August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Escape From The Temple of Eternal Dooom

by Joror - 48 Hour Compo Entry

========= ASSISTANCE NEEDED, GUY STUCK IN TEMPLE! ========
|
| Adventuring, Archaeologisting and Wisecracking - those are
| the jobs that the world-famous diamond-in-the-rough Guy Smith
| does every day! Give him a helping hand...
|
==================================================

"Escape From The Temple of Eternal Dooom" - is a snarky puzzle adventure. Run against the clock, mummies and your own fast feet!

==== HINTS & CONTROLS! ====
> Click on any action in the top-right to queue them up
> Click on any action in the queue (bottom) to remove it
> Actions in your queue stay there when you die, and become 2x faster!
> Click on the green text to pause your queue
> You can pick up things with the 'arm' action
> Try doing your actions in anticipation of them being twice as fast the second time!
> If you want to delete actions off screen, run & pause when you see them (run/pause by clicking on the green text)

(WARNING: the game is a bit difficult... I should have had a gentler curve)

==== KNOWN BUGS ====

> room 2 loose tiles do not respect pause, and keep falling...

>> Let me know if reached the end, or where you got stuck/bummed out! :) <<

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#223Innovation3.48
#292Mood3.09
#359Audio2.90
#417Humor2.51
#463Graphics3.04
#596Overall3.02
#646Theme3.08
#815Fun2.62

Comments

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:28am

Nice concept. The problem is that if you have lots of actions they go offscreen, and you cant delete them without deleting previous

Joror says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:01pm

@CustomPhase - you can hit play and then pause when the action(s) you want to remove are on screen. But yea, some interface to 'scroll' the action list would have been nice! :)

Fede3751 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Liked it! :)

Found it hard, but as I always says, i like hard games!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24pm

I was a bit confused about this first, but liked after getting hang of it. Cool idea, good execution.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:25pm

It's really hard but I enjoyed it, thanks. Was actually stuck on the 1st level for a very long time. I think "Clear all actions" button might have been extremely helpful.

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Cool game, tough though. Some of the path was falling when the game was paused in the second room. Is that supposed to happen like that?

SmudgedCat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:29pm

I feel like this might be a good game but I'm really struggling to get to grips with it. I'm on the second room, sometimes the floor seems to give way when things are paused, I'm at the bottom now but I can't see anything because it's totally dark.

Joror says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:15pm

@Alex - Yeah, removing actions should be easier
@fferro234 - The tiles falling while paused is a thing I wanted to fix, but didn't get to. (you can still get past the room)
@SmudgedCat - Did you reach the other door in the second room? Or did you fall down somewhere? (light can be snatched in the first room too) It should never be totally dark because the amulet is supposed to shine too.

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28am

I like the idea behind this, and once I figured out how to remove actions (that prompt should be near the start, by the way) I started having fun with it.

However I'm going to repeat a complaint from another horror/survival game : it's too dark! It's the middle of the day here for me and without maxing out the brightness and contrast I can't see much other than the text and initial lantern. Keep the dark bits dark and creepy, but if you want people to see something (like those areas lit in a very faint green) please make it a bit more visible.

Other than that, it's a good game. Well done.

Joror says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:27am

@Surrealix - Yeah! More 'tutorial' prompt - as creator I always assume too much innate knowledge. I will add a big notice to the description text here.
Hmm and the 'too dark' note is good to hear - maybe I can add a gamma crank shortcut somewhere. (I think that is 'bugfixing')

Jason says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Agree with the bit dark and tutorial comments, otherwise a cool idea. However, I'm not quite sure how the theme is integrated?

Misfit says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Cool concept and audio is great. It's hard but I liked it. Good Job!

ramoncb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:01pm

good execution and a unique idea

is a very nice puzzle and is very challenging too! good work!

KeithE. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:59pm

That was a really cool concept. I found the level just a bit too dark. I couldn't 100% tell when tiles were falling int he second level. Still this was one of the more original ideas I have seen from the LD. I really liked being able to just replay my past moves but sometimes the results weren't what I expected. Would have liked a reset move button to just wipe the queue. Very cool game. Great Job!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Bad things: very hard to understand and to play
Good things: very good idea for the gameplay, good mood !

Darien says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:06am

The interface is a bit cumbersome, but it's a neat game with a really unusual premise.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:45am

Not being able to scroll the queue is really really unfortunate when you already queued up 20 actions and only the last one makes you fail :( I really enjoyed playing it though :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Really interesting game, not sure if I completely understood it. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGdyZZ8iT10

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:50pm

I love it when indie games meet Indy games. Great title, and very original gameplay mechanic. Very clever stuff. The graphics are OK, if nothing special, but I really enjoyed the music and sound effects. Guy's dialogue is consistently hilarious, at least as far as I got.

It does need a bit of polishing, though. I gave up on the third room when I kept getting killed by the mummies (I might come back to this game later). Speeding up the actions after the first time is a great idea, but makes you liable to getting killed by the mummies since their movement isn't speeded up accordingly. The falling floor bug needs fixing, too.

I guess what I'm trying to say is, this is a pretty excellent set-up, but it needs a bit more work post-compo.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:30pm

nice job, but the theme was a little off.:) but still, it's was fun

hbocao says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:55pm

I enjoyed the idea, man. Kinda confusing at start, but this is a nice entry!

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:11pm

I like the turn-based controls and the tone you set. I had a hard time judging how far I would be able to run forward, so I found myself having to turn around more than should be necessary at a few spots. Great core concept, I think you're on to something good if you polish the controls a bit. Great work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]