August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Capitall

by the.vaber - Jam Entry

Goal of the game is to gain as much score as possible by navigating the level as fast as possible in order to reach required target locations (green platforms) in a tense 10 seconds time limit.

Made in 3 days by Vaclav "thevaber" Patejdl (code and graphics) and Lukas Patejdl (sound effects). Made using Unity engine, BFXR, Spacescape (skybox), GIMP, Audacity. Some assets sampled and modified from freesounds.com, cgtextures.com, dafonts.com ("Venus Rising" font).

Development was very tough towards the end, but we luckily made it. Any feedback is welcome! :-)

TIP: Try to exploit the Blue boost pads on your way towards the Green pad as much as possible; you don't need to land on the pads to activate their effect, just fly through the glow above them. Jetpack can help you to maintain a good altitude in order to maximize the boosts.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#94Graphics(Jam)4.05
#242Mood(Jam)3.06
#255Fun(Jam)3.00
#256Overall(Jam)3.19
#298Innovation(Jam)2.97
#301Theme(Jam)3.05
#306Audio(Jam)2.78
#464Humor(Jam)1.64
#1672Coolness26%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:18am

Very difficult game, either that or I'm really unlucky and the green platform was in the furthest place possible from me every time. Never once landed on green... maybe make a smaller playfield? Or at least give the green platform a maximum distance it can appear from the player? Cool idea though, and it looks very nice!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:57am

Solid idea. I like the hex-platforms!

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:55pm

GOODNESS ME THIS IS FULL OF STARS

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Love the idea, great graphics, but its way too hard for me :)

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:03pm

I keep missing and falling! awesome game, addictive!

Sense says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:06pm

I really like it, graphics wonderful!

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:06pm

I found it very hard to control, but I like the idea, are the green pads placed at random or they get some math to become "achievable"? :)
Stunning visual!

dom2d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Can't...reach....green platform....

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:25pm

A bit difficult but simple to understand and cool graphics ! gj :)

the.vaber says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Thank you all for the comments :-) It is a little bit difficult, but not impossible - one trick is not to fly too high and try to fly near as much blue boost platforms as possible. The green platform is usually located rather far away from player for challenge, but it is still random, so sometimes you can get quite lucky. I uploaded a gameplay video (one of the links on top).. I only recorded in 480p by mistake, so the video quality is not that great :-/

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:51pm

I love the graphics, and despite being pretty basic the gameplay is really fun and challenging, excellent work! Only problem is that the web version lagged out my 660 Ti, the desktop version worked fine though.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Good graphics and nice challenging gameplay.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Amazing graphics! Even falling down looks pretty because of the reflections. I found the gameplay to be challenging but fun.

mboaj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20pm

I like the look and feel. It is actually rather difficult for me since I am very bad at FPS :D But I love the overall atmosphere :D

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Good idea, liked the difficulty and having to develop a good strategy to reach the greed pad in time.

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:18pm

challenging and intense.

I had a good time playing. I think I can to better at my house later tonight. I will be coming back for more!

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Fun and challenging. A few time I had difficulty finding the green tile. Maybe make it shine up like a light so there's a green beam?

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:30am

Neat game idea. :)

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:37am

The game become trivial when you realize you can just go to the middle and skip every second green platform eliminating all luck and difficult decisions.

The idea and implementation was nice.

tobbez says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:40am

Stunning visuals and fitting music (the round-related sound effects got a bit annoying after a while though).

The gameplay is nice, but sometimes it feels like the green platforms spawn so far away that it's impossible to get to them.

I also feel like it could have been a better game if the theme hadn't been applied to it, or maybe if some further sense of progression had been added.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:01am

Excellent work! Loved the atmosphere and the visuals, which are right up my alley anyway, but really well executed!
The gameplay was a tad too challenging, especially since it was relatively difficult to see holes when you have so little time to reach the platform. It felt like a game of luck most of the time. But great work nonetheless!

MisterDerek2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Very cool; reminded me of jumping flash on PS1 from back in the day + tribes. Got stuck in between hexes a few times, and would like to see more sound work. Nice job!

Orni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:46pm

I saw the thumbnail and immediately thought: "wow, this looks nice" - after reading the description and checking out the screenshot I thought: "ok, I'm gonna play this now - but let's check out the video to see what it's like". 3 seconds in the video I thought: "crap, I've wasted three seconds in which I didn't play this game, what am I doing here?" and immediately started it.

great concept and game - love the minor aesthetic touches (moving platforms and those yellow snake thingies). the gameplay is solid as well. nicely done :)

acro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:00am

It looks gorgeous! The shaders on the pillars and the tron/glowy feel is superbly well done. From your video it seems maybe you got too good at it while playtesting! I find it impossible, and as a result repeated attempts are frustrating and kinda unrewarding, which is a shame. I managed hi scores of 0, 1000, and 0. So, congrats on the extreme quality of the gfx, sound, and controls, it's just a shame the gameplay is so tough.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Very beautiful but it's hard for my laptop .. Gameplay could not be estimated!

Flai says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Really hard, but it's great otherwise! Love the graphics :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]