August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10Space

by Armix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

DESCRIPTION:
10 Space is a minimalistic yet increasingly difficult puzzle game in which you have ten seconds to clear stages by charging control points through pressing their corresponding keys. The charge amount has to fit within the two orange rings when the time hits zero; failing to do so results in a loss of a life.

WINNING:
Don't "space out".

CONTROLS:
Proceed/Next = <SPACE>
Grow Charge = (corresponding letter on keyboard)

CONTACT:
Twitter: @armixbear
Tumblr: armix.tumblr.com
Facebook: facebook.com/studioarmix

DEVELOPMENT:
Language/Framework: LUA / Love2D
IDE/Editor: SublimeText 2
Operating System: MacOSX 10.6.8

STATS:
Hours Spent: 15 (70% Learning LUA / 28% Developing / 2% Publishing)
Muffins Consumed: 8
Hours of Sleep: 10 (over 48h)

SOURCE:
The game's ".love" file, downloaded from the "Source/Love" link;
may be renamed to ".zip" and for extraction and viewing.
As usual, don't exploit the code or claim ownership for stuff that you didn't make.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#100Innovation3.75
#161Theme3.65
#202Overall3.46
#248Graphics3.46
#383Fun3.13
#666Audio2.33
#1404Coolness40%

Comments

Andrio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:06am

Got really difficult once two keys were introduced. My keyboard ghosts, so I'm not sure if I'm able to play this game at all. Seems alright, though!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10am

I really like the design of the game, niceeeeee

HoWseR says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:12am

I was thinking the whole time, how can this get much harder and then the two circles popped up and i was like oh crap

Komradus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Oh man that got hard fast, but really fun, well done.

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Wow, what a mind break you go through when the second key is introduced. Might want to consider adding a level where the two keys move at the same speed first in order to introduce it.

Also, you can rename the 'Source' download to 10seconds_src.love, and people with the LOVE engine can download it and play it directly.

ananasblau says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:05pm

You could make this a two player game all the way, maybe with free selectable keys as they don't really matter anyways. And it needs more sounds (for shrinking/growing, outside the limit) and graphic effects. then, i think it will be some success.

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:25am

Difficult and really addicting!

Thermite says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:24am

Lovely aesthetic, and a nice idea!

alts says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:35am

Excellent work. This feels really great. My only suggestions would be to drop the concept of lives, and to change the font in the center. On my first play through, I got the character "O", which in this font is a square. I had no clue what to do.

Also, just so you know, I got to a stage where both circles were the same letter, which made the level impossible.

Excellent game, otherwise. Nice work.

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:50am

you should consider making it on touch devices by touching the circles :) I could help u in that :) btw reminds me of Hundreds game

hbocao says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:34am

So addicting! Lovely art and concept. Great entry!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]