August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Poppy vs. the Night

by SecondDimension - Jam Entry

UPDATE: Our game does not seem to work on Safari. We don't know why, it appears Apple hates us. We're sorry.
-----------------------------------------------------------
Made in 72hrs by a Team of 3, Adam D, Adam S and James C.
All Gameplay, Art, Sound & Music made by us during the Ludum Dare weekend

THE SHORT VERSION:

Hello! This is our LD27 Jam Entry, "Poppy vs. the Night".
We toyed with the idea of calling it 'Snooze', but I guess we were a bit worried that sounded boring. Anyway the game is playable in a browser, click the link to give it a try, all instructions should be displayed in game. Thanks for giving it a go!

*****

THE LONG VERSION
Hello Again! This is our LD27 Jam Entry, "Poppy vs. the Night".
Adam D: Programming, Design, Art Support
Adam S: Music, Sound, Writing, Programming Support
James C: Lead Artist, Design

Our game is a fairly traditional top-down shooter, with a few building elements and stages limited to 10 seconds (for reasons that will become apparent during the amazing written story). It's based around a kid, Poppy, and her dreams. You basically fight a nightmare creature from a poster on her bedroom wall, plus a load of random stuff. There is also some mini tower defence in there too. Below are some hints & tips on how to play the game.

EVEN LONGER VERSIONS
Friends, Romans, Countrymen, Game-Jammers. Here is a mostly complete instruction manual:
~Controls: Basically WASD to move, Mouse to aim and Left Mouse button to fire
~Basics: Shoot the enemies, avoid getting hit by the enemies
~Overall Goal: You will Keep Encountering a Boss. Shoot him and wear down his health. His health is consistent through out each playthrough so you have to kill him bit-by-bit.
Pickups: There are some balloons with weapon pickups on. Get them, as they are pretty cool and will help you destroy stuff. Most weapons just fire like you'd expect, except the rockets, which home in on the mouse cursor.
~Building: There will be a regular build phase; this is laughably simple, and involves you being able to place either a barrier with left mouse, or a turret with right mouse. These will help you defend against the enemies in the next stage. Towards the end of the build phase, you can stand on a tiny powerup, you will collect it when the next attack phase starts.
~More Building: The small shadow creatures will destroy your barriers and turrets. There is nothing you can do about this, bad luck.
~Boss: Just keep shooting this guy, and avoid his bullets.
~Winning: When you kill the boss, you get a load of points. There is a high score table, so basically just try to get on it.
~Bugs: If you find any, please ignore them. They are a feature. Thanks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#42Fun(Jam)3.64
#45Overall(Jam)3.80
#50Audio(Jam)3.69
#75Theme(Jam)3.62
#88Mood(Jam)3.53
#100Graphics(Jam)4.00
#152Innovation(Jam)3.30
#210Humor(Jam)2.76

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Excellent game, good work.

immanuela says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:29am

Great game! Good graphics and the sets of rounds make you want to keep playing. Good work!

blopit says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:34am

Very nice!

Raiyumi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:34am

Really good game , I did not expect to see a boss and building mechanics.

mtrc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:37am

Stellar audio and art work. Really loved the setting and the idea of cycling stages. 10 seconds made it hard to gauge hat was going on, but that's not your fault! Loved it.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38am

Really enjoyed this. The menu screen looked great as well.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43am

It's great fun! nice job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:54am

Thanks everyone, I'm glad you liked the audio as I'm pretty proud of it (did that all from scratch over this weekend)
Thanks for mentioning the menu screen too, I know someone on our team who will be very happy to read that!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:58am

Only one word: THISGAMEISTOTALLYAWESOME!

Fervir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:58am

This game is really cool.
I really like aesthetic that you have going on

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:01am

Wow. That was pretty intense. It took me a couple rounds to really figure out what I was doing, but once I got the hang of it, it was quite fun. Like others, I thought the music really stood out. Nicely done.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:04am

Jaw dropping amazing! 5 stars all the way!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:32am

This is fantastic, the constant switching between gameplay styles livens things up no end. Not to mention that it looks and sounds amazing. A great entry.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:02am

Awesome mix of modes =D

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:01am

Super hard core theme interpretation. It was hard but I liked the art. It would probably help if the transitions between phases were sliiiightly longer to allow for mental shift between the modes. Good job.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:21am

Nice one!

