August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SecondsXsecondS

by SaintHeiser - Jam Entry

This is a super-hardcore game. 10 seconds of abilities for 10 seconds of worldlife.
You must complete 10 levels, but you have 10 seconds total of combination of various abilities. Which needed? Only your choose.
Just build yourself, explore levels and have fun!


CONTROLS

In Action menu:
Arrows left/right - move cursor
Z - choose ability
X - cancel last ability

In Game menu:
Arrows left/right - move
Arrow Up - jump
Z - use ability from queue
X - restart level

I haven't time for good design. So first levels more polished than furher. But leveldesign built well. All levels are beatable.

UPDATE 1.1 (****GAME ARCHIVE WAS REPLACED****)
- fixed few typos
- fixed main menu
- fixed voice on abilities
- second level beatable now
- fixed bad visibility of background platforms
- fixed colour in second location

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#21Innovation(Jam)3.90
#38Overall(Jam)3.85
#46Theme(Jam)3.73
#118Audio(Jam)3.38
#123Fun(Jam)3.35
#158Graphics(Jam)3.75
#223Mood(Jam)3.11
#296Humor(Jam)2.39

Comments

Cotton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Great! Idea is good...

JHollands says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:54am

Love the idea.

link2x101 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:58am

An interesting entry. Great (though quite difficult) gameplay. Many typos and off grammar, but not terrible.

Again, fantastic gameplay. It's one of those games where you'll have to let yourself die/restart and build a better list of items.

Nice work.

murilo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:20am

Just brilliant, man! But I thought it was a little frustrating after many tries. But yeah, I guess you did warn on the description :) "super hard core".

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:59am

I really like this game! :)
The powerup system is IMO really innovative.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:04am

Awesome take on the idea!

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:06am

This had an interesting replay value. Very good.

madk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:18am

Wow the second level is just unfair. The level design is bad and has too many leaps-of-faith that like to end in spikes. Awesome looks and idea, just needs more polish.

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:14am

Great, the concept based on 10 seconds is smart, never would of thought of it.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:52am

2madk
Oh shit! I agree, second level is slightly less than unbeatable. I'll fix it in few days with typos. As rules allow...

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:50am

the second level is .... wow. Need a bit more polishing but great game and nice idea

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:52am

Incredibly polished! The way you use just snippets of what would be god-like abilities in other platformers to solve puzzles is super clever. Nice touch in the game remembering the loadout you chose last time, though I think if it showed you on-screen, it would mean the play wouldn't need to memorise as much info.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:14am

Nice! But very difficult...

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:09pm

awesome idea! i love it. awesome gameplay and graphics!!! good job!!

Starspell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:03pm

I've never given 5 stars in everything before. Congrats! I'm still suck on the second level, that last jump... I'll be trying to beat it for hours though! :D

I love everything about this game. The concept is original, fun and completely understandable and accessible. The platforming is tight, sensitive and rewarding. The powers are well thought out and fun to use.

The graphics and audio are great too, however sometimes I had difficultly telling the difference between what was and was not a background platform - it really isn't clear.

As for the difficult - it's obviously challenging, but I believe it is fair. It make you think about your power-up choices and exactly when to use them.

All in all, great game, great concept, great entry.

vrld says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Very great concept, graphics and sound are top notch. But restarting each level from the beginning when I failed because I didn't choose the right ability felt a little unfair.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:11pm

That's certainly some good innovation there. Love the perfect action and puzzle mix.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Updated game with fixed typos. Second level also become beatable.

Starspell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Oh yeah - wanted to also say thank you for putting in the auto-remember list of power-ups chosen last time. Fantastic idea and extremely helpful.

raoz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:05pm

ervion: Wow, nice combitation of puzzle, action and strategy! Difficult? - Yeah, but a true game totally needs to be challenging...

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Interesting idea, but frustrating execution - fails the Super Meatboy standard of difficulty without frustration. That said, looks and sounds good. If there was a better difficulty curve or a way to preview the map, I'd be very interested in playing this.

VoxPlacitum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42pm

A little too difficult for my liking but really cool idea and great overall look.

HD408 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Hardcore, that is! You'd better specify when exactly you update the archive. It seems that I've played the outdated version, and still I've got through the game, so it was not impossible.

The game was good enough, but felt slightly overloaded: invisibility is totally worse than immortality (while timeout does almost the same, gameplay-wise), and there are no places where you really need the high speed ability. But - good work with everything else, and the audio, too.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Fantastic idea! Very well presented. I found it a bit difficult - but I guess thats the point. I was also never sure which powerups to bring along. Maybe some sort of preview of the level would be nice so you can make a plan?

