August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bored to Death

by jwin - Jam Entry

Quite the ride! This was our first time doing a team game, one veteran and one newbie, and we're quite happy with how it turned out! We managed to find a workable idea and prototype it by Saturday morning, so were able to flesh out the game Sunday, and spent Monday making it juicy :)

Hope you enjoy Bored to Death!

- jwin & FlyingSquirrel

NOTE: You have to use WASD or arrow keys to navigate the menu, sorry for the confusion.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#42Fun(Jam)3.64
#95Humor(Jam)3.31
#122Innovation(Jam)3.40
#126Overall(Jam)3.48
#132Mood(Jam)3.36
#226Audio(Jam)3.00
#243Graphics(Jam)3.45
#263Theme(Jam)3.15

Comments

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:28am

With a little more polish this would be pretty fun! The controls in the tutorial seem to be inaccurate - it says WASD but WS does nothing and space jumps. The missiles are a little finicky as well, but like I say, with a bit more tweaking this would be a neat little game :)

xrm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:12pm

You should definitely continue this game.

sev_inf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Where else I can ride a missle?! :) I really enjoyed this game, it's really fun! Graphics and sounds are well too. There are some problems with controls, I think, and most of them connected with missle riding. But if you'll polish it a little you'll make a great funny game. So I'm looking forward for a post-jam version from you! :))

fgielow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:15am

haha prettu fun to ride a missile right into some helicopters, would give a good casual game with some power ups and more complex stages!

Zap says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:27am

Missile riding is confusing, so I didn't get very far. But it's pretty fun and I like the concept.
Quite like the simple, blocky art style too :)

gmaker says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:33am

wow! -) really fun game!

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:38am

This is hilarious and entirely too fun. I'd love to see this as a full game, with slightly tighter controls. I love the Everything Is Cubes aesthetic too; the transparent rotating cubes effect is surprisingly pretty when used well! Probably one of my favorite games of the jam.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:39am

I like it a lot! The missle riding is particulary enjoyable. I would also love to play a polished version of the game. But I went ahead and added you to my best of LD27 list anyway because I love the idea and had a good time.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:02am

Fun! A little hard to control though

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:05am

Kinda confusing with the controls. Though I enjoy killing people and planes with the missiles... xD

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:12am

Really interesting gameplay, especially the missile riding. Honestly though, I feel like the 10 second limit really ruins the gameplay, especially since the controls feel so erratic.

Tater_hater says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:48pm

wouldnt load..

GigaBass says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:54pm

THIS!
ONE OF THE FEW GAMES THAT MADE ME SMILE AND TRULY HAVE FUN!
But it was abit short! With a few more mechanics and all this could be an extremely fun and feature-length game!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:56am

Mindless destruction is always fun. I really enjoyed the missile riding.

radmars says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:45am

very fun, love the style. I think the controls need to be a lot tighter though, it feels a bit too hard to control. :(

Darkfrost says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:12am

Nice game! Player movement was way too 'floaty' and getting stuck on walls was a bit annoying imo, but other than that it's great :) Fun blasting myself around with rockets!

shohs says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:15am

Pretty good job. I liked the concept and I thought the art was pretty good too. To me, the gravity seemed a bit weak. Also, after you die I thought that it took too long to respawn; maybe add an option that immediately respawns you? Like some others said, if you tighten up the controls this could be really good.

Metatheos says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:05am

I'd really like to play a further developed version of the game that isn't bound to the requirements of the theme. The mix of firing missiles and also being able to attach to one for mobility shows so much potential. I think the game should be faster overall though. I'd also like to see the missile-physics being more arcade-style for the projectile-version. And finally I think the missile riding should be controlled by mouse, not switch to WSAD after launch.

fferro234 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:13am

Woo I got past the tutorial! I really like the concept. It is just very hard. I think the theme hurts the game cause I just want to go around blowing crap up and flying on missile but can't. I think it would work better if destroying things got you points and how long or quick it takes you to get to the end of the level also gave you points or something.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:19pm

A bit too difficult for me, but this is an all over great entry. Lovely concept, and the graphics look awesome. Very impressive. The title is hilarious, too.

I love how our hero can survive point-blank missile explosions, but boredom kills him.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]