August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Not the blue wire!

by sol_hsa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made in about 4 hours. C/C++ source included in the windows zip.

Web version is hastily emscripted, and has no audio; webGL also doesn't support thick lines. Apart from those differences the gameplay is the same.

(You can watch the youtube vid for demo of the audio and thick wires)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#130Theme3.70
#314Fun3.24
#348Innovation3.26
#449Overall3.16
#593Mood2.68
#594Audio2.47
#768Humor1.91
#871Graphics2.36

Comments

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:01am

Very cool!

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:12am

Scored 137492

Very nice idea. I esp. like that you can move the lines with the mouse.
And the music getting nervous when time is running low.

Good one!

tomsik68 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:15am

This game perfectly suits the theme, because you have 10 seconds to do something you can actually do in 10 seconds :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:18am

This is awesome and straightforward. There's something very satisfying about tracing the line from the top to the correct place at the bottom. Such a simple concept... perfect for LD.

I wish there were some more complex things introduced later, instead of just getting more "tangled". You could have to cut multiple wires, wires in a specific order, etc.

Overall, cool game!

vitou3d says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:25am

I reached level 18. Pretty good entry. Love the simplicity and it's quite fun

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:36am

This is simple but clever, and I had some fun with it. I especially like the way the music builds as I fumble around horribly. The way the wires move around is also some of the coolest "tech" I've seen in the jam so far! :)

teddy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12am

HAHA nice. I got to the end and had a few correct after that but took me a few tries. GJ!

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47am

That was very cool, I love the way the wires jiggle if you try to trace them!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Nice one!

Symmeteer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:46pm

That was really fun, even on the web version. Nice job!

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Needed something just a bit more. Clever idea though.

tiagosr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:22am

Nice idea, liked it. Liked the emscripten version too, nice use of it =D but difficulty ramps up a lot right after level 20 in the web version, more because the bottom sections of a lot of wires end up looking pretty connected, and moving the cables didn't help making any of these distinguishable.

ModestArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Really nice. Love the sway of the wires.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:06am

Very cool game. I like the waving of the wires very much makes it quite difficult to follow the blue wire.
After level 20 it gets really hard.

Capro says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Cool game!

zkenshin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Solid entry, enjoyable. :)

deepnight says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Simple and efficient.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]