August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rascal Ninja

by Rafael CP - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Rascal Ninja
Use arrow keys to move and jump, space bar to shoot (multiple directions) and down+space bar to slide. You can also double jump and wall jump.

You're Goriza Kantoru, a lazy ninja that steals other clans' ninja scrolls. You must steal all scrolls in each village as fast as you can, because your enemies will notice you in 10 seconds and come to get you.

Development notes: Well, not what I wanted, I needed more time to finish this, but it's playable (lost a lot of time setting up Haxeflixel and getting the sliding mechanics right). I'll try to make a Jam version with title screen, bgm, more sfx, some particle effects and different procedural levels (there is only 1 now, with different scrolls and enemies amounts).
It was my first time using Haxe and Haxeflixel, and I liked it :). I did also use FlashDevelop, Paint.net and Bfxr.

Please, after rating the compo version, take a look at the post-compo (WIP) version :) I'm including a lot of the suggestions given in the comments (thank you!!).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#932Humor1.50
#945Audio1.40
#961Graphics2.19
#1074Mood1.56
#1092Fun2.08
#1143Overall2.16
#1156Theme1.89
#1178Innovation1.75

Comments

Infernal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:36am

not bad, hard to see... questionable banners on the webpage I played it on.

lucidlarva says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38am

Questionable banners indeed.

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38am

Good movement. I was going to say it was a little too slow horizontally, but then I noticed you could slide. Overall it's a very good game.

Verrazano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45am

The game was alright I wish you could move faster it might have felt a little bit more responsive. However I did like the variety of movement you could do. I never did feel like I was in trouble maybe some intense music :) Also please find a new website to host your game. The banners... are... well...

Rafael CP says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53am

Hahaha sorry about the site, I was in a hurry to submit the game before the deadline!! Even the game size is wrong there. I'll transfer it to my server ASAP.

Rafael CP says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56am

Also, I'm using adblock plus, so I didn't see anything, sorry ^^;

Rafael CP says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11am

Done :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:04am

It's quite fun but I would preferred that the player could jump higher :)

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:20am

I liked the sliding and walljumping mechanics, they felt pretty smooth. Even though you can slide to go fast I still think the player should run faster. Also, the ninjas coming out after 10 seconds was not apparent, but a cool idea nonetheless!

Clurect says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Well done the double jump and wall jump was a nice touch. I think I would have liked more audio or no audio. Seemed a little slow walking around.

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:33pm

I agree with some other folks, I wanted to go faster, but otherwise the controls worked pretty well. Double jump and wall jump is something hard to get right. Good job!

tacograveyard says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43am

Game doesn't show up for me.

zn01wr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:40am

A bit too slow for a ninja :D I only realized that I could throw shurikens when I was about to exit the game. Good walljump and IA for the ennemies, must have been hard to code.

mitkus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Nice platformer mechanics with wall-jump, double jumps and whatnot. Having some animations for those would have really helped. Oh, and I did manage to escape from the level and fall down indefinitely!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Kept me playing till level 7, but it got quite repetitive by the time. I like the controls (although the guy should indeed walk faster, but I guess you already know that :D), the wall jumping was a nice touch and quite intuitive. Made it quite easy to traverse the level.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:55pm

The different movement mechanics were cool and the walk animation was pretty sweet.

johnfn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Nice work, though it would be better with some other features to mix up the gameplay. You improved on some of the crucial problems in the post compo version, so nice job with that. Keep at it!

raver says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Really nice and playable game! Player is slow, please increase movement speed. PS: Dropbox link is broken.

Rafael CP says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:11pm

@raver: Thanks! Dropbox file restore, thanks for spotting it. Also, please take a look at the post compo version, the movement speed was increase, among other improvements :)

murilo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:48am

Too slow. I played the post compo version and it's improved! You're going the right direction I think. Keep it up, man!

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:04am

I had trouble figuring out why I would sometimes restart right after getting a scroll... was I getting killed by invisible ninjas? They are indeed hard to see. But jumping around and sliding and wall-jumping is fun, and my favorite thing to do is to jump out of the level entirely and Seppuku!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:10am

Pretty cool. You did a really good job for it being your first time with the framework.

Rafael CP says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:34pm

@Tom 7: it had a bug in which some scrolls counted as 2 or more, so you would finish the level before intended (as well as other bugs like strange shuriken x enemy collisions). It seems to be fixed in the post compo version (both bugs). Thanks for playing! @KunoNoOni too! :)

Rafael CP says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Also, enemies could appear right over you, restarting the level. It's also fixed.

Skye says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:04am

nice game. Nice ads

Rafael CP says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:09am

Ads?? Where?

gravyhands says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:31am

I actually really enjoyed this one. It certainly wasn't much to look at, and it could use more sound effects and level design.
But it had a good core concept, interesting mechanics, and a good difficulty. I think it might be more interesting to have the slide be your attack and you would be able to only hit one person and then it would knock you back.

alts says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:58am

Ignoring the character's speed, it's apparent that a lot of effort has been put into making motion feel really good in this game. It's just a shame that that motion isn't put to use towards something a bit more engaging. A potential idea might be reducing the number of scrolls to just one, and focusing on _escaping_ with the scroll. Perhaps lay traps on the way to the scroll, and grabbing the scroll triggers the appearance of enemies? Just some thoughts about how to better highlight the movement you've created.

xhunterko says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:17am

Did not have much fun. I honestly didn't like the random enemy spawn. I'd collect a scroll, then hit an enemy, and think I died, cause I collected the scroll. Also, the levels seemed much to samey. And I could jump my way out of a level. Not much fun.

Rafael CP says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 3:40am

Thanks for the feedback, guys :)
@alts: I'll think about that, I also think the game needs to be more engaging to match the effort put into motion
@xhunterko: very true, and I understand you must rate the compo version, but please, take a look at the post-compo version, everything you said was already fixed :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]