August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Saddest Landscape

by BradleySmith - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explore a world within a filmstrip.

The theme made me think of the old traditional movies in which have a countdown beforehand, this is how I interpreted the theme.

Thank you for playing and for your kind words, the final version will have a solid gameplay mechanic.

CONTROLS: Arrow Keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#5Mood4.22
#16Audio3.95
#23Graphics4.31
#392Overall3.22
#756Innovation2.71
#808Humor1.82
#1009Theme2.56
#1079Fun2.12

Comments

joekinglake says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:11am

This looks great, a compelling small world :-)

Gus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:00am

Yet one of the best games I've played so far
The drawing, the mood.. it's almost perfect
The saddest thing is that isn't complete yet, but I guess you can't make that much in 48h. It would be just impossible.

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:39am

Wow, awesome! dat music, man... DAT MUSIC!

Please, make this project happen. ;D

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Really nicely done, very polished piece of work. Excellent stuff.

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Too bad their isn't really any gameplay. The art and music was nice, but it felt more like a... film?

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Beautiful little game. Loved the filmstrip aesthetic. And a great take on the theme :)

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:44pm

this is amazing, i really look forward to see more of this!

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46pm

looks nice, I like it. Very machinima/limbo inspired :3
What were your inspirations ? ( maybe Unmechanical ? )

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Did you know that if you hold down the UP-key, the character just goes flying of the screen? This is beautifully done, but very, very short and there's no gameplay whatsoever...

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Since I was a big fan of Limbo, I love this style of game. The atmosphere, though bleak was very well done. The film edges were a perfect touch! My only problem was fitting it to the theme, save for the 10 count at the beginning.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52pm

That was a charming little game. Brilliant idea with the film reel lasting 10 seconds, so whatever happens inside can go on for as long for however long you want it. Also nice job experimenting emotions different from the norm.!

immanuela says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:13pm

How do I play the game? It's not opening for me :(

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:16pm

@immanuela what link did you press? o.o try the newgrounds or kongregate link if not you can download the .swf from the "web" link. You might have to wait as there's no pre-loader.

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Very cute. Wonderful graphics and mood, really well done!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Looking forward to see what's next :)

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Oh nice music! Exactly my style. Did something a little bit similar in my game.

charmahal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:20pm

I really like this game! Something I haven't seen before, I thought the overall mood of the game was really good. Almost brought a tear to my eye when the last little guys comment popped up!

Musashi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Great mood and amazing music! Keep the good work!

Draktharr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:55pm

beautiful , but got a weird bug if i pressed the up key and didn't released it, I would jump on the air and go past the screen

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:55pm

It reminds of limbo a bit. It has a nice atmosphere and is a cool idea, you should add to it someday to make it more of a game.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Very fascinating aesthetic you're working with here. Really dug it.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Beautiful, a piece of art.
But no game... yet.
Absolutely love the design though!

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:58pm

As a film student myself, I award you a 5/5 on every category for the awesomeness of going through a filmstrip. However, 10 seconds of filmstrip would be about... 240 frames, taking a standard. For that, I take away my 5/5 on theme and award you a 4/5 because making 240 frames would've been insane and it was a nice concept anyway.
With that said, I shall now retire. Goodbye.

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Really brilliant art and direction, and although it's lacking in game mechanics the little film strip idea opens to a whole lot of game design possibilities

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Visually stunning, and the music sets the music perfectly.
One of my favourite games so far this LD!

bisk8s says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Amazing art and music but I did not get the theme conection.

imef says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Awesome Game! I noticed you can jump in mid-air if you keep the up arrow down.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:28pm

@bisk8s The theme made me think of the old traditional movies in which have a countdown beforehand.. that's how I interpreted the theme. :) Thanks for playing.

kristof says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Awesome esthetics and music (I am still listining to it while I type this ;) ). Please try to finish it.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Wow... simple and moving. The music was simply perfect with the visuals. I stop walking once in a while and have the robots look at the broken robots on the ground...
At the end I wished there was more. I'll check it again if you finish it!

KeithE. says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25pm

wonderful style with great music. One of the more heartfelt LD games I haveplayed. Great job!

Volute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Wow, amazing art !

flyingbear says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:55pm

awesome mood and music!

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00am

Love the music and the graphics, well done!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:03am

Very depressive (in a good way). The art and the music really complement each other, great work.

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:12am

Nice game, very artistic and emotional.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:32am

You're on to something here, I'd love to see this fleshed out. :)
It's like the darker side of the world of Wall-E or something.
The music is superb, really good. When I drove past the dead tree it gave me chills. Good call on letting the music continue to play after the game ends.
Nice interpretation of the theme.
Please continue working on this! :)

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:39am

More of a toy/art thing than a game, and I'm not quite sure what it has to do with the 10 seconds theme if at all, but hey, it's pretty compelling and polished for what it is. Good job.

