August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Who cares zombie-swingers from Venus on the Yellow Submarine?

by bukt - Jam Entry

Sup! We are <Who Cares team?> and here is our new game: <Who cares blah-blah-blah>.

In this game you are an TCP-packet. And you should reach distant device in TTL == 10 seconds. Sounds easy, right? But you will shame the guy, that setted up LAN wires. But don't fall in despair too early: you have three lifes for each packet and three more levels to play.

Those brave ones, who pass the game will be able to immortalize their names in the hall of fame.

And last one. Do you know that in fact no one care zombie-swingers, even if they came from Venus in the Yellow submarine? Now you do.

Have fun :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation(Jam)4.54
#5Theme(Jam)4.13
#26Humor(Jam)3.90
#27Mood(Jam)3.95
#31Graphics(Jam)4.42
#39Audio(Jam)3.75
#58Overall(Jam)3.75
#146Fun(Jam)3.29
#1477Coolness36%

Comments

nikkesen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Innovative! Great idea!

KeithE. says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49pm

What a title :) Cool idea, I like that the controls were all keyboard. The entire thing was a little cumbersome, kind of like setting up a real network! Good Job.

kayupla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29pm

you're just genious , and insane...

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:31pm

This is super cute!!! Well done

fdevant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Epic and informative.

Tipyx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Ah ah ah , a TCP Packet... xD

aherbez says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36pm

love the take on the theme. I definitely enjoyed playing it. it was slightly awkward to keep track of which keys mapped to which destinations at first, but I go the hang of it after a few tries. very nicely done, overall

Vico says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Congrats :) Very nice game!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Really interesting! Could have used with snappier movement through the connections, but maybe that was the point? Giving you 5/5 on Mood!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:00am

It's the great idea! I wish to have a bit more levels and some differences on the way to the win.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Intriguing idea. Nice graphics and decent sound. I actually liked that it was a bit clunky to play, working out which keys go to which nodes and stuff, it adds something to it somehow.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Great graphics, sound and really innovative idea. Found it a bit trial and error at times but the controls work well with the idea behind the game

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:50am

Great premise! Certainly very different than most games.

Nice work!

mklee says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:59am

Really awesome game idea! It was a little strange and by the end I'm still not entirely sure how exactly everything connects, but I kept on playing. Loved the little joke about the "any" key. Great job!

Antidote says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:30am

I spent a while thinking where were the zombies

ZYXer says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:33am

Quite a funny game! :D

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:37am

Simply amazing. Nothing I could say here would do your game justice. I will say that you definitely know your target audience and this game had so many small, but great details. Gave you 5/5 in 6 categories and that is extremely high praise coming from me as I am quite strict with voting. The only downside to this game is that it will inevitably place higher than mine in judging. Well done.

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:39am

Do you guys have any other games? Would love a link to check out some if they exist :)

lesterpig says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Excellent idea, all 5 !

dlowe says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Very impressive, and quite fun :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]