August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bomb Defuse Simulator 2013

by Aceria - Jam Entry

!!! PLEASE READ !!!
This game cannot be played due to the hardware requirements. You need a Kinect & Beamer both set at a specific spot and the boxes need to be in the same position & size. Please watch the video to see how the technology works and how the game works. That's the best we can do for you at this point.



Bomb Defuse Simulator 2013 lets you defuse bombs without the potential mess. This game was created during the Ludum Dare 27 Jam lasting 72 hours. The theme of this jam was '10 seconds'. In Bomb Defuse Simulator 2013 you have 10 seconds to find the wire that leads to the bomb and cut it. Wait too long and the bomb explodes. Cut the right wire and the difficulty increases by adding another cable to the mess.

What makes this game unique is that the player has to physically move around the bomb in order to find the right wire to cut. The technology for this installation is experimentally mashed together during the last 72 hours creating a pleasing result. If you wish to find out more about who we are or what we do we kindly suggest you visit www.sassybot.com/games.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask here or on our facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/SassyBotStudio

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Innovation(Jam)4.43
#155Humor(Jam)2.94
#171Theme(Jam)3.37
#263Overall(Jam)3.17
#322Graphics(Jam)3.15
#1129Coolness49%

Comments

epiplon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:00am

What about the game?

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53am

Where is the game?

raincole says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:54am

video only?

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:00am

I completely understand the video-only bit. This looks like a fantastically fun thing to build and I'd love to see it demoed for real :) Very nice, and ignore the twits. ;)

Aceria says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:00am

The game cannot be played by anyone else due to our technology. Unless you happen to have the same size boxes, a beamer with the same lens, a kinect, an xbox controller.

Watch the video to see how the game & technology works.

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:00am

ffff i wanted to try another bomb defusing game!! No rate :(

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:01am

Very interesting idea, shame about the requirements to actually play it.

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:05am

Unfortunately can't rate due to there being no game. Looks interesting though.

qrunchmonkey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:09am

It's a shame there's no way to try this. It seems like a fantastically cool concept and I absolutely love AR demos like this. Was kinect doing the head tracking for POV? Didn't know you could do that. Was there one projector or two? How'd you deal with the player obstructing the projector? I'd *LOVE* to see a more detailed write up on this (and some photos of the setup)

Aceria says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:28am

We did indeed use the kinect to do the head tracking. We only used 1 projector, pointed at 2 boxes at an angle.

The player obstructing the projector was the only thing we couldn't really fix with our setup. We know it's possible to do, but we'd need a better projector and a bigger room. Right now we just let the player walk in front of the beamer and give them a moment where they can't see anything.

We'll be writing up a post-mortem in the coming days, like our FB page if you want to be notified when that happens:
https://www.facebook.com/SassyBotStudio

IHackedDeath says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:20am

would love to rate and think it would do really well but please don't stop what your doing, continue on with this sort of type of game and developing is amazing idea

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:23am

IMHO shame on these bad comments, your game is awesome, watch the video and you get why we can't really play it because it's a augmented-reality game :)

I love the crazyness of the gameplay.
Very funny audio too.
Also a technically awesome experiment.

Next time please consider using really firecracker triggered by the game :-D

Aceria says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:21am

@IhackedDeath
Thank you for the encouragement. We knew that what we made is really difficult to judge by others without playing it. For us, Ludum Dare is about creating new games and finishing them. We will elaborate more on the setup in an upcoming post mortem.

@gre
I'm glad you understand why this can't be played by others. Without the augmentation hardware and reality environment the game won't be playable. Most of the time was spent on getting the technology set up and calibrated. As you can tell it made some of the other aspects suffer. :)

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Did the bomb say "Hodor?" (GOT???)

Great Idea. I loive the idea... but I really want to play this... Cinect is in reach... can you please provide a link to a playable demo?

Aceria says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:12pm

@spychomonster
The bomb does indeed say Hodor when you raise both your hands. It's like a little party!
Even if you have a Kinect you would still need to set this up. Kinect distance/angle/height are important, projector distance/height/angle/lens and the boxes that we project on.

We might release something later which makes the setting up easier and more dynamic. For now it's pretty much impossible to replicate this game somewhere else.

spliter says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:37am

Shame we can't play the game but it seems at least it's very interesting and definitely one of the most innovative games in this LD :]

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:37am

This is really cool Nice job

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:39am

Pretty cool!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Love the font of this, for the authentic "mundane simulator"-feel :P

Great game-idea, this seems perfect for such an idea. Too bad we can't actually play it then :(

CuberToy says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:00am

Regardless of not being able to play it, I think we can all rate the game, or some of the category. So, sure I'll not rate the fun cause I haven't experience it myself but I can tell of its innovation, theme, graphics, audio, humor and mood !

Not telling everyone what to do here, but let's be fair. So, I love the idea and the madness behind it. It looks really well executed, and the fact that you've deal with only one projector is awesome. So, kudos for that !

kristof says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:36am

Oh! I want to try this so bad :D

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:42am

Really like the look of this game!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:34am

Disclaimer : did not rate in all categories (something like "Fun" is really meant to be felt while playing, for instance), but you deserve some recognition for your great experiment! Hopefully you will continue on that path and make many really innovative experiences like that!

GaTechGrad says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Neat idea. I would have rated it if I at least could look at the code behind it. Seems like the biggest obstacle with this project will be the player's shadows obstructing the view on the cardboard boxes.

Aceria says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Thank you all for taking the time to watch and rate!

@GaTechGrad
Obstructing the projector is not that big of a problem for gameplay actually. Even if the player could see the projection from a point that would normally obstruct the light, the player would not be able to see where the cables lead or where the scissor is going.

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Seriously, I just rewatched your tech videos and I'm incredibly impressed. Great work, guys.

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:43pm

If this doesn't win for Innovation, I don't know what's wrong with this world.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]