August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

RainbowBlock

by Zaelza - 48 Hour Compo Entry

RainbowBlock can clear sky in ten seconds flat!


You must destroy all clouds in 10 seconds.
If game crash try noMusic version.

Control:
Left button to move,
Q,W,E - use abilities if active.

Need XNA to run
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914


#Changes in Post Compo version
28.08.2013:
- Adjust timings in intro
- Remove skip button in win outro

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#113Humor3.33
#121Fun3.54
#175Theme3.62
#256Overall3.39
#258Mood3.16
#380Audio2.85
#478Innovation3.06
#596Graphics2.81

Comments

Markavian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:39am

Best game ever. I was laughing as as soon as Rainbow block started speaking 'cause I knew what she was about to say.

The only bit I didn't get was coolness, gonna go max that out now.

Zaelza says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:41am

:P

Coolness = Overall DPS

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:20am

Pretty fun game! It would be nice not to have to watch the cutscene every time after you buy upgrades, but that was a minor annoyance, thanks to the skip button.

moonmagic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43am

Wouldn't run for me; said it encountered a problem and needed to close :(((

Laguna says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:33am

Nice Game, I really enjoyed playing it for some runs and the "cutscenes" are well made!

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:38am

Great game. The upgrades worked well to add replay value and the gameplay was quick and responsive.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:42am

Pretty fun! And I wonder where you got the idea from... ;)

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:45am

This one gets humor in my book.
Using quotes in a game, nice one.

Was fun but I didn't complete it.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:41am

Nice! We have almost the same concept with repeating until you beaten it ^^

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:09pm

A bit hard, but fun! Gratz! :D

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:13pm

I'm a sucker for upgrade mechanics. Plus rainbows. I played this longer than I would admit.

ezolotko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Fun

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Fun Game! A tad repetitive but still fun; I played until i finished!

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Really nice, but gets boring after a few rounds

igleyy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:31pm

It doesn't run on my Windows 7 64bit. I don't get any error :(.

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Very good game !

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59pm

I liked it. Brilliant!

djbriandamage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Great game! Really unique. Love the upgrades.

berkano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Completely bonkers and creative, love it! Maxxed out everything but just not good enough to complete it. Me=epic fail.

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Really nice entry - best I've played yet I think. Good sense of humour, but most it just had really compulsive gameplay. I completed it once and accidentally skipped the final cutscene, so had to go back to complete it again to see what happened - not a complaint though as there aren't many LD games I'd want to complete right through twice in a row :)

drilltail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:57am

This made my day.

nikkesen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Great game. The only thing It'd have been nice for there to be a "cost" listed for the upgrades. Otherwise great job on the mechanics. Kind of reminds me of the cloud-rolling level of Katamari.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:38pm

good job

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Nice entry. (FYI - "RainbowBlock.exe" crashes when you click "Skip" or when intro ends; "RainbowBlock_noMusic.exe" works good)

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Pretty fun, loved the variety in the upgrades.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:12am

Oh man. I hear their voices in my head! Arrrrgh! So cute!

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Tee hee hee, ponies reference

HD408 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Very funny game. Doesn't actually need a "-" button in the upgrades screen.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:13am

You actually turned photoshop-erasing-with-a-low-opacity into a game. Not very fun to play, but really funny!

feyleaf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:04am

This game made me smile a LOT. Great going!

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:17pm

AWESOME idea and execution. You did really well with the theme. Controls are great the entire concept is hilarious. Great work!

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:23pm

That was pretty fun, I liked the upgrade system, really added a lot to the game. Graphics were nice to look at, it played well. Nice one.

Split82 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Nice upgrade system :)

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Time travel silly! lol, really funny xD Kinda frustrating that you just have to lose lots of times before getting enough stats to beat it

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:15am

Love the brony love. Great game, made my smile. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WX5erHA1DPE

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]