August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Friday Simulator

by panuo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a fun little typing game (if that is a possible combination). just hang out with your invisible friends on a friday night. Idea of "drinking game" came from my friends, and it turnet out pretty well considering my skill level.

please read the included readme.txt and have fun!

the game was made using python 2.7 and pygame if you are interrested in running the source code (shoud run under linux). Unfortunately i had to turn audiofiles to wav :(

Patched version has one letter changed from uppercase to lovercase.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#19Humor4.04
#144Fun3.50
#165Theme3.64
#171Innovation3.57
#174Mood3.33
#332Overall3.29
#648Audio2.38
#965Graphics2.17

Comments

devi ever says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23am

10/10 GOTY! Can't believe I got through it all. A lot more entertaining than I though it would be. :)

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:56am

Excellent entry, and actually quite challenging for me with all the typos. I love the text, esp; "plotslich weisse ich alles von politik"

For any linux folk, this runs nicely under python2.7 w/ pygame.

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:46pm

10/10 :) Kept typing for the rambling!

nikkesen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Good UI. Interesting concept for game play. Well done. One of the best ones yet.

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:48pm

duuuuuude no love for ppl who use a keyboard which is not english :D! german in my case, where y and z are switched o.O

love the audio!

Octopuns says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Nice. Typing games will always hold a place close to my heart. Also love how yours is the first typing game that makes me type the tutorial.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Fun to play but really hard with a QWERTZ keyboard (y and z are switched). I feel like I must beat the game

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:52pm

The first letter of "ICH HABE…" didn't work and made me lose the game. :( Very good otherwise. You made me misspell! This is going in my picks! :)

panuo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Thank you everybody for your comments.
I think there is almost nothing I can do to help you folks with non english keyboard. I my self have a finnish one, and it was thankfully compatible.

@Zuige sorry that is a bug :( it is caused by the first letter being uppercase in the source code. Fortunately there is only 1/4 chance for that phrase to show up but it sucks non the less.

tlasol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:08am

Niiiiice. I have a win7, crashes on start because of 32-bit version :c

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:10am

Hahahah fun :D I type too quickly for my own good so I'm glad you put the typos and waffling in there and forced me to not rely on muscle memory for typing letter combinations. Really fun entry, well done :D

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:22am

Love the phrases at the end, excellent work!

tiffi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Hope you had fun recording the sounds, really funny game. But had the german keyboard problem, still, great. reminds me of typing (drinking) of the dead

Boodog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Nice game! :)

local minimum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Just came back from the pub, which may make me biased, but this was one great game!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Funny perspective of a friday.

Croze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:42am

Definitely got my innovation and humor vote haha

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:38am

pretty sillyyy

Ossi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:14am

Simple concept with hilarious execution! Very funny game with silly words to type. Good job!

shard123 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Really awesome, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]