August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

LagBird

by leparlon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are lagbird, the more eggs you have on your nest, more laggy will be your controls.
In this game, the bad villain PACKETLOSS made your eggs land on a diferent location, so you have to grab them all. You have 10 seconds to grab each egg before the TIMEOUT.

Remember, eggs will add lag, so choose the eggs you grab wiselly.

I think this is my first ludumdare game that has sound and animations, I had time since I used C2, almost no time spent on programming (was a little less fun, but I enjoyed drawing the animations).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#57Innovation3.90
#94Humor3.43
#289Theme3.45
#322Overall3.30
#336Fun3.20
#415Audio2.78
#417Mood2.90
#455Graphics3.05

Comments

lalanl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:28am

The controls felt nice, and the sounds were funny. When the lag was long, it made me feel a bit drunk and frustrated. Effective concept!

itidus21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:16am

The graphics in this are breathtaking nature scenes.

The concept of the lag greatly increases the challenge and makes the infinite lives all but necessary.

As I played I started to think it's probably a good strategy to get the distant eggs first since the last egg you get will be under the most lag. But it's so tempting to get the nearest ones first.

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Hahaha fun idea, well executed :)

deniska says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Nice concept. It's like controlling rover on another planet, except it's a bird.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Cool idea to play with lags! :D

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Nice Work!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Bringing lag in as an aspect of gameplay is genius. I found the first level doable, but the second was already too hard for me. But then, I suck at platformers of all kinds :)

I love the graphics and subtle sound effects. The really fast retry cycle is great, and that you don't have to walk back out to the eggs if you die on the way back.

Just Tom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Quite, very pretty and bloody frustrating. The good kind though, I kept trying because I felt myself getting better, adding lag bit by bit is a great way to learn a level before being challenged in it!

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Overall a, though short, pretty good game :) nicely done

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Overall a good game :) I like the idea of adding lag, although it makes the game a lot lot harder. Didn't get past level 2 :D

Tipyx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Ah ah ah, excellent frustrating game :D

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47pm

SO HARD! Quite fun game.

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:19pm

This game is awesome! Love the concept of lag! It makes me angry and it makes me laugh! If that even makes sense. :D

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Lag concept is innovative :)

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:44pm

The idea is pretty cool, I like it! I had some troubles with jumping, it seems that you bump off the ground sometimes and you can't jump, what makes it pretty difficult. In any case, nicely done!

immanuela says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:12am

Now this is an idea I've never seen before. I enjoyed playing it! The sound effects were particularly good - I did let LagBird fall down into the pits a few times so hear the bird sound :D

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:53am

Interesting use of lag =]

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Nice concept!

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:57pm

This was the first time I've ever seen lag as a gameplay mechanic. Ruthlessly annoying... but I mean it in a good way. I liked the bird.

Zccc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:31am

Amazing idea, I had fun completing this :D

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:19am

Nice ramping up of the difficulty!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:04am

I love the concept of using lag as a gameplay mechanic. Very innovative! I'd buy a more polished version of this with more scenarios to abuse the lag other than platforming difficulties. :)

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:44am

This is the first time i enjoyed a lag!
I like the way you mind worked, please upgrade your internet connection now!

van noctar says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:56am

Very good game, gameplay is very difficult but it's ineresting, i like the theme!

Foxtacy says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Really good, with some improvements on the graphics, you could make this an interesting game! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]