DWallin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:45am

A great example of the aesthetic first approach. Excellent music and soundtrack fed into great mood and atmosphere. I just wish there was deeper gameplay to back it up!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46am

@Fireblend The theme made me think of the old traditional movies in which have a countdown beforehand.. I wanted to make a world within a filmstrip negative. That's how I interpreted the theme. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:59am

There is no landscape that is sadder than this one. Beautiful music -- well done.

Boodog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:59am

Cool!

lambomang says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:06am

Nice style. Very, very lacking on the game side of things though.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:27am

It's touching. The 10-second countdown was a bit long.

davvblack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:26am

A gorgeous little vignette... I would love to see a full game in this style. The film as a framing mechanism is especially nice.

gravyhands says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:44am

Beautiful mood, the music really helped

Sestren says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:45am

The setting is interesting and I like the mood. It makes me wish there were more to it, though.

Pol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47am

I like the atmosphere a lot :D It's like Little Wheels (http://www.kongregate.com/games/fastgames/little-wheel) mixed with ImmorTall (http://www.kongregate.com/games/Pixelante/immortall).
Looking forward to playing the sequel :D

crashbanito says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:07am

That music with the imagery of a parent robot guiding his little one through a barren landscape is beauty at its finest. I'd love some more of this kind of content.

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:15am

Atmosphere, music, graphics, you definitely nailed it, amazing

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:18am

Great style and take on the theme! want moree ;D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:21am

The visuals and audio made for a great atmosphere. Good Job :0)

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:38am

You nailed the music and the graphics on this! Great job. But I'm not sure how it fit the theme other than the countdown at the beginning? However, I know nothing about film, so could be something thats just beyond my knowledge?

roaet says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:53am

Really captured the atmosphere. Good job!

justi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:42am

Interesting theme, graphic and music in + :) Sad, but i'm waiting for happy ending...

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:44am

Waaay too short... the theme also isn't very heavily applied to this game. Which would be okay if there was more to do with it... too bad. What was there seemed cool.

TravisChen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:47am

Love the idea of playing on a film strip.

Vaughn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:58am

Very moody and atmospheric. Really beautiful audio. Interesting use of the theme. Funny little glitch: hold the jump button for awhile :)

Raiyumi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:20am

Way too short!! But.. I loved the graphics and atmosphere. :)

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:31am

very very cool :)
amazing graphics imo :D

-ENDESGA

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:38am

This reminded of my first Ludum Dare game. Assets, music, but lasts 10 seconds :-) Luckily, this time the theme is 10 seconds, so it fits. Good job! Music's cool.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:51am

Like your theme interpretation. Perfect graphics and audio, excellent mood. Well done.

kannas says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:16am

Very great art and music. i was also surprised to find that the map wasn't static. though simple and short, it was a good experience :)

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:20am

Perfect mood, audio and graphics. I'll eagerly wait for more.

Shugor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:39am

It has some nice graphics and music to set the mood, but there's pretty much no gameplay. :/

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:55am

Really touching mod and nice graphics! Great work :).

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:20am

Very nice mood, graphics and audio.. Too bad there is no real gameplay. I am curios to see where it's going.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:22am

Great atmosphere! Good job, impressive for a compo game.

Tifu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:22am

Really good job at evoking a sad atmosphere, lovely music.

Pixlexia says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:28pm

love the art :D

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Not much of a game, but the aesthetics and mood is amazing.

Mythalore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Very compelling especially with the art and sound!

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Wonderful game, really showing that games are art which i always enjoy.

SneManden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Wow, not much of a game, though it was an emotional and very beautiful experience! But has great potential to become something very great!

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Wow, very moody stuff here.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28pm

I love the graphics and the story is very well presented, it's a shame it couldn't be longer though.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Nice concept, would love to see it expanded.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Moody and atmospheric, way too short.

lazyeels says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:08pm

*Sniff* Why do I feel soooo sad? Well done on the mood, it was a bit limbo-esque, but there is nothing wrong with that. I wanted to learn more as I went along, so points on the fact you made me want to keep on trucking till the end.

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Nice mood, audio and art!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:30pm

"i miss the windows"!! AA) It best! Limbo+Wall-e

zn01wr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Awesome music and drawing, which build a really sad mood. Beautiful world, some interaction would have been better but I guess it would be impossible in just 48h. :-)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Beautiful game, i miss a little bit of gameplay

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:40pm

I love this style of games

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Great moody platformer. The idea is really creative. I enjoy the mood very much, it's really touching... Great job!

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Shame that you couldn't get more in. Looks like a really good start. Would have loved to see how it progressed.

wine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Interesting concept! I look forward to see next part

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Easy small game

kbm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Nice look, limbo-esque. Great job, altogheter. I always jumped through the roof - was that intended?

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Very good graphics! Can't wait to see what's next!

Blizzil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:08pm

The mood is incredible, the sound is awesome and the graphics are beautiful.

Except for the fact that there is very little gameplay, this is a impressive entry!

