August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Royal Decree

by darkshadow - Jam Entry

Play as a king and try and fulfil you subjects wishes. All controls is via mouse click.

play again to see other endings!

Entry made using http://craftstud.io/

PLEASE NOTE:
-Be patient during download or loading on the web as the game includes some quite large music files.
-The Window and mac versions require XNA and Mono respectively, more details here: http://craftstudio.wikia.com/wiki/Game_Export
-Downloads have less issues, but if your not inclined to do so, the web version works best in chrome. Firefox and IE lack sound and are more buggy. (These issues are a result of the CS compiler and out of my control)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#4Humor(Jam)4.30
#7Theme(Jam)4.11
#204Audio(Jam)3.09
#214Mood(Jam)3.13
#216Fun(Jam)3.09
#239Innovation(Jam)3.09
#256Overall(Jam)3.19
#341Graphics(Jam)3.07

Comments

Lo-X says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:09pm

The links seem broken, I cannot download linux nor windows version, the web version is a black screen on my linux :(

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12pm

LOL. Mad dash to the end. I made Christmas come early =)

darkshadow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Lo-X I think you tried opening the downloads while they were still being uploaded. If you try again it should work now.

Yoni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:35am

Simple but original idea, loved the different endings...

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:39am

Sweeet! Soooo cute! sooo hard to hit 10 seconds exactly :P

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:48am

simple and cute. its a nice game

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:07pm

10.7 seconds! Clever and silly use of theme. Well done.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Nice little game. :)

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Simple idea but funny execution :) love the ending screens :)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Very original idea, creative.

The art is good, and the writing is also very funny.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Very silly! I like the use of the theme.

SkyTheCoder says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:17pm

The web version is broken for me on a Mac, anywhere I click it brings up the credits.

I downloaded the Mac version, though, and it was pretty fun. I have to say that one time the ending's text went off the screen. Screenshot: http://cl.ly/image/2C3y382g0O1f

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:28pm

haha great entry :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Hilarious entry! The gameplay is simple and it takes bit too long to try again, but the witty dialogue makes finding the endings fun.

imef says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Quite addicting. I'd be curious to see ALL the endings. ;)

bnhw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:19am

9.3!

Beerman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Great take on the theme, and the multiple endings help keep it fun. Nice job.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Music didn't work for me on Firefox.

Concept is neat, too much clicking for repeated play, though.

Bonus points for creativity.

crazyrems says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Very well thought, it's genius !

Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Good idea, the perfect of theme!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Hah this was actually pretty clever. :) Nice change from pace.

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Hahaha So silly, but very fun! I made it 0.1 :D

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:42pm

8 sec with the music, 10 without :D, at least on my first run all kingdom can agree in peace :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:26am

Haha, this is funny. Such a simple idea but executed in a fun way. I like it!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:34am

While this is an idea i've seen used a few times, your version of "determine 10 seconds" is the best I've seen yet. Funny and fun.

DavidErosa says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:40am

Haha, nice one, I didn't expect that :) Could not get closer than 9.6!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:40am

Great wrapper around a simple challenge (counting off 10 seconds in your head). The endings were great, but it would have been even cooler if they were mathematically correct based on how close you got to 10s.

Mlle Eole says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:43am

HAHA 9.9 sec ! :D

I love the multiple ending.
Fun brilliant idea, and nice mood ! :)

Can't play with musics, don't know why. :?
The game is always as "mute" and i can't change.

darkshadow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Thank you everyone for all your kind feedback :)

@Jarcas Studios

You've found me out, ran out of time to implement that feature ;)

@Mlle Eole

Which format are you playing? I know there are some audio issues with Firefox and IE, if you are able to please try using a different browser. The mute button is always labelled mute and should switch between a speaker and a crossed out speaker indicating what state the game is in.

Mlle Eole says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:19pm

I'm on Firefox. :)

TobiasW says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Thanks for your comment! Incidentally, those little monsters are actually named "Scurry" in my ToDo list, so it's quite pleasing to hear that you liked their movement! Now on to your entry:

Ooh, a Craft Studio entry - first one I see this LD.

The endings, I love them - funny consequences, and there is no "wrong" as far as the game goes (you are king after all!), just those consequences. And the comments under them. Especially the one about the kings weight. I'm missing an ending for getting those 10 seconds quite right (I got 10.13 once).

The music fits very well, I like it!

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Ahah the elevator music was just excellent.
And I definitely don't know how to count time.

schnerble says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Heh - nice idea, and good use of humour :)
(there doesn't seem much need for an "Exit" button in the web version, though)

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:18pm

More arbitrary standards!

Actually I just played again and saw the bit about the King's weight. I am satisfied.

graytest says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Fun game. Wish it was quicker to replay.

Erhune says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:25am

So simple and yet so funny! I congratulate you on your take of the theme, I thought it was brilliant!

koe415 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:49am

Lol I love the 28 days later joke. Very delightful game. Simple and fun! I got lucky with my first try - 9.8!

Antidote says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:23pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FJmHjf4HUjs - My first impressions on the game :)

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:43pm

What original idea! Good work with theme.
I love a lot graphics and endings. :)

Linusson says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:01am

Fun with the different endings. :)

I just wish it was quicker to start over, then I would have played just to see even more endings. :D

Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:40am

an amusing game with excellent theme your grace

jay griffin says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:41am

10.003! I really loved this one, some great writing, an adorable style and a really fun interpretation of the theme. Fantastic.

darkshadow says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Thanks to everyone who has rated in the last week I've been on holiday so have been unable to reciprocate, but will certainly check out your games anyway.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]