August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

sine

by timtipgames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Twitter: @timtipgames
http://www.timtips.com

The overall sound volume is a bit low, if you don't hear anything please turn up your volume :)

Added a full screen jar that auto-detects your desktop resolution and runs fullscreen. If possible play that version :)

I finally ported my entry sine to Android. I tested it to run fine on a nexus 4 and a Desire HD. It should be safe to play on devices with resolutions of 800x480 and up to 4k ;). If you have a smaller screens you may try it but are probably better off playing the desktop version.

GfxLib: libGdx
LogicLib: Artemis entity framework - odb fork
GfxTool: Inkscape
SoundTool: Reaper+some free VSTi

I fixed two game breaking bugs. The initially released version is still available but only differs in the fix of these two bugs:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3057562/sine/sine-src_bugged.jar
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3057562/sine/sine_bugged.jar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#37Innovation3.99
#45Overall3.89
#83Mood3.59
#106Graphics3.85
#160Fun3.48
#193Audio3.21
#366Theme3.36
#525Humor2.27

Comments

anserran says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12am

I needed time to understand the mechanics (I think the tutorial overexplain some things), but once you understand them, it's pretty funny, and I really like the simple but elegant graphics.

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Very pretty, nice sound too. Simple but professional.

Friday says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Really well made!

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:21pm

I would describe the game with one word "smooth". The graphics are really simple and look really good. The gameplay is unique and the sound fits the mood. Good job!

SloZigec says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:22pm

I liked the game very much, nive idea. But suddenly it crashed.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Amazing game, loved the style graphics and gameplay.

m110 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Looks really great, mechanics are original and the game is fun to play! Tutorial is well done too, good job!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Thanks for playing and commenting!
I know there's a bug that may crash the game that is somehow related to the audio. I am still waiting for it to happen while I play with logging enabled to find out how to fix it :) Sorry for the trouble :)

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38pm

This is really great!

Monoquartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Ultra good game. Awesome work !!!! *__*
Graphics are neat and beautiful. And the concept is really original

Monoquartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51pm

An Android or IOS port will be great...

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57pm

@Monoquartz it will, working on it :) Designed it with touch interfaces in mind.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Great job!. Despite the "impending doom" feeling that you get when transferring stars in fear of the sun's shock waves, the overall tone is very relaxing =)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:47pm

WOW 0_0

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:39pm

The graphics are fucking awesome!

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Great game mechanics and very well executed :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Wow, this game is very clear and original. That's a clever use of the theme, I love it!

Vaughn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Really well done game. It reminds me A LOT of Osmos and Eufloria. I assume they were inspiration for you? Graphics and audio were fantastic. Took me a bit to figure out what was going on in terms of gameplay/mechanics, and still a little fuzzy even after tutorial, but still was able to complete it.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:03am

@Vaughn
I actually didn't play osmos longer than 30 seconds and honestly can't remember the main mechanics of eufloria because it's been so long since I played it. But maybe it has ben an unconscious influence :)
I know that things can remain a bit unclear even after the tutorial (which kind of focuses on the obvious). I would try to improve that should I make a post compo version.
Thank you all for your feedback!

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:24am

Good but... where are the 10 seconds??

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:26am

@FireZenk the suns are emitting their wave of death every 10 seconds.

sirdorius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:30am

Good job! The first improvement that comes to mind is the coloring. I can't tell what colors are missing on a planet because they're not distinct enough.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:35am

Took a bit of learning, but really good feel afterwards. Nice mechanics, and the whole game feels quite polished. Great job!

namuol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:35am

Very zen once I figured out the mechanics (the tutorial was actually quite helpful, if a little wordy).

Hard to know if I'm doing "well" in the game or not, but I enjoyed playing, and absolutely love the concept, visuals, and graphics.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:50am

I always enjoy your game :) The minimalistic art style always fits the game design and mood. But when I played about 10 minutes the game crashed.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:15am

@sirdorius I agree, absolutely high priority if extended.
@dancingflame thank you! I just fixed another crash to desktop bug
@namuol agree, I get that feeling too. I have ideas how to improve and fight that feeling. We'll see if I implement them :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:24am

Great idea, good job :-)

Chinchilla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:29pm

very nicely executed!

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Saw it on the main screen, as a post mortem, very nice game! Liked it! A lot! :D

Vaalen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29pm

It's a really good and interesting game. Mechanics are quite originals.

pcmccull says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:48am

Really great concept and execution! Never really understood what made some planets with all the colors build a rocket and others wouldn't but it was really fun trying to transfer the stars and time them around the waves. Innovative use of the ten seconds.

