August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bug Buster

by ConflictiveLabs - Jam Entry

Your mission is to destroy those pesky little bugs and defeat Bichina, the bug lady!
Each level last 10 seconds but you can slow time at will (at cost of your score, obviously!) And after each level you can see an instant replay of how awesomely you killed each and every bug on real time.
Controls: Arrow keys or WASD to move, SPACE to shoot, CTRL to enter/exit slow-mode

If you play the PC version you can use an Xbox controller (or any PC controller) Left stick to move, A to shoot, B to enter/exit slow-mode.
The PC version also has AWESOME time-bending wibbly-wobbly sound FX so be sure to check it out!! (also close the game with ESC)




!! PRESS CTRL TO ACTIVATE YOUR MATRIX-ESQUE POWERS !!



NOTE: Updated with a last-minute bug fix.

NOTE2: And now we removed a DLL from the Windows release because it caused the game to run with no sound in some computers. If the game doesn't run at all in yours use the installer provided inside the ZIP.

NOTE3: Now with LINUX version!! (tested on Ubuntu 10.4, Xubuntu 12.04 and Gentoo)!!!!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#82Graphics(Jam)4.11
#112Audio(Jam)3.41
#129Fun(Jam)3.34
#155Overall(Jam)3.42
#162Mood(Jam)3.26
#246Humor(Jam)2.57
#251Theme(Jam)3.18
#267Innovation(Jam)3.03

Comments

Raiyumi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:35am

I love the graphic style in this! The small bullets are pretty hard to see in contrast with the moving bg.

Shugor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:09am

Wow this game just seems so polished! More like something you'd actually see published than your typical LD game. Especially the art style wowowow. (Kinda wish I read that it was a bullet hell game at first though because HOLY SHIT THE BOSS!)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:20am

Nice bullet-hell-shmup! Love the artstyle :)

The bullets are a bit difficult to spot on the background though, that makes it somewhat confusing

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Thanks for your feedback!
Be sure to use the character's time-bending powers (by pressing CTRL) for more awesomeness.

DaVince says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Damn, that is some funky music! The sound effects I've heard a thousand times before, however. :P

Good, sharp visual style! Nice theme. Fairly fun to play. Just wish I could skip through the replay, though!

Ritzblues783 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Beautiful game, hella had to play on a keyboard. I love how the game has both a slowdown feature and a replay in REAL time... makes you look like a badass at the cost of score.

My only nitpick - the parallax scrolling is in 2 diffeent directions... (makes me think we're flying in a giant circle >.<)

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Great shoot em up, the art style reminds me of Parodius, one of my favourite looking games of this genre. Good work!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Loved the graphics! I would have preferred the slowing power to be a collectible or cooldown based powerup though! But still, I really liked it :)My only complaint is that avoiding the bullets is difficult because the colour of the enemy bullets makes it hard to see.

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:33am

Cool game. Didnt quite get why I was being timed... Maybe didnt try long enough. Replay was a nice feature.

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:35am

I don't think the ctrl key is the best option. My browser kept thinking I wanted to do other things. :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:37am

Before I read about the "matrix-esque powers" button, I was going to skip this one because it was just too fast for my feeble human eyes. Now I can say I beat it with a score of -880. Nice tunes!

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:19am

I walked away from the game for a bit, thinking that it would stay on the replay. When I came back, I was on the boss level! Aside from the boss, I guess a lot of levels are safer if I just stay completely still. Time slowing was very cool and useful in this, even if I didn't know about it until the boss level!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:15pm

This is simply amazing! Congratulations on this "goku simulator" you have created!

aglushakov says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Slowmo effect is greate!
I relly like this game!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:20pm

YEAH! -1700 POINTS!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Fun! The framerate makes it hard to see bullets...

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:34pm

It's a fun shooter with the slow down abilities, and it makes for interesting replays as well. I think the slow down ability should have been limited in some way though, besides subtracting from the score, as nothing really made me feel compelled to not just use it all of the time.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Fun graphics and intense game play! The instant replay is a nice feature.

bnhw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:07pm

I think I had the most fun on the boss after the first failure. Knowing where she was going to move to and slowing down time to blast her was cool!

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:47pm

This game has this feel to it like it's boshy time - good job!

Gazok says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:06am

I resent the boss Q_Q

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:45am

Absolutely love the artwork! Very solid mechanics, great job!

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:57am

Love the graphics, they seem very polished. Good work

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:25am

it's hard to tell where the bullets are with all the motion on the screen

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:49am

Very fun. Well done, and quite polished. It felt real nice with an Xbox controller.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:52am

Bullet hell time freeze replay is epic! It would be great to see this concept developed more with different bosses.
To top it off the art is simply gorgeous!
Great work!

GigaBass says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:58am

Really loved the slow-mo feature! Gave me some ideas myself. :3
My gripes are the visibility issues with the yellow starts popping off enemy's deaths, and the bullet's size/color that makes easy to not see them, especially with those pretty backgrounds flashing by quickly.

Danex317 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:03pm

I like the idea. It is really hard to see where I am shooting though.

Foxtacy says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:31am

You really ROCKED with this entry.

You know what? if you want to participate on the next ludum dare, i think i wanna work with you, so you may have sound effects and music for this! :)

Jimanzium says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:41pm

The small bullets mixed with the colours of the background and the movement made them very hard to see, at first I didn't even know why I was taking damage. But I love the graphical style, it's very well done

imef says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Nice game! A bit laggy on my PC though...

Jools64 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Fantastic game!
I just wish it was a bit longer. :(

Great job!

Diptoman says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Well made! That replay feature was totally badass xD

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:41pm

really pretty and nice level design. I want to read your code so I can see how you did the bullet hell design.

hella jelly over here right now.

Erhune says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Very cool graphics, and the replay feature is definitely a very nice touch!

graytest says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:50pm

A fun idea, but very easy since I can use bullet time constantly and just shoot any bug before they can fire a single bullet.

EggDestroyer says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Overall a fun entry, the time-slow is interesting and so is the replay. Unfortunately I became super frustrated because of the very low visibility of bullets in the environnement, which made me feel like I couldn't control anything without the slow-mo mode. Nice music, but gets a bit repetitive !

Entity2D says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Very polished game! Nice job!

yagiz says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:57pm

I liked the game except for two items: some bullets were hard to see with the chosen colors. And I could just play the whole level in slow motion.

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Pretty cool man! I used matrix mode the whole time, realized that it reduced my score and said "screw it, this is golf anyways!"

Nezzhil says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:44pm

One of my fav games of the ludum. Awesome music, awesome time effects and awesome main character!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]