August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

RUNTRIS

by sgehlich - 48 Hour Compo Entry

RUNTRIS is a Jump'n'Tetris game. There is this strange force that is trying to kick you from your beloved grassy platform, so you have to build blocks to avoid falling down.

The force does not like that and sends you weird powerups (well, more like powerdowns...) every 10 seconds that will make it harder for you to survive. Try not to fall down for as long as you can and beat the other people's highscore.

Have fun :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#28Fun3.90
#32Overall3.94
#52Innovation3.92
#101Graphics3.87
#237Audio3.12
#244Humor2.87
#271Mood3.13
#467Theme3.27

Comments

x3zinja12 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:49am

This is really cool! It is hard to balance the mouse and where you are jumping. It is challenging, but it also is easy to pick up and understand. Good job.

Verrazano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:12am

I really liked the yells the guy makes when you fall. The game is pretty hard I wish there was a lower difficulty level, but such is life and that's what I get for sucking at platformers. It was a pretty good idea I must say. But tricky to get the hang of good game overall.
--
P.S. Was on the leaderboard for a little bit with 10 meters ( I did make it further but forgot to post the score.)

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:34am

Verrazano: Thanks for your comment!
You know, I think nowadays games are way to easy. Look at all those hollywood production games. They look like a freaking hollywood movie and basically all you have to do is "Press X now!".
I believe games have to be difficult and challenging, since that's the real purpose of computer games. Look at all those old games, they were all (stupidly) difficult and I spent so much time mastering them. :)

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:23am

Wow, this is crazy! I have to do two things at once--I'l have to practice this :)

Great graphics, and cool idea.

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Really nice game. It's pretty addictive.

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42pm

I really enjoy it :) Crazy and addictive.

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Really cool game ! It's hard but it's fun !

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Awesome! Trying to make your character movement sync up with where you place your blocks is difficult but oh so enjoyable!

cwkx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Awesome little game, I found myself spamming the mouse, with the cursor positioned just offset to the right-upper, instead of placing carefully - is this the intended playstyle? Great stuff though!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:17pm

I really like the graphics, they seem like "Fez" by Phil Fish for me, really cool!

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34pm

cwkx: No it's not, it's some kinda cheaty :P But I found this out way too late.

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:47pm

That cool, the contol is difficult but cool :)

cschwartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:12pm

I think its a very good sign that I like the game even though I suck at it.

Cosrnos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:13pm

It's really difficult but a lot of fun! Beautiful art style c:

gbear605 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Quite good, very difficult though.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Wow! Great graphics and controls!

Speed is too high though. Idea is great!

emveyh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Great game, it was really fun :)

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Great idea, great polish ! :o

carlsommer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Brilliant game! It continues to be fun after several play throughs!

Clurect says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:24pm

I think this is really fun. It is challenging, but I want to play it over and over again.

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:19pm

I wish it didn't go so fast at the beginning. Having it start out a bit slower and get faster the farther you get would help me get into it better. I like how you mashed 2 unrelated styles and made a game from them. Nice graphics and ambient audio sounds. Pressing space to retry would be better than having to press 'R' IMO as I was having to do that alot. Quite a fun game.

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:38pm

This game made me really angry. I never actually lasted the ten seconds till I got a power-up. Good concept nonetheless. It had one of my favorite games!

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Sometimes blocks seemed to not place, resulting in my untimely death :( Nice idea, love graphics, I am terrible at this though :P

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Tifu: That's a bug, hope this didn't affect your gaming experience too much :)

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:52am

Neat idea and nice art style. Very challenging!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:14am

I liked the mechanic a lot! It was really difficult in the beginning but I found myself learning it faster than expected. Very nice atmosphere. Well done!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:54am

Really cool and innovative game. Loved the mini-map at the bottom. It's the little things that make a good game. And this was really good :)

Glockenspiel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:32pm

At first i was like, this is really hard and i can't multitask, but then i got the hang of it and boy did i love it. Its really addictive. If i had it on my phone i'd play it when ever i get bored especially during breaks in college

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Great game! Brutally hard. Very addictive.

Valerien says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:18am

The controls are slick and responsive, the game is challenging but not too hard, and the concept feels fresh. Good job !

flavio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Tough but funny game !
I liked it a lot ! :)
I need to stop playing it because it's my launch pause at work, but I'll go back !
Thanks for it !

TeamBob says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:47pm

this is epic! really good idea, i love it

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:17pm

good job

Manoloko says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

My favorite game in this Ludum Dare so far. I always like the idea of mixing game concepts, this one makes a crazy mix and it makes it work. Very hard though.

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:45am

Awesome game, a great twist on a classic. It's so hard though! Even without the powerups, placing blocks while jumping is very challenging. I have no idea how the people have gotten to >=1000m.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:11am

I love the idea. The first retries were a bit frustrating, but you end up getting the hang of it, and then we have a great piece of hardcore fun.
Great job! :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Awesome! Great design, graphics and playability. Of course starting easy and slowly raising the difficulty would be better.

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Nice, it's hard (but I played it with touchpad, so maybe that's the problem :-).. Anyway, the idea is hilarious, good job!

AlexFili says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:18pm

This is really hard but it's also challenging and a lot of fun. The powerups are great and make an already great game even more great!

Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Amazing.. I hatelove it XD

manuq says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:54am

This is really cool, I love mastering the controls.. but maybe I stop fighting with my trackpad and find a usb mouse :P

motty says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:38am

Really great effort. Really hard for me - I'm terrible at this kind of game - but still fun even so.

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:56am

Challenge accepted!
Really nice one.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]