August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TimeFlex

by jprogman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game was created in Flash CS5. The ideal version of Flash to play this game is 10 or later.

You will play different games for as long as you can handle. When you are on the verge to lose the game, you can flex the time by pressing SPACE. By time flexing, you will pause your current game and play a different game immediately. However, when you lose, you will go back to continue any other games that you had time flexed on. If you lose when you reached the double-negative wave, the game ends.

Sadly, I have only managed to complete two different games. With this kind of game, it would have been better to have a lot more games to really take advantage of flexing time. Therefore, this game is really just to show a different play mechanic.
I didn't put any or much effort on audio or graphics because I was focusing mainly on the game's construction.

I'll elaborate more about the two games available:

#1, Defense. You are a knight in danger with lots of fireballs aiming towards you. With your shield, you have to block all fireballs. You can take three hits. If you get hit three times, you will be too weak to continue to the next level, but you can still finish the current level. Otherwise, you are about to lose! Stay standing with at least 1 HP remaining to go to the next level.

#2, Escape. You need to get to the exit before time runs out. A monster will follow you and try to attack you. If you do get caught, the level will reset and you can try again. You have many tries, but for only 10 seconds. Reach to the exit in time to reach to the next level.

Some explanations on the items:
Coins (Bronze,Silver,Gold) - Get these to earn points. The bronze ones are worth 2 points, silver is 4, and gold is 8. You will get more points in bonus when you are at a higher level. (You get 1 point bonus for every 5th level you passed.)

Clocks - Get this to reset the time of your previous waves back to the full 10 seconds. Although, your current wave could reset back to 10 seconds itself.

Here is how it works in my best explanation possible: the last wave that you had time flexed will reset back to 10 seconds. But, if that wave already had a full 10 seconds, then the next game further down the wave list will reset instead. This continues until every wave is checked until it finally resets the current wave to 10 seconds.

Time Flex - get this to add one to the number of your reserved time flexes. With those, you can time flex by pressing SPACE.

The point system may be a bit confusing as you see your score constantly get updated. Some points are gained by the number of steps you take, the amount of time remaining, the number of flames blocked, and so on.

Once again, this game is to show how it can be played that I might consider reusing in the future. I'll look forward to your feedback!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#786Theme2.91
#804Innovation2.64
#858Fun2.55
#874Humor1.70
#958Overall2.61
#982Audio1.24
#998Mood2.03
#1049Graphics2.02

Comments

Deadlyapps says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:34am

Interesting idea of having two games in one. I was a bit confused when i got to the blocking game but quickly figured it out. Nice work.

carlsommer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:43am

It's easy to find yourself replaying it over and over.

gritfish says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:43pm

It's a nice attempt at a Warioware style game, but the amount of instructions you've given is really daunting!

I like the fact that the two games you've made are completely separate, gameplay-wise.

apaneske says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Man, those fireballs really hurt at speed! :) Nice games.

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:05am

The flex mechanism is still a little confusing for me, but it's not that bad, and one can perfectly enjoy the game without it.
Great job !

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:10am

Neat concept with the time flexing. I like how the game pauses for you to get your bearings when switching games.

TehLulzinator says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:46am

2023 points! And still 23 timeflexes left. ;)

So every time you time flex, the game gets added to a list for you to come back for? And when you pick up clocks you get more time, interesting.

It is much easier to get points in the fireball games btw. I had a lot of fun with it still.

johnfn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:32pm

There was a LOT of text up there - and in game - and that was kinda scary, but once I started playing it was very easy to understand! This was definitely the sort of game I expected to be coming out of the 10 seconds theme, and I feel like you executed it pretty well. The game was quite fun!

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:31am

Interesting game.

Niavlys says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:01am

The bug preventing you from launching my game should be fixed now :) Can you tell me if it is (or isn't)? I'm gonna try yours now!

Niavlys says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:16am

Interesting idea. Nice work on the Escape levels. I didn't like the controls in the Defense mode, I probably expected the up and down arrow keys to move the shield from top to bottom. I had also trouble to identify my character in Escape mode, I often moved looking at the wrong one.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:40am

Nice on the 2 in one. I liked that idea worked in with the theme.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:09am

I liked it a lot, multi game!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:01pm

I ran into a bug on the escape level:
You = x, monster = z, exit = e, and floor = -
If you anre in a setup like this
x-ez
and move right
xz
then move right again you will exit the level instead of being killed by the blue guy.

redo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Nice idea! If you continued developing this I would like to see more minigames. Also some music and sfx.
Good job!

jprogman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:49pm

@killerstarbunny It's not a bug to me, here's why:
The player gets the advantage of getting over the exit regardless of getting hit by the blue monster. One example would be when you are just next to the exit and a monster is one space diagonally away from you. One move from you would obviously get you killed.

Delca says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Like you say, it would be even more interesting with more games. But I think the idea could work.
Also, it seems like levels are getting easier and easier in the fireball game, is that normal ?

jprogman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:19pm

@delca No, that's a bug. I got myself confused with naming variables and ended up changing one thing instead of the other things. So, it was mistakenly made easier instead of harder lol.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Couldn't really work out what was happening

canvapps says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:36pm

the bonus stage is cool, I think it's the trickiest :)
Good Job!

ratalaika says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:59pm

! Great job :).

Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:48pm

This is very good once the difficulty kicks in!
Awesome job!

jprogman says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:54am

Thank you very much for your time playing and commenting my game :)

TammiLion says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:32pm

The fireball game doesn't really work intuitively. I would switch the controls to only up and down. So if you're up press down once to go to middle, press it twice to go below. Fun games ^^

Boneloaf says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Fun game(s), the fireball game reminded us of the balls mini game in "International Karate Plus" http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=2vljAzIy43g#t=66 and the chase game reminded us of "The Vortex" from the BBC's childrens TV show "The Adventure Game" http://youtu.be/6HLX2weZfkA

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]