August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The 91st Parallel

by BMacIntosh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In addition to being a unit of time, a second can also be a unit of measurement - 1/60th of a minute, which is 1/60 of a degree of latitude or longitude. What if the world was suddenly reduced to only 10 square seconds of latitude and longitude? This is what it might look like.

How do you play it? Enjoy the world, and don't get eaten by zombies. The game would have benefited greatly from a lot more content and balancing, but I hope it's interesting in its Game Jam state.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#135Audio3.35
#241Mood3.19
#363Graphics3.22
#668Humor2.05
#749Innovation2.72
#850Overall2.75
#912Theme2.72
#948Fun2.42

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26am

Great audio and gameplay!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53am

"MSVCP100D is missing from you computer"

I want to play this, make it work!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57am

That moving spikes totally hypnotized me :D
Simple but definitely playable!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:01am

Sorry ...that was for other game.

To you:
"MSVCP100D is missing from you computer"
Can not play

bhopkins says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:05am

Great mood and audio! I wasn't really sure what I was supposed to do though, and sometimes the zombies would go right through the fences/walls!

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07am

I got the error as well :<

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40am

Thanks for reporting that, all. I uploaded a new version that should fix it. The new file is "ld27_bmacintosh_2.zip".

Baknik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:15am

Great atmosphere

gritfish says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:46pm

The music is fantastically creepy. Is there a win condition? I couldn't figure out an objective besides running to the far end..

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Nope, no objectives really, other than "stay alive". I focused too much, perhaps, on the world and I was trying to add gameplay in the last few hours.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Oh hey! Were you on IRC while I was telling people about arcseconds, or did you think of it independently.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:59pm

The audio and visuals are very spooky, but I missed the target of the game.

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:02pm

@porglezomp - I don't use IRC, it was one of the first things I thought of when I started thinking about alternate definitions.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:38am

Great entry! I was sold immediately

Infernal says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:58am

Not sure what I was supposed to do. Great music though.

Erifdex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Fantastic entry! The music was a highlight for me - really added to the tension in the game.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Very interesting. I loved the visual effects. The music was quite fitting.

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:22am

neat, more objectives would have been nice, exploring is fun be we need to have a reason

Diptoman says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Great entry. I found it a bit annoying that the weapon we take lasts only for one hit, even if we miss!
But the restricted vision and the music adds to the experience. Great job! Kept on my toes :)

CrossBread says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:06am

Great entry! I would love it even more if the zombies would fall to their demise after I push them over the edge with the shield.

shard123 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Really interesting and awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]