August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lodestar

by folmerkelly - Jam Entry

When the beacon shines, click dolphins to get turrets and bombs to defend your island from the ever-emerging sea creatures.

It lacks sound effects and balancing and polish, apologies for that. it's all i managed to get out of the time I had. i tried.

Mouse controls all day errday.

Have fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#5Graphics(Jam)4.73
#41Audio(Jam)3.73
#105Overall(Jam)3.53
#114Mood(Jam)3.41
#136Humor(Jam)3.00
#189Fun(Jam)3.18
#276Innovation(Jam)3.01
#283Theme(Jam)3.09

Comments

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Absolutely gorgeous, one of the most beautiful games i have seen here. Great music, fits well.
But the game is too easy, and i don't see the theme connection really.
But this has potential, really beautiful.

Static 64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29pm

I love the art style. That made the overall game so much better.

farmergnome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Probably the best art ive seen so far.

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:24pm

This game features gorgeous graphics, but the gameplay is way too easy.

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Nice take on the plants versus zombies style tower defense. It's pretty easy right now, though. If there was some resource limit, or if there were enemies capable of easily destroying turrets, it would help a lot.

Spiridios says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Great music and I gave you highish audio despite not having sound effects because of it. The art is great and the mechanic has promise. I don't see any way to lose though, I got to a point where I stopped clicking on dolphins because there really was no point to having more firepower, things died as soon as they spawned. Would love to play a balanced version of this.

aschearer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Very nice presentation, very polished. Gameplay was kind of uninspiring and repetitive. I quickly had enough guns that I didn't need any more and enemies couldn't get past the beach.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:53am

The art is amazing, and the game could have been a lot better with a full week, instead of just 2.5+ days. I definitely see the potential here!!

deammer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:31am

Great art as usual, and it's fun to stack dem cannons :)

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:33am

Really really pretty graphics, a bit more polish and this could be something special :) I applaud the amount you managed to pull off in the time frame though, so good work!

Orni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:51am

amazing game - loved the drag&drop mechanic
the visual style is wonderful

very well done - didn't expect anything less from you :)

namuol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:19am

Not to beat a dead horse, but those are some fantastic graphics!

The gameplay is fun, but imbalanced. I think the problem is that it's too easy to just cluster weapons directly in front of the lighthouse -- there should be a limit to how many you could place in one spot to force the player to micromanage as their defenses get destroyed.

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:28am

The best mood :)

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:30am

Fantastic graphics and fun game

h_double says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Beautiful art style but I found it unplayably hard, maybe it's my touchpad?

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Man, that art...

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Very sunny, bright and fun! Had a good couple of minutes! Thanks for the great game! Dolphins are good!

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:16pm

So beautiful, and very clever. I love the style you have, especially the colors. Very polished. I can envision a finished game with different "islands," enemies, scenarios, etc.

Also, *frantic-dolphin-clicking*

Serilyn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Pretty and fun game. I think I found a bug though. Sometimes I click a dolphin and it disappears but nothing happens. From a screenshot Spiridios sent me I know I should be getting guns but I'm only getting cannons and bombs. Guessing that for some reason the guns aren't dropping from those dolphins. Perhaps that's why some people are finding it hard and others easy?
(For reference I'm running Chrome on Windows 7)

DuduSAr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Fun, simple and I like the idea. Nice art!
Unballanced at the moment (too easy).

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:34pm

One of the best looking games I've seen so far! Love the creature design and overall look. Fun concept too. good job

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Fantastic art. Music was very catchy

Spiridios says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:29am

Hmm. Tried the game on a different computer and I'm seeing the same bug Serilyn is - no guns spawn. With just the cannons and bombs spawning it's a pretty darn hard game. On this computer I see the bug in Firefox but not in Chrome. On the other computer I don't see the bug in Firefox and never tried Chrome. The buggy computer has flash 11,8,800,94. Symptoms are that sometimes when you click on a dolphin, nothing spawns and for as long as you play you'll only get cannons and bombs, no guns (presumably what would have dropped from the dolphins that drop nothing).

