August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SWEAT

by reheated - 48 Hour Compo Entry

SWEAT is a turn based stealth puzzle game. You can see guards' patrol routes and you try and sneak around between their fields of vision. The story has four characters with different special abilities, and 12 levels with 3 different mission types. Levels were produced using a metaheuristic (a subject I am fairly new at, having only previously tried it at the last LD).

In my two previous LD entries I didn't write a story so it was an interesting new thing for me. I kept all the levels unlocked so you can get the whole story by watching the intro to each level, then just finishing the last level to see the ending.

Tested on Windows 7 in Firefox, IE10 and Chrome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#198Humor3.03
#384Innovation3.20
#471Overall3.14
#522Mood2.77
#527Audio2.60
#572Fun2.91
#806Theme2.88
#846Graphics2.40

Comments

JALgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:58pm

A really nice game, but it is too hard for me. I think, in a good, game, the first level is beatable for everyone and then it slowly goes up, but in this game, I always lost.

Static 64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:48pm

The levels are very hard, but I managed to beat one. However, I can tell its a good game if you are better at it than I am.

SamC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Great concept, I think with more time this could be an awesome puzzle game

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:43pm

These puzzles are really well designed. Whatever technique you used turned out quality results. I beat them all but I had to bust out the pen and paper a couple of times. I don't know how to recognize that in your ratings, so I'm putting it in Innovation. Other than that the game lacked a bit of polish, but it was quite playble.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:47am

I really, really sucked at playing this game XD I just wasnt smart enough to figure out how to pass the levels. I included it in my compilation video of LD27 games, if you wanna check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhxp6zWGaGM

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:59am

Awesome and fun concept. Got me involved for like half an hour. Graphics could use a little bit more work though, but otherwise - great game

aschearer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Solid foundation. More levels, better balancing of difficulty could be fun.

Yell0w says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:06pm

I really enjoyed this puzzler. The difficulty was good!

Solifuge says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:32am

Dear god, all the seafood puns. You are my hero.

Not to mention the puzzles were really solid. Very well done. One of my favorites, and I'm going on 100 games.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:34am

Dear god, all the seafood puns. And the money puns. All these puns. You are my hero.

Not to mention the puzzles were really solid. Very well done. One of my favorites, and I'm going on 100 games.

dkilford says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:34am

Good use of the theme, but I felt there were a few things to improve on.

With creating puzzle games like this, you want to design the levels in a way that leads the player into solving them by how they are structured. You want to show off interesting bits of emergent gameplay within the level, rather than making the player feel lost and like they just stumble upon the answer like how I felt.

Sandy III for example, it feels like the guard patterns don't make sense, so the only way to solve it is by brute-forcing different paths until you get the way that works.

You can very easily smooth out the difficulty curve by doing this which I felt would have helped a lot too. Removing mechanics helps improve clarity too, as the player has less 'wrong' choices available to them at times.

Good attempt at the comp though, the code looks very well written too.

gritfish says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Very well designed game, but REALLY hard.. I think some more indication of guard pathing would make this much less of a trial and error game.

BrothersT says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Really great little game. A lot of fun. Gets quite hard to think about when there's more than 1 person.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Got to admit when I first looked at this it didn't really stand apart from other LD games but I played right through to the end and loved it. SPOILERS INCOMING.. I probably had the biggest laugh out of any game thus far when the dinosaur was revealed, and then telefragged shortly after. Great fun levels, designed very well and the difficulty curve was pretty spot on. Not really sure that I'd change anything if I made it myself, perhaps it could use a bit of polish but was great other than that! Nice work for the 48 hours.

Latcarf says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Quite hard, but very nice. At some point the music just stopped without starting again, is that expected?

reheated says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:37am

Hi Latcarf, that's a Chrome-specific problem, I think. The music loops in Firefox and IE. Not enough of a show-stopper to fix now, but I'll try and work out the problem for my next game.

Thanks to everyone for the interesting comments and ideas. The difficulty seems to have polarised people. In future I would like to slowly ramp up the difficulty and hopefully have a clearer structure to each level, but I want to computer-generate my levels, so it will be an interesting challenge to work out a scoring system that incorporates these things.

Metatheos says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:55pm

I really liked the approach to turn-based-stealth, shows a lot of potential. The concepts introduced in the different levels make for an diverse experience too.

I wonder whether it was a conscious decision to make the player vulnerable at two points during the turn (before and after the enemy moves). Intuitively I'd say that removing one of these checks would improve the player's mobility, but might make it hard to create nontrivial puzzles.

Croze says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Nice puzzle, but too hard.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]