August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dysdoughpia

by Yngar - Jam Entry

NEO NEW YORK CITY: A.D. 2001

THE WORLD IS NEARLY
DESTROYED BY NUCLEARS.
PIZZA IS OUTLAW,
BECAUSE OF EVIL FORCES.

YOU ARE PIZZA'S ONLY HOPE
YOU MUST...
DELIVER PIZZA!


Okay so we kind of ran out of time on this one. The idea is that you have to deliver pizzas to the citizens of a post-apocalyptic city, the catch is that the radiation oustide causes pizzas to go bad in 10 seconds. Also there are mutants in tanks that want to kill you.

The game uses the arrow keys. To win you must deliver 15 pizzas successfully before getting blown up by tanks.
Get pizza from Luigi's and follow the arrow to your destination.

We plan on continuing work on this game and making a full release with more levels, better goals, more enemies and hazards, and more fun. Any feedback is appreciated, and thanks for playing!

[EDIT] Just fixed a bug that made it so that you never got to the end screen. The game will now correctly end when you deliver 15 pizzas instead of just showing mission success over and over.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#47Fun(Jam)3.63
#79Humor(Jam)3.41
#112Mood(Jam)3.42
#115Audio(Jam)3.39
#124Overall(Jam)3.49
#176Theme(Jam)3.36
#183Graphics(Jam)3.67
#234Innovation(Jam)3.10

Comments

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:10am

Really love the way the car handles. Great game :)

MisterDerek2 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Awesome game!

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:29am

fun game. Things moved rather fast, but it did make it very intense

Yngar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:31am

I ended up with only about an hour and a half to make the level that is in the game. There is a lot I plan on doing differently for a full release. I think making the level a lot more large and open would help a lot with the game being overwhelmingly fast paced.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:43am

The controls took some getting used to. But I had a blast! Please rate my game!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=5288

bassarisse says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:46am

This is really good! The controls are fun, and the speed makes you go crazy! I just wished a score system =)

lurkingshadow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:46am

Good little time waster although is a tad to fast pasted.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:47am

Once I got a hang of the controls, it was pretty fun. I can see this being expanded upon quite easily.

thegrimace says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:01am

Pretty cool, I liked the graphics. Music was good.

Purplescape says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:28am

Cool music and graphics. Would be nice if there was a score for how many pizzas I delivered before failing. It's a fun game

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:33am

The crashing sound got annoying pretty fast, but maybe that it is an incentive for me to drive better. Good job on this one! The music and gfx were great.

bilindasaurus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:33am

holy shit the music is fucking amazing, where can i get it?

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:09am

The audio was really nice, the whole game just felt like a true retro game, especially with the graphics going on. Too bad I encountered a bug, as you saw on the stream ;)

H-Bomb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:18am

Cool retro game, had fun playing.
You said you'll continue working on it no Twitch so I'm looking forward to it ;)

Yngar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:25am

lol thanks, I will try to let people know when it drops. Its planned to be on newgrounds so you will see it there. I fixed that bug, I can't believe I didn't see that before. I made a change to display the mission success text and I think that broke it.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:37pm

From one guy with a faux-retro game about pizza to another, great job! I think having a visible invincibility period when damaged would help for the 'feel' of the game.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Nice, but maybe an indicator of where Luigi's is when needing to return to get another pizza

Yngar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Those are both suggestions that will definitely go in the game.

anjack says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Very fun retro game! Post-apocalyptic pizza delivery!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:12am

The speed of the care made this engagingly fun! With the speed of the car, the destinatations can be reached comfortably. I lose my car by smashing into stray bullets :P
This needs a leaderboard, or scoreboard.
Great art on the art! Loved the title and game over screen!
Well done on this pretty detailed entry.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:08am

Fun, simple game. I enjoyed it a lot! Thanks for putting this together!

I like how the car drove, but some skidding, and slower acceleration might be a nice way to make the driving more strategic. Also, it was tough to dodge the projectiles; much easier to just avoid the tanks entirely. Perhaps they could spawn pre-aggroed after a number of successful runs? Or perhaps avoiding the enemies could be a strategic element of choosing the route you drive to get to a place (if so, there should be a way to shake them, and they should probably be a bit more dangerous)

Spotline says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:26am

Hahaha very nice game, I love the mood and the car feel

manabreak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:28am

I wasn't such a big fan of the car handling, but other than that, I really liked it. It somehow reminded me of old NES games, was Roger Rabbit something like this..?

wine says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:29am

Hah, simple and very fun. Love it ) Pizza time!

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:30am

fun game ...good car handeling ... but it could slow every thing else a notch

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Movement was a bit fast which made it more dificult, but it also made it more frantic so it works. Good job overall

isawillo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:25am

Fun game

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Fantastic art and gameplay! Good theme realisation! Cars, tanks - yahoo!

jujule says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:10pm

I love the retro style. Good game.

Dohan says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:43pm

The game has some Mad Max vibe on it. Also, the way your next target is pointed is great.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Pretty nice art. Controls could use being a bit smoother and movement less chaotic, but overall it was decently fun.

Tavibo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:12am

makes fun!

Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:29pm

workin at luigis is serious business. Car handles well and I love the punk theme

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]