August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Runner

by Generalgore - Jam Entry

Uploaded 5 minutes before I had to leave for work. this has been a crazy LD! the tips of moving walls will kill you, and moving diagonal is fastest. good luck, off to work.

okay well here is the updated notes page for you now that I'm back from work: the dart shooters will fire at you as soon as you are lined up with one side and they fire out of every side, but only once. the moving walls can be spotted because they are smoother than most other tiles, you just have to look carefully. also if its not to much of a pain, for those of you who manage to beat the game, it would be great if you post your # of Aces and total score on here. good luck everyone, its been a great Ludum Dare. =D

p.s. I'm going to keep working on the game and I'll have a post-compo version out soon, with more levels, better and clearer graphics for some objects and eventually... SOUND! I can't believe I don't have sound in this game, in the LD last October my games highest score was for sound. go figure.. anyway I'm off to rate more games, and once again: good luck everyone! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#38Innovation(Jam)3.79
#40Theme(Jam)3.75
#73Overall(Jam)3.67
#75Mood(Jam)3.58
#96Fun(Jam)3.46
#213Graphics(Jam)3.58
#1422Coolness39%

Comments

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:06am

I freaking love the idea behind this game. It would of kept me playing longer if the difficulty curve wasn't so massive. You should try making an A* agent that solves the levels and upload a video of it completing all of the levels. Props for the awesome concept. Arrows should be shown on the cubes and point toward the direction it'll be shot at and there should be something indicating a moving wall because it made it a little hard to solve some levels without that. The lighting engine is also pretty nice.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:06am

This is a really good Game especially for 72 hours. Good job

Generalgore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:24am

to:oxysoft
I know man, I spent too much time on level 6 and never got a chance to add more, level 3 should be more like level 5, level 4 should be around 8 or so, and level 6 should be more like 15... :P but I ran out of time. I put in the notes the description of how the dart shooters work, hope it helps. I'm off to go play your game now. ;)

Generalgore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:24am

yours too supersammy7000 thanks for the rates guys. :)

Pixlexia says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:42am

Love the concept and the levels. Awesome work!

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:53am

I like the gameplay. Nice job.
I only see one problem: I don't know how programming in Game Studio works but you should not update the position of your rockets only when an input is detected. You should have a main loop that keeps updating these things every x milliseconds. But maybe this behavior is intended?

Generalgore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:18am

yes, everything is supposed to freeze when you stop moving, this will be more apparent in the post-compo version. funny thing Cthulhu: I just played your game. Awesome work man, it was fantastic.

syradinegames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:29am

Excellent game. Fun and challenging without being random about it.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:39pm

It Is COOL! Tutorial is not mach obvious, but in game it come))

SkyTheCoder says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Okay, I'm sorry, but that download is NOT Windows & Mac compatible. It's Windows only. .EXE files are not runnable on Mac.

sunnysmiles says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:48pm

A really cool game. I love the asthetics and the innovative gameplay and level design. But sometimes the game feels a bit punishing more than difficult.

Linusson says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Really fun puzzle kind of game. :) I liked that the time stopped when you stopped moving and that you could play the same level over and over, because that was really needed after some levels when it got really hard. :D

Nice graphics too. :)

More levels would be really nice. :D

Generalgore says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:51pm

to SkyTheCoder,
Sorry, I'll fix that.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Really liked this game. Tricky and fits the theme well. Nice graphics too, great job!

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:02pm

good graphics, especially the lightning effects. very hard thought, and in a lot of cases that just has to do with the mechanics, for example: when you walk toward and reach a wall, and hold down the button, the "character" stops but time goes on ticking. and it's really difficult to get into narrow pathways, most of the time it seems like i may have missed it by a millimetre, and so tries to fix this but of course get hit by some dart instead.

i had fun though, it's a very good concept.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:19am

sorry i wont play games with installers -- make it a runnable exe or zip it -- thanks.

Generalgore says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:48am

it is a runnable .exe not sure what you're talking about.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]