August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10SecTD

by joekinglake - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A 10 second tower defense game. Every 10 seconds the difficulty ramps up! Enjoy!

I'm a games designer by day and have done lots of jams before but this was my first games jam where I did everything myself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#209Graphics3.54
#231Fun3.35
#246Overall3.40
#318Audio2.96
#566Mood2.71
#752Theme2.94
#926Humor1.54
#1067Innovation2.15

Comments

gigitrix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48am

If the aiming issues were fixed this'd be a pretty stylishly done TD. As is it has issues and is a little bit lacking in features but it's Ludum Dare, that's to be expected!

drilla_killa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43am

agreed - will be a sweet game when the turret aim is fixed...

joekinglake says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:27pm

It seems like the cause of the buggered turrets is a few simply mis-calculated variables. As per the rules I will submit a minor change later with some non-sleep deprived and up to date variables in :-) Thanks so much for the feedback so far.

pbdiode says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Awesome -- had a little issue with some of the towers not aiming at some of the enemies I thought they should be, but otherwise it was a pretty slick game!

I really liked that the enemies basically regenerated, and that their health was indicated by their relative size.

Great job! I'd love to see this game fleshed out!

cschwartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Nice tower defense game. I liked both graphic and sound.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Very good for your first entirely-self-made game :)
The only issue I had with it is that it's quite laggy (I'm on Firefox on Mac), and it hangs for like 1/3sec every time I click a turret (on the field and in the 'shop')
Other than that, everything's very good :)

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Very solid game. I'm a big fan of the graphics

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Liked the neon style graphics.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Very well designed and thought out game. You've hit the sweet spot on the addictive quality that keeps players engaged that is ever so hard to achieve. 5* for fun.

charmahal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43pm

I absolutely love TD Defense games and this one in my opinion is pretty darn good. Personally I like how the turrets don't shoot where the enemies are going as it makes it so you have to place the turrets strategically!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Nice! Challenging and satisfying. The blue turrets didn't seem shoot anything, but I still had fun.

goyal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:15am

It hanged my browser. The 'blue' gun doesnt seem to do anything. Its beautiful though.

reostra says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:15am

Played nicely, a bit unforgiving at first but then I've got tons of money to play with. Bullets often miss(!), and I don't think the slow tower did anything.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:07am

Nice little TD aside from a few bugs. The orange turrets seemed to stop shooting after I placed enough of them. The blue ones seemed to do nothing. Other than that, its a nice and elegant TD :)

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:31pm

I'm probably the worst TD player in the world, but I loved this, specially the art style. I love geometric forms!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:15am

Not bad! Found it really fun, bullets, bullets everywhere!

The game was bit to the easy side though, I could put so many turrets enemies had nearly no change to get through on any wave.

Really nice graphics and sounds, good work!

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Difficulty scales a lot at some point like 20+ waves (was not counting)? Overall I liked it! Nice game, reached wave 32! :P
could have used an ending screen :D
Nice job!

joekinglake says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:30pm

@rzfmzn - there should be an ending screen. I put it in last minute though so i guess i broke it :-(

Thanks for playing everyone and for the feedback, it's been so helpful!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Graphics were cool and the game was fun!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:54pm

The graphic style really goes well with the game. Pretty solid game, too.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Nice tower defense. Very polished. Liked the animations. Sound was a bit repetitive after a while tho.

The difficulty was a bit too easy for me (I'm not an expert TD player but have played a few.) until I got to wave 28 where the difficulty really ramped up which killed me instantly.

I had a lot of money right after the first few waves which is fun in one way, but it missed one of my favorite aspects of TD games, optimizing your build based on your resources, since I had enough money all the way through I didn't get the feeling of success after finally finding a layout that works.

Also I think it would be nice to be able to replay from the last wave if you mess up.

All in all, very well made and fun game. It kept me playing for quite a while! :)

doonay21 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Very nice game! I mad it up to 32 level, there should be some ending screen :) Good job!

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Good job! I found that the orange hexagons and green circles were a bit to challenging for the tower that you got. Also, it was very hard to use strategy because towers would randomly shoot at different enemies and not the first enemy in line. Still a great game with a nice touch of graphics. *Cyber-five* for also making a tower defense game like me!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Nice TD, good difficulty (even if I didn't manage to finish yet :D)

laserbeam says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Cute, but it lags incredibly hard on a latest gen macbook pro. Quite unplayable. The sonunds are also very annoying after a while. The game itself however :) is quite ok.

Erhune says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:16pm

BRING IT ALL!!! Sweet little TD. The connection with the theme could have been a bit stronger, but the game is fun, and that's what matter most!

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Cool Game really fun to play.
I like the background track together with the sound of the towers. A really cool drummachine.
Graphics is simple and clear!

Cryovat says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Yikes, things to nutty in the end. I was going to remark that it was a bit on the easy side, but then the last waves happened! D:

For 48 hours, this is a very polished (and fun) TD game. I like the simplicity (unlike most, I'm not a fan of upgrades), the graphics and the ambient music. Great job! :)

tigerj says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:24am

I love TD! nice job, bullets seem to need some shorter range for more strategic challenge.

Really great work here! polished entry.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]