August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

11 Seconds

by TheJackiMonster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

11 Seconds:

- Movement: W, A, S, D
- Change Player: SPACE
- Respawn: R
- Previous Level: BACKSPACE
- Back to Menu: ESCAPE

It's a puzzle game with powerups and a time limit of 10 seconds. You also could add levels dynamicly with ".png"-files.

Powerups:

- Clock: Resets the timer to 10 seconds
- Hat: Freezes the timer
- Monocle: Allows you to warp 2 fields per step
- Covering: Allows you to break damaged walls

Please enjoy! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#295Humor2.74
#383Fun3.13
#392Theme3.33
#529Overall3.08
#613Audio2.44
#749Innovation2.72
#759Mood2.47
#787Graphics2.51

Comments

Khopa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:20am

I like how you extended the classic "sokoban" game with power ups, the time limit also make the game a lot more challenging and interesting. Good work ;)

but ...

I'm surprised that you just used java.awt (i gave a look at your code), why not using a game library ? It would have spared you a lot of work if you had used Lwgl, Libgdx or Slick.
Awt is not really optimized for real-time rendering, and your game suffers of it.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:28am

@Khopa: I know Lwjgl and Libgdx, but I didn't want to use it, because I really wanted to make a game in 48 hours only by myself... and thanks ;)

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:59am

Awesome game incorporating the theme into a puzzle game resulting in a challenge to think quickly.
Also introducing more mechanics over time makes it gradually more difficult and brings even more joy :D. Keep up the good work.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Nice execution of the classic sokoban game. I'm a sucker for these, so of course I enjoyed it. Good job! It seems there are plenty of puzzle games this time around.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Classic. :) Very good! The sound effects may be a bit annoying and the graphics could do with a bit of work but hey it's still fun classic sokoban with a twist. :)

Burhuc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Challenging and fun little puzzler. Good work!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Nice work! Nice touch to the sokoban classic hehehe

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Fun little game. I like puzzle game and the time limits add to the challenge.

nek says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Web version doesn't work for me.
Gives "bplaced.net Zugriff verweigert, Fehler 403. Sorry, access forbidden, error 403. Contact service provider"

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:23pm

@nek I'm sorry for that, but I don't know why it doesn't work for you... Thanks for report!

nek says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Web version doesn't work for me.
Gives "bplaced.net Zugriff verweigert, Fehler 403. Sorry, access forbidden, error 403. Contact service provider"

Ok. The downloaded one works well so here is my short review.

I like your game. The combination of sokoban mechanics with powerups and two characters puzzles really works.
There are some glitches and game becomes suddenly very hard (the puzzle where one of the characters is surrounded with four clocks) otherwise it's a solid gaming experience.

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45pm

The controls are horrible, sorry, playing this from a MAC and I have repeat key presses disabled, which means I have to mash keys like crazy to move around, not cool. Also that sound you hear every time you move is very very tiering, I'd rather play the game without sound than hear that constantly. A bad interface makes for a bad experience and although the game itself is quite ok :) playing it is not :(.

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46pm

This was actually pretty fun, I didn't realise just how long I'd been playing it for... Good job! :)

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48pm

nice idea :)

Todnut says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Nice! Fun puzzles! Game pauses for me lots when sounds are played.

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Web version wasn't working for me - Download version works fine.

The character looks quite funny :P The sfx for walking are a bit strange, but apart from that, a solid recreation of sokoban with enhanced functionality =)

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:27pm

My security options are blocking the game, so I can't play...

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32pm

@Reaperguy: So.. then change them or download it... because I can not change these options.. :|

blay09 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Nice little game and quite challenging, especially when it comes to controlling more than just one player. Well done!

Morgawr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Nice little entry. Gameplay was challenging and fun, audio was snappy. Didn't understand why it's called "11" seconds but fun nonetheless ;)

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:27pm

well done. The music at the start was awesome, and at times the game got pretty intense

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:07pm

@Morgawr: If you finish the game, you have to look at the timer.. ;)

Jacic says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Very nice game, and great use of powerups!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]