Gazok says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:00am

Really neat mechanics, well realised. The sound is unobtrusive and appropriate. Most importantly, it was genuinely fun to play.

I felt that the controls were a bit tricky, particularly selecting your colour, especially as scrolling deselects the planet you had selected.

caranha says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Hey! Thanks for the review!

This is a different kind of game. Neat! I liked that you took the time to make a tutorial and an animated title screen! That makes the game look more polished. :-)

As for the game itself... I don't know exactly why, I did not feel I was very much in control for some reason. It was hard to time the sun flares and the stars moving around, and I was quite surprised that you didn't get a second rocket, although I understand your reasons for it.

Well, thanks for the game, and I made a video record of my play-through, if you are interested!
http://youtu.be/WXl8OzFP4Hc

timtipgames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Hey caranah, thanks for taking the time to make a video of your play session! Very cool to see others play your own game. You can actually learn a lot of it because people usually do things totally different than you expected them to :)

I agree that there are some parts that need improvement (and also a space background would have made it into the game if I had not run out of time).

Concerning the difficulty: Although you are under time pressure when you want to reach the highest score possible, it is very easy to play through the easy level if you do hurry less and take more time to take the suns waves of death into account. I'd describe your way of playing the game as kind of "brute force" (absolutely no offense) :). You sent quite a few stars into death :) While that absolutely is a legit way of approaching the problem I don't think it's the most efficient.

I had planned to make you lose points when stars die but I was really really in a hurry in the end and I felt like sound was more important at that point. As I stated earlier in the comments I share the feeling that the game isn't "tight" enough when it comes to feedback loops and the feeling of success. I also mixed control schemes that were solely made for touch devices (the whole dragging thing) into the desktop version and even mention it in the tutorial (because I didn't want people to be confused when they accidentally use it) which just makes everything worse in my opinion. But that's just the way it is.

Again, thank you very much for playing and even making a video of it. I deeply appreciate it!

caranha says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:08pm

No worries about the brute force comment.

This is the first time I'm making videos, so it is a learning experience for me as well. You play differently when you know that if you spend more than 10 minutes in a game, people will get bored, so I felt a bit under time pressure as well.

I totally understand what you mean by "It is great to watch other people play your game" - that is the reason I'm making these. On my previous Ludum Dare (Fair King), I actually sat with people to have them play the game in my tablet, and it was amazing to see what I thought was obvious, but really didn't get through to people and had to be redone.

Anyway, best luck with your game! Cheers!

loxo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Great idea and implementation! I like all aspects of the game, it's nice to be able to try different strategies. But with touch it's definitely more fun.

udo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Thanks for making this :)

flavio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:32am

Amazing really ! Can't stop playing it !

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Liked this game for the atmosphere and gameplay smoothness. Is a little too easy, in my opinion. Didn't get enough of it.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:00pm

good job

bitserum says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Beautifully designed and polished. It was fun to play, but when you beat several planets, the rest of gameplay gets repetitive and nothing new to try. But you can still enjoy it. Very good job.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Thanks for putting this well done tutorial, it's helpful.
I first try the easy mode but I had more fun playing then the hard mode where you really have to manage your stars.
The background sound goes well with the graphics to create a space atmosphere.

Antidote says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Feels very polished, and really cool idea. Very impressive for 48 hours! Also love that you have an android version, played it on my nexus 7 ^^ Great work!

cbear_wallis says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:40am

This game is really cool and the tutorial is really in depth. I love the mechanics and the facts that it is a space game ^-^

Toadpud says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:57am

Great game! I played it on my HTC One. My only complaint is that the tutorial text was really small.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Interesting idea. Having some sort of enemy might be nice, but I enjoyed playing it.

bassarisse says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:47am

Nice, loved the idea, the pace and the use of the theme. One little thing: I quit my game some times by pressing esc unintentionally, so a confirmation message would be good =)

GaTechGrad says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:49am

Neat game. I played through the tutorial, but still didn't fully understand what was happening. I just kept moving stars to a planet until I had enough for a rocket, and then started colonizing other planets. My final score was 664.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Gorgeous, original, and a ton of fun! Too bad it hangs sometimes :(

Sestren says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:35am

The gameplay is unique and pretty challenging and fun. Awesome game, I loved it!

emveyh says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Great game. The graphics are simple, but in a positive way.

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Amazing game, played the android version on the nexus 7 2nd generation and it works beautifully :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]