August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Red Buttons

by flod - Jam Entry

You are a testsubject trapped in a
time loop. You can only escape if
you find red buttons and press them
within your time slot of 10 seconds.

Controls:
WASD = Move
Mouse = Look
Left Mousebutton = Press Button
P = Menue

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#198Theme(Jam)3.32
#245Humor(Jam)2.59
#282Overall(Jam)3.14
#285Fun(Jam)2.95
#364Mood(Jam)2.69
#366Innovation(Jam)2.78
#420Graphics(Jam)2.81
#491Audio(Jam)1.66

Comments

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:09am

Haha! I enjoyed this way more than I should have!

whydoidoit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:33am

I certainly panicked!

cwkx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41am

Nice and simple gameplay :)

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Since you used Unity, please provide a native binary for Linux, as well. I was able to emulate the windows version using Wine, but I couldn't look around with my mouse :?

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Nice interations on the level design, it really worked at trapping me a lot of times :D

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:08pm

fun gameplay!
Could imagine more levels - maybe with time power ups.
And i liked the graphics too :)
Cool game

albertelwin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:08pm

I think the big red arrow is unnecessary, especially considering it didn't line up on one of the levels! cool game otherwise :)

flod says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28pm

do not always trust the red arrow! sometimes it tries to trick you!

kristof says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49pm

A bit repetitive, but it kept me playing for a bit ;)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Quite a fun little game there, I managed to read the easter egg at the end of the game too, hehe, nicely. I would have loved some in-game music though, that would have helped me to get more into the game.

tony.pe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54pm

I think the red arrow was great because of SPOILER the fake out that happens SPOILER ;)

For as simple as the concept was, I enjoyed this a lot.

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Finally another FPS game :) I enjoyed this simple concept more than I expected. Nice job!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Silly, mean, and quite funny. Nice job.

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25am

Very nice and well designed!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:14am

*The following feedback is in German*
Bitte nenne das nächste mal das Archiv nicht "Linux.zip", sonderen gebe es einen aussagekräftigen Namen, z.B. "Red-Buttons_Linux.zip".

Das Spiel war eher frustrierend für mich.. vor allem durch den Timer. Hab nach den 4. oder 5. Level das Spiel beendet.

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:22pm

@rick thanks for the advice regarding the filename! for the frustration... maybe you shouldn't run to the right in that level.. sometimes the game is mean...

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Simple game, but fun! Loved the hand-written notes and cheeky humour! If you could keep up the twists with this, you could probably produce a much longer game...!

Oh, also - quick question Flod, any chance you could point me towards information on hiding/capturing the cursor in the Unity Webplayer? I can't seem to get that working for my own games... Many thanks!

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:12pm

@reverent - just drop me a twitter message @flod__ (double underscores)

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:29am

Sometimes the simplest ideas can be the best ones, and I think this is one of those times. Really fun game with a wicked sense of humour, kept me playing a lot longer than I thought it would. Great job!

woodecker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:56pm

The mouse moves very fast! (maybe to increase the difficult?) I feel like a drunk man who tries to punch a button hehe. Maybe with different stages would be more fun :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:07pm

good job

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:12pm

HA! It is really fun! "not here" moments make me crazy) I Like it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]