August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Balloon Rescue

by andreyin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

aka Balloust!

Press arrow keys to move the balloon around;
Press space repeatadly to fly;

You have 10 seconds to rescue everyone and win the game!

If you rescue someone you get an extra second and if you kill an enemy you reset the timer.

---

Hey, I've made a better version with better mechanics and more levels! You can play it here http://www.kongregate.com/games/andreyin/balloon-rescue

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#200Fun3.40
#380Humor2.59
#548Overall3.06
#596Graphics2.81
#641Mood2.62
#656Theme3.07
#685Audio2.31
#702Innovation2.77

Comments

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:37pm

The computer cheats :(

Pretty cool game!

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11am

Needs sound and music. Could have done with some big tweaks to the physics. It was like a broken version of joust.

TheDreik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23am

Screen with the text accidentally skipped due to keystrokes and I do not have time to read the text. The gameplay is fun. Feels like Balloon Fight from NES.

Filth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51am

Very interesting game feel. I like the hyper-aggressive enemies.

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16am

Fun game, would have been happy to play more levels. Simple and effective enemy AI.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:20am

I rather enjoy the addition of the rescue aspect to an otherwise turbo charged rendition of a Balloon Fight-like game. The words of encouragement are also a really nice touch. Defiantly worth a play!

Tusoalsob says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:49am

Great Concept ^^

At least sonebody fond a reason by the Balloon fight games not to stay at the top all the times so you have a nice gameplay, but a bit fast at some times. I whoud like to see it a bit overworked withe some speed-selecting menue.

but its a great improvment of the old concept.

JALgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:03pm

What is missing in this neice game is music and I think the controlls aren't thery smooth (because of firefox?)

flarb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37pm

SUPER HARD! :)

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:39am

Balloon Fight =D

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47am

Frustrating game, yay! =D
I'll definitely have nightmares of green balloons now!
(for the record, I manage to beat them =p)

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:39am

I like this, it's kind of like vertical joust. Those jerk enemy balloons should be able to kill each other on accident. Fun mechanic. Good job!

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:59am

That was a lot of fun. Graphics and sound were nice and clean (especially loved the little Defender style people) and the jousting was tricky but satisfying. Good work!

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Cool little balloon fight/joust clone. The AI was a bit too much for me, I found the computer players more frustrating than challenging. I enjoyed the graphics.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:28am

Yeahnice game! A little bit BBC Micro

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:59am

Those enemies are really fierce. Fun concept and game overall.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Wow, this is fast-paced and hardcore, in a good way!

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Quite fun and challenging!

Foxtacy says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Very cool! Interesting mechanics as well, a really good entry overall.

A little more audio (songs and sound effects) would be nice :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]