August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Billy! Cleanup on aisle 5!

by endermath - Jam Entry

Smash all the jars in the supermarket in 10 seconds to make sure you get fired.

Windows Version
--------------
1. Unpack .zip file
2. Double click on billy.exe
3. Use mouse to play

Python Version
-------------
Requirements:
1. Python 2.7, available at http://www.python.org
2. pygame 1.9.1, available at http://www.pygame.org
3. pybox2d 2.3b, available at http://code.google.com/p/pybox2d/
Instructions:
1. Unpack zip file
2. Open terminal and enter "python thegame.py"
3. Control game with mouse


Credits
------
Graphics: Alli
Sound Effects: Alli
Music: Alli
Code: TDbear & Endermath

Font: 3D Thirteen Pixel Fonts by Florian Contreras from http://www.dafont.com

Tools
-----
Code: Python with pygame and pybox2d
Editors: Sublime Text 2, midnight commander, vi
Graphics: Pickle, Gimp, Pixen
Audio: Autotracker-bu.py, bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#108Humor(Jam)3.19
#160Innovation(Jam)3.29
#186Overall(Jam)3.35
#214Mood(Jam)3.13
#235Graphics(Jam)3.48
#255Fun(Jam)3.00
#285Audio(Jam)2.85
#301Theme(Jam)3.05
#1452Coolness37%

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46am

very interesting :)
-ENDESGA

andersca says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Very cool game!

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:30am

The physics were well done and the jar contents were cool.

motty says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:46am

Cute and fun. Silly but in a good way.

Minor quibbles:

I found the 3d boxy font a bit hard to read. I am old.

To get it to run on Linux I had to make a symlink from thedude_cut.png to theDude_cut.png. Suspect a typo somewhere.

That said, great effort.

murilo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:49am

Pretty fun! I actually played to the 16th level, but it never got much more difficult and started getting boring. But nice game otherwise! I like the graphics too!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:51am

cool game! quite simple but fun at the same time

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:52am

Very cool! The physics were pretty smooth, good job!

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:04am

Awesome. I love being a clumsy, crotchety old man that gets to break things and get away with it.

endermath says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:24am

Thanks guys for all your feedback :)
@motty: Thanks for spotting the typo, it should be fixed now.

Kad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:30am

Fast and fun!

awppy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:56am

Overall a fun little jar-smasher. Cool song.

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Very interesting humoristic idea, gives me the vibe of funky smugglers and angry birds. pixelart serves this game well.

Cryovat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:39pm

The Game Over and level title screens are a bit on the lengthy side. I failed a lot and the waits got annoying. D:

Fun concept though, and the sprites are great. Love the old man. And I'm envious of your music work. :)

Annoyingly, the pybox2d that ships with Ubuntu is 2.0.2 and crashes the game. :(

Steps snipped from the pybox2d page:
sudo apt-get install build-essential python-dev swig python-pygame subversion
svn checkout http://pybox2d.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/ pybox2d
cd pybox2d
python setup.py build
sudo python setup.py install --force

Ossi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:57am

Funny idea! I really like how your arm stretches and the items in the jars are pretty silly. Very catchy background music, although the sound effects did seem a bit too loud. Simple and effective, good job!

jwolf says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:23pm

I think the difficulty could ramp up a bit more quickly and it could use a bit more variety to the physics (not sure what--exploding jars?), but that aside it's an interesting and well put-together game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]