August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Scraith

by lambomang - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The product of 24hrs gruelling game making:
So I made a little suspense/survival game. You can only move for 10 seconds at a time. While you're moving the monsters (which I dubbed scraiths) can't (if they are, that's just a bug. Just ignore it :P) When you can't move, they can. So you've sort of got to stay away from them and where they're going, otherwise they'll get you and there's nothing you can do about it :3 There's long grass scattered around though, so if you hide in that they won't see you. (Again, if they do, it's a bug. Just ignore it :P). There's 10 magical orbs scattered around the world, once you find all ten of them you win the game. Obviously though, if one of the scraiths gets you, you die.
Enjoy!

Controls:
WASD+Mouse - Move/Look
Q - Quit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#52Mood3.74
#226Graphics3.50
#233Theme3.51
#323Audio2.95
#418Overall3.19
#450Innovation3.11
#788Fun2.66
#938Humor1.48

Comments

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46am

Beautiful use of the theme. Nice game!

Eirikir says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:43am

Great theme, i got scared when i lost! xd

Parappa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:43am

Reminds me of Proteus, which I love. Deliciously cryptic, with some mysteries to unravel.

DaleP says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:57am

The simple (yet beautiful) black and white graphics, lack of background noise, 10-second movement, and general feeling of lost-ness (even though that was a bit frustrating) all worked to create an amazing suspenseful mood. The subtle audio cues when the scraiths and orbs were nearby were perfect.

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:14am

This game had great atmosphere, the sounds that play combined with the 10 second mechanic really worked well.

lalanl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:17am

Wow. I love the dreamlike feel. This is definitely my favorite so far.

wulfdesign says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:18am

sounds cool...
unfortunately unity web does not play in Linux..
think there is a Linux export feature in unity however...

thanks,

lambomang says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:30am

Glad everyone's enjoying it :D
@parappa Proteus is one of my most favourite games ever. :D That and 'Sir, You Are Being Hunted' had influences on this game.
@wulfdesign sure, I can export a Linux version. Will do so shortly :)

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:43am

Interesting! Liked it! Played for about 15 minutes, and had problems finding orbs. =(

Zknet says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:49am

It's like a better executed version of my game. I love the atmosphere and art.

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:07am

This is really eerie. The alien feeling of the monsters, and their deep pulsing sound, is particularly nice. After find the first orb I started to lose interest though. It was hard to tell where I had been before, and where I should go. A few more visual landmarks might be enough to address that, but there are other, more direct, solutions too.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:44am

Loooovely. Great art style, good use of the ten seconds theme in using it to create suspense. Really nice entry!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:58pm

The sound and graphics contribute to a haunting mood. Nice!

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:24am

Great atmosphere, legitimately nerve-wracking when that thing came at me bro. I got exactly 1 orbs before I died. :'-(

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:24am

A brief survival horror experience mixed with turned based elements, pretty clever

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:25am

Really like the visuals. Nice Job.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:25am

Eek, this is spooky. Being unable to move and having your fate sealed as doom approaches...

Nice work.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29am

You know the first time i was like OMGGGG WTF IS THAT!!! the i start to scream like a little cat D: idk what happen xD .... Very awesome game! :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:31am

Excellent use of the theme, suspenseful and nice use of 2d and 3d. Enjoyed it.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:32am

Cool, I didn't realize there was monsters until re-reading the description which made them quite a surprise =D

CuberToy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:34am

Nice atmosphere overall, good sounds (quite scarry at first). Some bugs (I've gone trhough the floor once, no big deal for all that matter). Great idea !

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:45am

Very slender game indeed. At first I wasn't too sure what the hell the scraith was (I had not read the description) and I just moved toward it not understanding what was happening. I love the surreal atmosphere. I wish you could move faster though, didn't really kept me playing for long.

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:14pm

I liked this game. The concept of only having ten seconds to move and having to stand still while these tall dark things moved around you was thrilling. I loved the graphics on the game too it fit really well. Fantastic job!

bytegrove says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:08am

What a cool idea! And what a creepy game, I was not prepared for that. o.O
Seeing the scraith lurk just outside my field of vision while I'm stuck in place is super creepy.
Nice work, fitting sound effects. *brr*

caranha says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:20pm

That was a very cool use of the theme, and the hand-draw graphics fit pretty well as well.

But to be quite honest, I got completely lost in the game. There was a huge, open field, with no sort of hint of where I should go.

If you didn't want to give very obvious hints, maybe make tall places in your level, so that the player could look for the smoke column of the orbs?

Also, don't make Q the button to quit the game when AWSD moves. That is a recipe for disaster :-D

Cheers, and thanks for the game! Here is a video review:
http://youtu.be/mfPozVJION0

lambomang says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:55pm

@caranha nice job on the video review. Lot's of helpful feedback you've given me, thanks :)

xndr says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:09am

So fine art! Very original!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Very Slender like! I loved it, nice graphics as well and not as scary!! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GZNeIKxvyg

Hayawi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:15pm

i dont get how the theme fits in your game

GarethIW says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:48pm

It's cool how a game that's so light (graphically) can be so creepy! Really cool.

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Amazing sense of atmosphere, really frightening. The grey & white reminds me of my entry last time, Bayou. It would be nice if the trees fade in better but on the other hand I really like the outlines on the hills too. Good job. : )

blackotus says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:51pm

I really like this.

The art is very nice, and whenever a monster appears, it makes me really aprehensive to get away.
I like the sound the monsters make as they come close, too, pretty unnerving.

Getting stuck while a monster is close is a pretty cool feeling, but getting stuck in the middle of nowhere feels a bit cumbersome at times.
The draw distance could be a little larger, too.

The game is great. Very nice job, keep working on it! :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Great atmosphere, I've managed to get one orb, but then I've got caught.. And I wasn't motivated enough to play again - I think that's the biggest problem of this entry. But good job on this, impressive work for 48 hours :-)

xrm0 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Nice art

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:06pm

eerie atmosphere, but hard as hell.

manuq says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Novel idea! The first minutes it bored me a bit because I couldn't find nothing special. After understanding the mechanic and finding things, it was interesting. Nice first person!

Sep 12, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Good game, nice art and haunting soundtrack... It plays a bit slow, however...

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:53am

Oddly creepy even though it has a very simplistic visual style. You were able to convey a lot with a very limited palette and minimal assets, so good work!

Jeremias says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:08pm

The concept is very nice. Sad, that you had no time to add further graphical details and gameplay mechanics. Did you considered to make a post-compo version? Then I would give the player some hints where to find the orbs.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]