August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shuttle Quest

by rasmusrn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game obviously still needs a lot of polish. And I didn't get to implement half the things I wanted. I guess that's practice of the Ludum Dare challenge, huh? :-) Limiting yourself to the essentials.

Give it a spin and let me know what you think. I bet you even have some ideas for improvements? :)

I hope you enjoy! And let me know if you manage to beat the game, will you? (there's only 8 levels)

For best performance, use Google Chrome.

During the 48 hours I also made a simple level editor as you can see in the screenshots. It's included in the source.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#209Graphics3.54
#290Fun3.27
#489Overall3.12
#712Mood2.52
#737Theme2.96
#744Innovation2.73
#890Humor1.65
#988Audio1.20
#1337Coolness44%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:23am

Solid idea! this could be nicely extended. The exhaust going in the opposite movement-direction is a nice touch :)

igleyy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:38am

I like it, looks very good! :)

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:41am

Nice smooth graphics. Needs some checkpoints or restart, it was really annoying to start over just because there is a fake dead end in the track, no way to avoid that unless you fail and remember it next time.

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:48am

Great concept. I really like the visual style.

bitowl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:50am

I'm annoyed by having to start from the beginning each time ;)
But so you can use the x-thing in earlier levels as well to get some time, so I see why you did that.

Though I would not make the "air whirl" a point, but rather a line, as I quite often missed it and so lost some precious time

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36am

Fun game! Except for having to start over when you die XD

raver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54am

Nice gameplay and graphics. Please insert some checkpoints!

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33am

It controls nice. The level design and back to start however are not so forgivable haha.

I completed it so there was something there that kept me trying. Just one more go!

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:58am

Yeah, that visual feel is sooo nice! Wish it had some sounds though!

FatBasic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:14pm

It turned out really great Rasmus, good job!

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Good idea, Like the graphics.

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Well done, fun to play. A bit frustating, you have to spare every second to make it to the end. I would like be able to restart current level when i fail ^^

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:02pm

I really like the graphics, but I ran into a bug on the 3rd level. I went so fast that I flew through the wall and out of the map. Might want to fix that. Although it was a good concept and I really had fun with it!

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Wow, well done. Looks good, interesting game play, good all round, and all the code from scratch? Respect!

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:00am

Larzan, thanks. I wrote the engine (physics and entity/component management) in the weeks before the compo :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Nice cave flyer game. I liked how it took multiple hits to destroy your ship. New game elements were introduced in a nice way. Too bad there werent any sounds. Nice job otherwise :)

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Hey Rasmus :) Thanks for the great weekend, hope we didn't scare you too much haha ;) Anyways, really like the whole concept, has a lot of potential. I like the final feel of the game. It feels smooth and very dynamic; clean too. Great job! Good luck in the competition.

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:01am

great style and level design! I liked the use of the theme. would have loved some sound effects :D

Vaalen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:35pm

It's a good game. A bit hard because you have to do all levels in once but it's very addictive.

TheBlueRage says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:41am

Solid game.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:43am

I love the feel of this, the acceleration/deceleration and movement feels really natural. The super smooth animation (I'm guessing this is 60 fps?) is great for that too. Nice work!

Croze says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:51pm

I love this!!!! Expect great ratings!!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]