H-Bomb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Great art, sound, and atmosphere. Way to go !

Static 64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:24pm

The art was good, but it wasn't fun. I'd love to see this as an actual game (possibly with a more upbeat tone), but it's not that great as is.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Very very cool graphics and atmosphere, good job there

fgielow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Nice concept, mood, graphics and well executed.
Just think you could work more the game play and interactions or choices for the player fell more intimate whit the game.
great work for 48 hours

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:03pm

nice done!

mollymus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Stunning graphics and music! I very much enjoyed the mood of this game! Too bad about the lack of game play, loads of potential in here!

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Just lovely. Can't wait to see a full game in this style.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:34pm

great music

sad but beautiful. I liked it

blackotus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:05am

Nice work on the atmosphere, I like how you walk on film frames.
I enjoyed the little interactions when you jump on things too.
Good job!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:16am

Love the theme, the film strip, and the music. Not much fun to be had here, though, am I right?

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:04am

Great concept and good execution. I personally dont think it needed the crutch of the film strip gimmick though. This game could certainly stand on its own and i think it would be more engrossing w/o the film strip overlay. Just my 2 cents. Great entry, regardless.

rylgh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:17am

Very nice, and I like your interpretation of the theme. It doesn't have to be a 10 second round or life, it's just a starting point.

I also found the 'hold the jump button to fly' thing but I actually found it kind of beautiful... the robots flew off the screen and the landscape kept scrolling by, empty.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:10am

Great looking art/music!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:19am

Not much of a game, but excellent art, music and overall atmosphere. Do keep working on this!

Also, this may have been mentioned before, but if you keep Up pressed, the game lets you jump forever.

recursor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:33am

Interesting and very stylish entry, although I wish there was more to do than just move and jump. Graphics are lovely and I really like the piano music. A good start to something really nice.

MatrixBai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:08pm

It's short but well polished. The music is beautiful.

N427 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Not much gameplay but really cool environment and atmosphere! Can't wait to see an expanded version of it!

ratking says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:32pm

The whole presentation is really charming. Would love it would last any longer. Now I feel sad, and can't do anything in the game to stop it.

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:22am

Made me sad (which is good), fantastic job.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:30am

Not much in terms of gameplay, but the art and mood are great. Best thing about it is the music though, absolutely love it.

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:00am

very moody. I love the feel of it

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Interesting take on theme and I like the context.

Zuige says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:00pm

A nice demo! My flash player started spewing out errors once I finished the game though. Might want to fix that. :)

Unept says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Great start! Still can't remember that robot game that this reminds me of. I like the filmstrip motif in-game. Definite potential with that.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Nice concept for something bigger but nothing really going on in this entry

Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:05pm

I really like the graphics/mood in your game.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:43pm

That's a really interesting visual style, I quite like it. Together with the music it adds a really nice mood. I'm not sure the jump-over-the-gaps gameplay fits this game. Maybe some choices instead? Or dialogue?

Codexus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Sorry but using freesound is not allowed in the compo category (especially when the music is such a big part of your entry). Your game should be moved to the jam category where it belongs.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Lovely graphics, very Limbo like in style.

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:52pm

I wish we could see more of this world :(. Awesome art!

manuq says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:39pm

You came into a nice mood. I hope that mood inspires you to develop a playable game with things to do. Wish you luck!

oxysoft says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:51pm

humor 5/5

holding jump key makes you fly up and to the sky!

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Not really a game, but the concept and the mood achived are perfect. With a more work this could become a nice interactive graphic novel/storyboard.

Zephyr89 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:30am

Well... As a story the is place great. However as a game it fails on the fun front. ;)

haloflooder says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:46am

I really miss drawing and animating on flash. Flash will always have better animation compared to HTML5. This reminded me of that flash game with the same atmosphere and the style is almost the same.

Purplescape says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:33pm

It's so sad but really well made. Great style!

Jesse Freeman says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:27am

Great mood, looking forward to what you do next with it.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:14am

Nicely done, sort of a really a good sad mood, but thats exactly what youre going for. I cant wait to see whats next. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WX5erHA1DPE

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:23pm

I'm really excited to see where you go with this. I like that you took inspiration from the 10 seconds theme, but didn't force it into the gameplay. Really solid entry despite how short it is.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:11pm

no gameplay but beautiful graphics and nice atmosphere and piano play.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:44am

Nice setting and mood :)

shard123 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:54am

Amazing art, sound, and atmosphere, I can't wait to see more!

Sep 12, 2013 @ 1:02am

Really beautiful! I want to see the continuation of this game :D

xhunterko says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:42am

Pretty graphics. Nice sound track. Very dark story. Except I don't see the theme connection in a 10 second countdown to start. I half expect the stage to peel away behind you and you couldn't go back. Maybe it did and I missed it. But still, I think you may have been able to re-think the theme use a bit.

Boneloaf says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Strong atmosphere, liked the jumping animation, story made us sad for the poor little robots.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]