August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Second Samurai

by Mclogenog - Jam Entry

Ten Second Samurai is by Andrew Yoder and Barnaby Smith

Eliminate waves of attacking samurai as quickly as possible to achieve a high score.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#47Fun(Jam)3.63
#94Mood(Jam)3.50
#123Audio(Jam)3.36
#137Overall(Jam)3.46
#179Graphics(Jam)3.68
#196Innovation(Jam)3.20
#208Theme(Jam)3.30
#285Humor(Jam)2.42

Comments

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40am

Nice! But very difficult. The learning curve is very high on the controls. Enemies often just get stuck on rocks, but eventually...I got to them.

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12am

That was tough! I didn't like how quickly I died, no room for error there. But otherwise a neat little game.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:13am

Nice. Learning curve, as the other guy said. Got WAY too difficult WAY too fast.

Infernal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25am

Fun as heck! Almost as crazy as dragging baddies in Diablo 3 :)

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:30am

Really fun game, but those other guys weren't kidding about the difficulty curve :p

moonmagic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02am

Controls feel nice to me. The blood slowly pooling was very nice. Love the colors. Wish that there was a death animation; losing felt very perfunctory. Did pretty well just by slashing madly.

DissidentDan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02am

I think that this concept could work quite well, but there's just not enough to it right now. You can basically spam the mouse button and take everyone out.

carlsommer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Great audio and the controls are very smooth!

Tavibo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:37pm

rly fun game!

DaVince says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Okay, this is freakin' SWEET! I absolutely love the theme you went width (besides "10 seconds" obviously :P) and the gameplay is a ton of fun. The mood on this is great; everything fits!

Now if only you'd introduce a more steady wave of enemies... They all come at you at once now so you get a big challenge for a moment and then some time to spare.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Took me a second to get a hang of the controls, but once I did this was really fun. I got really excited when I killed 3 dudes with one swing.

skywing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:07pm

It has a sort of hotline miami feel with how death works, but the graphics would be perfect if the blood was chunky pixels too instead of circles.

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Stylish, nice execution. Especially liked the way the sword swiped side to side. Special credit on the sound and way you hit your Japanese theme.

itidus21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49pm

My best score was 44 points.

I think the graphics and sound on this game are fantastic. The colour palette is very pleasant to look at and consistant.

So what I noticed is that a few strategy elements gradually start to show themselves. Firstly you can turn quickly by following the character around with the mouse, or if you plan to face in one direction you can put the mouse near the border of the window.

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43am

Good game, but get's boring quickly.
I love the smoothness of animation here c:

urth says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:54am

I loved the Samurai feel.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:39am

That's an interesting game, and very difficult. Good job! :)

cafeine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Zen gardening with a katana. Very well executed, great atmosphere, one of the best entries I've seen so far!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Really nice graphics, and the game made me feel like a bit of a badass. A little bit of polish wouldn't of hurt though, like after you die the game just instantly switches. Other than that very good and enjoyable.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:41am

A nice simple game, with good art and fun gameplay. However, as others have said, the difficulty ramped up way too fast.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:40pm

great job love the style and controls are great. definitely tough but well done.

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Wooow. This looks, sounds, plays amazing. It's criminal there's not better death animations (opponent blood should be pixel-y!)/anything. Like to see the hit detection being more satisfying too.

Great execution on the game though, well done.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:49am

tough cookies! enjoyed it.. like the simple art and direction it headed in.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:36am

Haha this is good fun.
The player death can be more detailed though. I want to see the sword cutting me down... An abrupt game over is not as satisfying!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]