August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 second test

by echa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Post-compo web version: http://echa.ru/ld/27/post/

Gameplay gif: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/wp-content/compo2/273708/15601-shot3.gif

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
Innovation4.36
#80Overall3.71
#160Fun3.48
#467Theme3.27
#612Mood2.65
#726Graphics2.60
#959Humor1.42
#997Audio1.08

Comments

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:38am

Very interesting concept. There are only a few games out there with programming as a mechanic.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:46pm

A game about programming?! SWEET. I did enjoy this.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48pm

This is a very nice game. Well done for getting all those levels in! Really liked the gameplay mechanic and the art style is quite stylistic and appealing. Rated this very highly! :)

mort96 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:49pm

I love this. Great concept, great implementation :)

mpath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Makes me wish I'd studied harder.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Very smart idea, I've never seen anything like this before!

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Nice puzzle concept! As always, sound would be great, but I know there isnt much time!

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Oh wow, this is amazing. Really well done, the puzzles are well done and very challenging. Quite a treat for all programmers around. Good job!

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:09am

I really liked all the levels in this game. Feel like I got through a couple of the harder puzzles by spamming xor gates, but overall I really liked how challenging it got to stay in the time limit.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:52am

Very impressive concept. Just for people who understand programing...

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Interesting - a platformer electronics game. I like the underlying concept a lot, and your implementation is flawless.

It is missing one critical thing though: Either queries (for example "What ground am I standing on?") or events ("Start when I hit the floor"). Without those it is just a timing game, and I it feels a bit cumbersome to say "go x seconds right, then x seconds left, then x second right, then left" with this: http://puu.sh/4cfLt/506065b1de.png

I didn't have to use anything but XORs (which you can also build out of an AND and 1 NOT, or an OR and 2 NOTS), and I am not sure how I could've made my solutions easier or more elegant using the other blocks?

Since timing is so essential, I would've liked a prediction mode where I can jump to any time to see where I would be at that point if I'd execute it.

The "advanced" tab should stay open if I open it once - XOR is *very* useful.

The art style is working well for this kind of game.

I missed having sound effects and music. Sound effects can be rather easily created with a microphone and things in the environment or your voice, and for music there are generators like http://abundant-music.com.

Concept and execution are pretty solid, and were it not for the missing queries/events, the game could be also pretty fun to play. Still a nice entry though - good job!

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Agree about sound, but otherwise interesting creation. I love seeing ways to incorporate programming-like thinking into games and this is a neat idea.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Excellent idea! I like it!

aschearer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Love the concept, though it was hard to figure out.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:24pm

stuck on level 2 ;_; either way this is a fun and unique game. remind me of those programming games.

bnhw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:26pm

I would've liked if the distance between the nodes at the top matched the distance that the protagonist travels in the time. Otherwise, great concept and execution! That's a massive amount of content for 48hrs.

Taiters says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Loved it! Really well done!

mrcdk says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Nice game! I like the concept a lot!

echa says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:19am

TobiasW, yes, you are right.

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:52pm

When I first saw the screenshot I thought, oh, seriously?
And yes, that's really it!
Good job! That robotic thing is awesome and really like the UI & mecanism!

fgielow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:01am

woah, really novel game here! loved the puzzle using logical ports, it has a great touch, great idea! pretty addicting too lol

drawm says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:19pm

You pushed my buttons in so many way ive never felt before :O
The tutorial was simple and explained just enough so I was able to play almost right away. The game was actualy fun and I played for almost 1h. I would have play more but one of my condition got stuck under the "go" button and it broke my program :S. Super nice job guys!!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Cool concept (though the theme wasn't particularly noticeable), and very interesting to play with.

I didn't get very far, but that's a problem with me, not with your game.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Really cool idea. But I think you have add more feedback for help NOT programer.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:29pm

very nice concept, well executed, with a good progression curve. GG!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Very nice! As an electrical engineer, I just love this kind of game :)
One thing to note though, in the Kongregate version (haven't tried the other one) it's possible to click the blocks (of the level) to make them disappear... This can make some levels extremely easy, and I'm pretty sure that's not intended behaviour :P

Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:27am

Very cool, nice, well done game. Great job! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GcXHrH6VSV0

motty says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 3:08am

Love love love this. Brilliant. Thank you.

bvanschooten says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:58pm

I always love programming games, and using timing in this way is a novel idea. Very instructive for explaining a traditional microcode architecture. The biggest problem game-wise is that timing alone limits the kinds of challenges you can have. Adding sensors for example makes for more complex challenges. The game runs rather slow on my firefox, about 5fps, which is a bit annoying.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]