FunByJohn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:28am

Amazing as always :D

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:01am

Absolutely gorgeous game. 5 stars on that department! A bit on the easy side though, it got boring pretty fast because of that. Some sound effects would have helped also :)

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:39am

@ Serilyn and Spiridios: Yeah, when I open my workfile those dolphins spawn guns but in the swf they just spawn nothing. No idea what's up w that. Goes to show just how badly balanced the game is when one option makes it way too hard and the other makes it way too easy, ha.

@ everyone: Thanks for the kind words, I really appreciate it :)

panurge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:43am

Lovely laid-back mood and beautiful graphics. Nice music too. I played this one for quite a long time just soaking up the atmosphere. I think it would only take a few tweaks to balance the gameplay (and a few extra levels and enemies) to turn it into a really addictive little game. Excellent work!

team_cow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:00am

Beautiful art!

01010111 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:30pm

INSANELY beautiful! I love the music too - it fits the visuals perfectly. Can you imagine how crazy the world would be if all dolphins were weapons dealers?

Loren says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:25pm

So fun! I really really liked the art style and gameplay. Great job man :)

BenWhi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Really great stuff! Graphics were stunning and music was great too. Concept of quickly clicking on something to get powerups was really original + a cool addition to the tower defense genre.

Kohijin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Really like the visual designs and the music. The gameplay is already solid base aswell, maybe a bit too much PvsZ inspired, but its very own upbeat atmosphere.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Fantastic graphics and music and great all round presentation

nixeldev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:26pm

I love this! I watched its progress on twitter and am glad I got to play it :) The gameplay is difficult but fun (especially on a laptop touchpad) and the graphics are superb.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:56am

very beautiful very professional and fun!

targaciej says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:36am

Amazing and unique presentation, also fun to play. Great work!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Gorgeous graphics, not really a connection to the theme and it's too easy and not that fun.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Enjoyed playing it. Great artstyle.

acro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:26pm

beautfil lowpoly look to the background, and great colours. I didn't realise the 10 seconds were the only chance to grab 'towers', and after that I lost immediately, having not clicked on any Dolphins. After that, clicking on more than 2 dolphins made it impossible to lose - so, it needs a bit of difficulty adjustment. Art and sound is top notch, though.

netmute says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Graphics are stunning!

Fififox says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Really awesome graphics!
Glad to see some #LDTD action! This free-form tower defense surprised me at first but it's a really neat system in the end!
Congrats on a very good entry! :)

zlowrance says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Amazing graphics! Really great job on this one

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:37pm

This game features gorgeous graphics. good job

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:32am

Good work!
Nice visuals and interesting gameplay.
Visuals are really inspiring!

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Very nice visuals and atmosphere.

The game has a lot of potential, keep working on it!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:45am

good game man! I really like this kind of art.

headchant says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Those graphics!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:18pm

haha crazy fun, fantastic "thick" objects, very charming, very energetic game!

Top marks!!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:46am

This just looks great, well done on the style. Fun game as well.

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Gorgeous and melodious! The visuals are epic!
Gameplay need more thoughts, i feel. Overall, its great stuff for something done in 72 hours! I like your sense of visual design

Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Would be great if the game was a bit more challenging, the art style is really cool though. Nice entry!

BNeutral says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:20am

Lovely art. Wish there was a bit more game though.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:00pm

stunning visuals and solid gameplay but to easy and repetitive.

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Very cool art style. The ideas are really fantastic, but the balancing could be improved.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:07am

Welcome to Gun Island!

Art is so cute, really stylish :) Satisfying game to play and music suits it really well.

Great job. :)

Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Im actually routing for this game, it deserves to be in the top 100 jams. Really stunning and great idea of protecting the light house. really nice.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]