is winnable, easiest strat is play defensive until you got about 200 Power, then make mega Slaughterer push :)
@all: Thanks for the feedback, making games accessible is something I generally struggle in, but now I know on what to work!

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:00pm

This is kinda hard. I really liked the controls, they made this much more interesting.

michail says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Nice game, and the graphics are also good!
But as for the music I found the reminder-of-rules post for the previous LD, I think it explains a lot (link: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/04/16/a-quick-reminder-read-the-rules/ ).

"The most important restriction some weren’t aware of: ALL content must be created within 48 hours! This means you are NOT allowed to use graphics, sounds or music previously created by you or others. You are NOT allowed to use downloaded graphics, sounds or music, even if they are free and even if you modify them heavily! The only graphical third-party content you are allowed to use in your project are Fonts. The only third-party audio elements you are allowed to use are drum loops, drum samples and sampled instruments used for music creation.
You are, however, allowed to use Content generators that create graphics, sounds or even music on-the-fly based on parameters given as input. sfxr is a popular example."

So I think you cannot use downloaded music from Internet in compo. You can use drum loops/samples to make your own music, but not use a whole music track.

esayitch says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Ah damn :( Didn't know that... well... will be wiser for next LD I guess :P

fluffypillow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Really good gameplay. It's interesting how many things you can do with only 3 keys :)

It's kinda hard to control with non-english keyboards since Z is on the place of Y.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Nice job. Seems like Flixel offers plenty of possibilities for the non-coders. Must check it out!

esayitch says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Wrote about 2000 lines of code (in flixel) to make this :P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]