August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Defender

by boddiul - Jam Entry

Don't let the zombies get to survivors. Kill them 10 seconds after they spawn. Get moneys for killing zombies. Buy new weapons, upgrade the wall, buy lawn mowers, upgrade your skills. And try to get secret weapon.
Zombie speed and health increases each round.

- Controls -
WASD - Move
Mouse - Shoot

Made in Game Maker 8.1
Sounds - sfxr

Yes, the game goes for forever.
!!!TO CHANGE THE WEAPON after buying it, you have to choose it in the store.

Btw I made it on my birthday, i turned 15 today :D
And I am the only participator from my country (Moldova)
Hope you will enjoy playing my second LD game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#42Fun(Jam)3.64
#192Overall(Jam)3.34
#205Humor(Jam)2.78
#294Theme(Jam)3.06
#294Mood(Jam)2.90
#319Graphics(Jam)3.16
#393Audio(Jam)2.49
#441Innovation(Jam)2.58

Comments

frankbsad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Loved it

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Loved it, reminds me of a few old FPSses like Doom and Wolfenstein 3D. Couldn't switch weapons.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:53pm

There weren't any statistics on the weapons, and they mostly felt the same once I stopped using the pistol.

I didn't get to the mystery weapon because I wondered what happened if the timer got to 0. I lost, even though I could have still shot the last zombie. This is weird.

I didn't realize I could move until the 3rd or 4th wave. Usually the arrow keys work.

The shotgun didn't feel any stronger than the pistol, it didn't seem to spread or over-penetrate.

It's an interesting start.

olafurw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Loved it! That impact sound is great and its a good simple concept. The buying mechanic is great but I didn't see a giant difference between the two machine guns.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Very simple, but quite fun! The upgrade system kept me coming back for more: "just one more wave, I need that upgrade!"

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:01am

Fun, but way too easy. Also, I eventually ran in to a bug where one last zombie knocked the wall down, but time was up and I couldn't shoot anymore. Instead of coming through and killing somebody, he just stood there and the wave never ended.

oajfh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:09am

Nice game. Quite fun, though I dislike these repetitive power yourself up games. It is very polished, no bugs that I could find. Dunno if there is an ending to this. Oh yeah, surprise weapon was quite nice too.

Vaughn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:11am

Overall a fun experience. Good job! Does it go on forever? I pretty much maxed out my upgrades at the end.

LevelUpJordan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:14am

Really cool, congrats! If you could take a look at my game I'd really appreciate it

manabreak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:14am

Really great idea, but I couldn't figure out how to change the weapons.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:22am

Quite a simple setup, but executed nicely. Felt quite slick to play, more so than most gamemaker shooters. Nicely done!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:23am

Neat ! Loved it too !

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:36am

Very nice! The store kept me engaged a lot longer than I would have been otherwise. I kept playing b/c I had to know what the secret weapon was! I wasn't disappointed.

As for difficulty, once I had the minigun I felt like I could play forever. I also eventually learned that, since range didn't really matter, the best tactic was to just sit still at one end of the wall rather than running around back and forth.

Not sure why damage is an upgrade since everything seems to be a one hit kill anyway...

Also, shotgun felt like a downgrade from the machine gun. I do think the store and/or weapons need some balancing in general.

Finally, extra bonus points for making me feel all that retro nostalgia :)

MisterDerek2 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Nice job! I really enjoyed the old school shooterness of it.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Very retro ..love it

Feffers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:50pm

I had a lot of fun with this game, and really liked the gun sounds.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Hey Boddiul! You used the same tools as me this LD. (GM and SFXR) Im impressed by what you made... can never survive long enough to unlock the secret weapon. I enjoyed this 5 stars a lot

Boodog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Cool game! :) I liked it!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Great game! :D

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Haha, great!!!

Andromatta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:12pm

keep it up!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:43pm

I felt like Rambo wielding an automatic poptart cat. I was king of the zombies and it was great!

ezolotko says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Fun game, i like it doesnt have a crosshair

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Nyan Cat! great game

Cotton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Good oldschool FPS!

RobDangerous says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Waah, Zombies! Nice game.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:22pm

pretty awesome

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Cool game i enjoy it

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Nice game! Happy birthday! :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:32am

I love shooting things. This was a game about shooting things. It was great!! I featured it in a Ludum Dare 27 compilation video, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R-HQ96z_y-M

Oxygamer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:33am

Minecraft like. Funny looks, when zomby eat people.

shard123 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Very fun and well polished! I enjoyed playing it a lot.

Supercannon says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Played until I got the 15k weapon (which was great), lots of fun. Got pretty easy near the end, and the sounds were a bit glitchy, other than that great entry!

mamoniem says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Doom ^_^

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]