August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10s Paparazzi

by Ithildin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

For this entry I decided to create a simple chasing game. You must take pictures of some mythical creatures called Ventolins.


==========
CONTROLS
==========
* Mouse to move around. Left click to take pictures.


================
KNOWN ISSUES:
================
- Scrolling is a bit clunky at the moment. It's not game crashing, but at times the camera shakes, resulting in a nasty glitch.

===================
TOOLS OF THE TRADE
===================
- AS3 + Starling + Adobe's commons library. The IDE of choice was FlashDevelop. Flash 11+ is required.
- Photoshop for graphic assets.
- TexturePacker for...eer...packing textures.
- Camera sound taken from (http://www.freesound.org/people/thecheeseman/sounds/51360/). Audacity was used for file conversions.
- The font is LCD Monospace by Samuel Reynolds(http://www.spinwardstars.com/scrfonts/).

[EDIT 6/11/2016: Updated web link to remove dropbox HTML rendering dependency]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#419Graphics3.11
#441Humor2.44
#580Mood2.70
#648Audio2.38
#725Theme2.99
#769Innovation2.69
#878Overall2.71
#887Fun2.51

Comments

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:12am

Cute. Minor bug report - playing the game again after beating it, the game displays the "you win" message after only one level.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:57am

Short and sweet, just the way I like 'em. Cute graphics and the camera fights back just enough that the gameplay isn't too trivial. I like it.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:58am

A fun 20 or so seconds haha. Needs to be elaborated a bit.
Nonetheless, good work!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59am

Nice little game, randomly reminded me of something I accidentally found when typing "bird watching game" on Google. http://games.lumosity.com/birdwatching.html

P.S. I want to believe.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29am

Thank you all :)

@BMacIntosh. I've actually realised that it's the whole game that fails to reset once you finish the fourth stage. Thanks for spotting it, it's one of those stupid bugs you introduce at the last minute trying to fix others (d'oh!).

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:11am

very 'cute' graphics. A little short though

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:12am

Fun little game, was finished really quick though :(

nexust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:13am

I wish there was some replay value but, overall this is an interesting game.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25am

Short, but anyway it's interesting. I would suggest to add a little more challenge. For example, make creatures move faster?

wrongcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41am

Very clever and fun! I wish there was an inverse-Y option.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41am

I like the backgrounds. The game is obviously very simple, but still nice. Kind of satisfying. :)

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Interesting, no creature to kill.
The ventolins are too easy to find : it will be better to have a foreground (to hide behind).
And I want to see the photos taken at the end :)

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Thank you all for your feedback!

I tried to add a bit more complexity to the creatures (other than the first one, which is intentionally easy to spot, one of them moves, one teleports away after some time, and one spawns at random places), but the final result is still insufficient.

I also had planned to add some powerups (for example, granting the ability to freeze ventolins in place, or move them around) to enable some more complex objectives, multi-layered scenes, secondary goals and more entities that could make the game more challenging (and a photo gallery of sorts, of course). But all these things couldn't make it to the compo, unfortunately :_S

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Love the idea! Short and simple, I love photography games.

Muznak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Cute, but too easy to find the creatures. Maybe have some objects in the foreground?

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36pm

I knew they exist!

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:11pm

you finished the game! well done!
well that was fast ;). got that thingy on the first try each

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Great looking game, and pretty fun! There totally should be more photography games :D

Algerator says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Ventolins! ^__^
Nice game, a lot of potential to do a really cool game with just a bit of work! Well done! :-)

KeithE. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:02am

very cute. Reminds me of a minimalist Pokemon Snap. Good Job!

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29am

Very interesting concept. Sweet one, congrats!

kannas says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:17am

Nice game. it's a bit short and controlling the camera is a bit clumsy, but at the same time i liked the camera movement and the graphics :)

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:45pm

I finished the game in 10s x 5 :]
well done

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Hehe, nice, like the idea, very sweet grafix :)

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:16pm

I really like what you have done here. I especially like your sprite and the backgrounds.

If you continue to develop the game it would be awesome to see your pictures and share them after a level (facebook/twitter). I could see myself playing this for a long time when it has more depth and more areas/creatures to explore.

Thanks for making!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Very short, but reminds me a lot of pokemon snap!

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Fun little game. I agree with some of the comments here, felt a bit short and needed a better objective. Also showing all the pictures you took at the end would have been cool!

I thought the controls and the scrolling worked pretty well for the game.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:15am

Cool idea, but to short and easy. Nonetheless good entry!

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Cute game, but it is too short and too simple, finished it in about 10 seconds.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:33pm

good job

Ithildin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Thank you all! =)

I agree that a lot can still be done to fix and improve, your feedback is really useful. Besides the obvious (short and easy), it seems that the photo gallery is quite a popular suggestion ;D

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:57am

I always enjoy photography games. enjoyed this one, and would love to see more of it!

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:41am

The idea is fun, but controls aren't as fluid as they could be. The game is a bit hard (can't take 2 photos in a row after 3-4 tries). Graphics are cute! :)

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:04am

Cool game, reminds me of Pokemon snap.

Might be neat if you could work some more mechanics into viewing the creatures. Like ones that only appear if you look somewhere or something.

Cool stuff though. I like the concept!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:45am

Nice, I really like the simplicity and execution. I like how there's a level where you are in outerspace. That's a dedicated paparazzi!

I guess some other challenge can be added like needing to focus the camera so the picture doesn't look blurry.

I don't know if possible, but if the game can lock the cursor so that it doesn't scroll out of the game view, that would make controls better.

Maybe in the near future, some neat features:

* As a mobile app, make use of the camera and randomly have Ventolins show up when taking photos! :P
* Google glass support!
* Oculus Rift support!

Zener says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Very cool idea! I think one of the improvements could be adding a bit of augmented reality for the brackground using the phone camera for example. And the graphics are so cute!

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:11pm

I like the concept!

There's a minor bug in that, after beating the game, clicking to play again immediatly takes you to the last level.

Also, I think this could go on, further than the LD game. Keep working on it!

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Reminds me minigame from old "Duck Tales" game for DOS :-)

recursor says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:03pm

I wish it was longer with more stuff to take pictures of . What there is of the game is pretty fun though.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:53am

Haha.. short and neat!
Aren't ventolin ventilators?

Ithildin says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Hehe, it depends...

I took the name from a creature from Asturian mythology (http://www.asturias.es/portal/site/infoAsturias/menuitem.b4e3501f1a34607cb5dd591088414ea0/?vgnextoid=c67bacdbc0f90210VgnVCM100000dc14e40aRCRD), but for me the name was mostly a brand of inhalers before.

Oh, and now that I read that site, I've thought of how making the beings closer to that description would totally change the mood of the game. Interesting...

Almax27 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Cute game, like the mechanics behind it.

I little short perhaps but that's not a major thing. :)

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:47am

Lovely graphics! I wish the game was a little bit harder or longer, though. I managed to beat it in the first try and it seemed kind of abrupt.
Cool game, nonetheless! =D

panurge says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Nice, smart little game with great visuals and smooth controls. Snappy!

alts says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 5:28am

Game played really nicely. I do think it could have benefited from a rating system of some kind beyond the binary "you got it" vs "you didn't". Something akin to Pokemon Snap's breakdown based on Size, Pose, and Technique. Nice work.

Sebby says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:57am

Haha, cute little game :) I finished it pretty quick, but it made me smile. I like it :D

MrBlade says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:51am

Nice! Short, simple! I like it! Nice polished graphics, simple sounds. I like it! 8/10.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]