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Very good game. Excellent work.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:40pm

good job

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Wow impressive game, really well done! At first I though it would be frustrating to restart every time but turned out to be quite fun because it push you to master the level and speed run it.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:42pm

I am astonished, I can't belive how in such a short amount of time you did such a long, well thought and super enjoyable game.

Every single level was very well designed and each one was a puzzle completely different, the gameplay is very original and works perfectley, overall It was one of the best entries I've played, honestly.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:00am

Great job

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:14pm

This was really fun but got quite frustrating!

Solifuge says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:04am

Fantastic platformer, with great art and sound. I love the puzzle and planning elements, and this is easily one of the most complete-feeling entries I've played. As critiques, here are some Game Design type things to consider for the future:

1) The player has no way to predict what powers they'll need for the level. Also, there seems to be only one "Solution" to the levels. As a result, the game plays as more of a Trial And Error/Guessing Game. Offering multiple paths, and being able to scroll across the level during the planning stage would boost the strategic/puzzle gameplay considerably. Alternatively, let players pause and activate their powers as they go through the level, so they don't have to keep on restarting. That gets frustrating after a while.

2) Ease into the difficulty. Try to construct levels in such a way as to teach the gameplay and uses of abilities over time, in an organic way.

3) Consistency: sometimes the background ledges could be stood on. Sometimes they couldn't. Breaking consistency like that is frustrating; players are basically learning the rules the game operates on as they play it... but when things like that change with no reason to it, it's like the game is "breaking the rules" on players.

Fantastic work, I had a blast playing this. Polish it up and sell it on Steam or something; it's definitely good enough!

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:13am

This was really awesome! imo the most unique use of the theme.

Capro says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Great game! I like it.

JD557 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Incredible game. Innovative and challenging.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Really awesome game. Running through the level activating all the right abilities at the right moment when you need them only using one button felt pretty bad-ass. :D

VDZ says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:25pm

This game is far too hardcore for me to finish in a single sitting. Could you make a post-LD version with a level select/save/password system so people don't have to repeat all of the previous levels if they want to play a specific level?

As for the game itself, well, other people have said it all already. This marks the second time I've ever rated an LD game 5/5 in all applicable categories (first time being your LD26 entry)...I really need to check out your other games sometime.

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:54am

2VDZ
Thanks!
I already working on full version of this game =)

Cosr says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Really cool, love the concept, though it's reliance on trial-and-error really does bring it down somewhat.

The issue is the way the game requires you to choose the correct ability for a given situation before even knowing what obstacles are ahead. The design requires the player to just throw themselves in blind until they encounter a roadblock, then restart and bring the ability that will let them past it. Then they encounter the next roadblock and repeat. And again, and again, and again. This leads to repetition where the player is not learning skills or improving at the game, just trying things until they find what the game wants. This leads to frustration and such.

Much of the initial difficulty comes from the fact that players will generally not have the mere capability to overcome an obstacle when they first encounter it, so will fail through no fault of their own. As opposed to having the capability to overcome an obstacle when they first encounter it and having to retry because they just weren't good enough. I personally gave up on level 3, when it started requiring trickier timing and platforming abilities in combination with the trial and error.

I like how the abilities lend the levels to being more like puzzles, but with no foreknowledge the player is very unlikely to have an appropriate ability the first time it's needed, meaning the solution can only be found through the aforementioned trial and error. So, bad puzzles. Doing something like showing the player an overview of the level before they select abilities (or while they select), would go a long way. This would allow the player to plan ahead and prepare, give them a sense of which abilities might get them through the level, and allow them to tweak their ability set when it doesn't work out until they get a solution that works for them, emphasizing the puzzley nature.

In retrospect I think Solifuge got at a lot of what I'm trying to say in his suggestion #1, only a bit more succinctly.

I did like the game though, possibly more than my critique lets on (gave a pretty good rating for what it's worth).

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Really cool game. Like most of the other people who have commented, I found the game to be incredibly challenging. In spite of not finishing, I really enjoyed the game a lot. Definitely develop this further.

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 8:47am

2Cors
I know and think about that issues. I'll do something to decrease frustrating but not level preview. It's imitation of real life. You never know what's ahead and should plan your actions based on just your experience and intuition. This game also about some exploration =) So I'll think about partial level preview =)

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:42pm

really innovative and very polished! good looking too, and very challenging. that feeling of slowly memorising the whole stage is great, and the fact that you made so that all abilities comes in the order you used them when you restart is perfect, really helps a lot and prevents it from being frustrating. great work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]