August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Astro Nomics

by NgonGames - Jam Entry

Left click to to place a gravity well on the screen to move incoming asteroids out of the way and try to avoid the incoming Large Gravity wells that come every 10 seconds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1806Coolness17%

Comments

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:36am

"There should be 'AstroNomics_Data'
folder next to the executable" :(

NgonGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:59am

Gah! Thank you Lianne for letting us know. I am getting a fixed file out asap!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:25am

I fail to see any connection to the theme.
I found myself wondering what the hell should I do.

But while wondering, I could stare at beautiful rendered asteroids and the back of a ship. If I had control of the ship (ie: moving up, down and/or even accelerate and break) this game would much cooler.

6/10 improve your game so I can play it

Darien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:01am

I'm not sure I really get it. It would be nice to have an indicator of my remaining health, since it kind of seems like game overs happen randomly.

Joror says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Nice visuals, detailed but not too garish. Felt nicely hard-scifi. Game mechanic also pretty interesting, even if a bit hard to predict. (maybe having the 'weapon' have a charge?) A life-bar/hits would have been nice.

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:33pm

The game looks really good. However I also did not really understand what to do. I was able to manipulate some of the asteroids, but how am I supposed to avoid the large gravity wells? A good start though!

KeithE. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Seems like a cool idea but I was a bit confused. I really liked the audio presentation a lot. Maybe a tutorial could help ease me into it.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Very pretty and nice audio but a little aimless

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]