August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Sentai!

by PixelOaks - Jam Entry

'10 Second Sentai!' is a fast pace semi RTS.
The world is protected from monsters by the powerful Sentai. Unfortunately the sentai can only stay transformed for 10 seconds at a time. Do you have what it takes to be their eye in the sky and lead them to victory.


Sentai that you summon only last 10 seconds in battle.

* Move the camera with WASD.
* Move mouse to the edges of the screen to pan in the corresponding direction.
* Raise and Lower camera with Scroll wheel
* Rotate Camera by holding down Right Mouse Button.
* Left Click to select an enemy.
* Click sentai Button to send out Sentai. (Currently only red sentai works.)


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#61Graphics(Jam)4.22
#122Audio(Jam)3.37
#136Humor(Jam)3.00
#141Mood(Jam)3.33
#210Overall(Jam)3.29
#251Innovation(Jam)3.06
#289Fun(Jam)2.94
#403Theme(Jam)2.87

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:08am

Wow ! Impressive game ! The music, the 3d characters. I love it, nice job !

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:24am

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it.

CoOz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:23am

Ahah really fun! Some difficulties with the control to change the monster for example.
I don't understand the difference between the attacks ^^
Could be a really fun game keep coding! :)
Great job

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:28pm

WOW, amazing!

The camera of the game is a little awkward but does his job.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Love the theme! The camera is a bit strange, but works. Could be really great if you go on with this idea :)

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Made a couple of adjustments to the camera to include some panning, as well as adjusting the height of the camera using the scrollwheel :)
- Programmer

nicotuason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54am

Haha fun game! Great art style. Really missing the ability to call in other sentai, hope you finish it someday!

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:30pm

It's a shame the other sentai don't work yet. The skeleton is in place here for a really nice game. I hope you continue to develop it. Music, visuals and controls all mesh together nicely.

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:27am

Thanks, we will think about it.

Antidote says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:43am

Nice art :) Gameplay was kinda confusing to me.

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:16am

Thanks :) Just left click a monster and then click on the red button. Unfortunately we ran out of time. Got a little ambitious.

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:16am

Love the art! The gameplay looks like it could turn into something nice post-mortem :)

GigaBass says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:58am

Like said, the camera is sort of awkward, but the graphics are really, really niely done and pretty!

Codexus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Adorable graphics, cool concept!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Not Found
The URL you requested could not be found.
If you fix it, please email me, Jupiter@JupCraft.org so I can include this game in my ld27 compilation video series. Thank you

PixelOaks says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:57am

Thanks for the heads up!

PixelOaks says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:37am

Link has been fixed, thanks Jupiter.

jwolf says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:06am

Wow, it's too bad that you didn't get more done, but this is pretty cool. Very nice cityscape, too! Hope you do more with it later.

PixelOaks says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:51am

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it. We are discussing a possibility of fleshing this out more.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:11am

Hello! Thank you for fixing your link. I did like your game however I was a bit confused by it at first. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WX5erHA1DPE

local minimum says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:28am

Woo that was fun. I think it would have benefited from showing how many buildings you had left (or what the original number was) so that one had a clearer view of how long time it was left on the level. A small bug: some monsters got stuck in the river, but that you might know. And finally it would have been nice if the monsters did some victory dance at the end rather than just stop where they were (just have a tweened empty game objects they can run around after). But in all, great work!

PixelOaks says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:40am

Thanks for the Video Jupiter! Thanks for the feedback Local minimum!

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Nicely made. The 3d shaders work well and so does the style of gameplay. I would have felt a lot more polished with sound effects though. Nice job anyway

PixelOaks says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Thanks!

Jedi says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Like panurge said, it's a really lovely start, but as it is, there isn't very much gameplay.

Beautiful graphics and great mood!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]