Love the character-deign. OF COURSE she has her own death-robot :)

Starspell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Unfortunately the game lagged on my computer very badly so it was pretty unplayable. What I did manage to see was pretty interesting though.

rxi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:13pm

I loved the contrast between the intro and the rest of the game. How we jump from "Hey.. you're... dreaming.." to a strobe light of action.

Nice one.

killmonday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Fantastic story to the gameplay, awesome top notch with the sounds and mechanics! Teddyy!

Cryunreal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:33pm

sorry for that short)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Neat game. The art is really well done. It felt really frantic to me, but I think that was the point. I had a bug where my character just keept moving downward no matter what direction I pressed.

- Strega

(this is a team account)

JLeybovich says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Awesome job guys :D

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Nice game - liked the theme usage

robb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Who would've thought that Michelangelo would get April...

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Fun idea, great pixels and nice details such as the pointer etc.

GFM says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53pm

I felt the game is lacking feedback when you hit things/are hit. Particle, a louder sfx or flickering would have helped... Also, the hitbox was too big (or the lack of response made me mistake it).

Great idea and theme interpretation, though! :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Thanks for the kind words everyone

@GFM - I agree about the feedback, I made sure there were particles and a sound effect, but with everything else happening it's hard to notice. It's one thing that I wish we'd had time to do, we kept trying screen shake but it wasn't really working.

@Wertle - Yes I think that's fair about the transitions, I think it's just that when you play your own game so much over a weekend then you know what to expect

@Starspell - Really sorry about the lag, think it is probably a combination of the looped collision checking and the many particle effectss. Low powered or older processors may have a bit of trouble I guess.

@CosmicAdventureSquad - That is weird browser bug that happens if you click outside of the window whilst moving. It usually corrects itself within a few seconds. Still, sorry!

@robb - All the text says is that Michelangelo obtained that high score in April. I'll let you make of that what you will...

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:42pm

... Also my best score is 7080

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:14am

Fun stuff, I dig the music. Props for having a high score table!

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:14am

I love the art and the frenetic pacing. The ending made me laugh!
I didn't realize the first time that my health carried between rounds, and I got careless! I'm glad that this game has a persistent goal, it gave me a greater reason to play the rounds well and keep pushing forward.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:12am

I like how every elements of the game are objects from Poppy's room.
You made a real complete game, with different weapons and different game modes.
Music are really nice, the one form the menu reminds me of Sebastien Shuller.

wine says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Epic! Great work )

GagaPete says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Very well done game. I love this tower defense stage, even if I have no clue what the turrents to. I like the mechanics and the graphics are awesome. Why is there no fullscreen option? :)

Catmoo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Was really fun to play and great that you incorporated three different game segments into one, also it was nice with the little tower defence gameplay to be among the other two as it gave you a little bit of a breather.

Also gotta love those turtles!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:27am

Awesome audio, you are right to be proud!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:06am

I liked it the multiple powerups and the shifting of modes kept it fast paced and fresh. Felt like a total boss firing missles and shotgunning at the same time haha. Nice work.

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:48pm

A very good game. Maybe one of the best game I've seen so far in term of graphics IMO.
I really like the mix between a Tower Defense and a Shoot them up in the "they are coming" phase,
I found the 10 seconds transition a bit rough, you are in plain action and everything suddenly stops. I have no idea how you could have improved that but it needs some sort of nice transition in term of gameplay.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Yeaaaah 5430 I almost die near the end ! Very good entry, it's fast and we shoot things and there's music and all !

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:03am

Excellent game! Love the mode changes.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:13am

good job

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Woah, I have to admit I have NO idea what was going on there - "ohh, shooting things! No wait, building something? No wait.. boss fight! Um... wut!" (Perhaps this was just trying to jam the "10 seconds" thing in there?) but damn, it was certainly a rollercoaster ride... Fantastic game design - excellent sounds and consistent aesthetic.

domrein says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:09pm

This game is insanity. I actually like a lot of what's going on here, but the 10 second switches are really jarring.

foumart says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:13am

So beautiful! Thank you for that experience :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:27am

good use of the theme and great idea with the different stages -- i loved it

blackotus says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:11pm

I like the gameplay variety and the different kinds of weapons you can get.

I really like the boss design :)

The tower defense segment felt a little out of place in my opinion.

Great game!

Blooperly says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:22am

Super great! Very polished, though a little too hectic for my taste. But I guess that is what you have to do with 10 seconds :P

Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Lovely graphics! :)

Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Very polished game, everything about it looks professional. Good job!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Very cool entry! I like everything that is dream reltated and this game is no exception.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Ooo, cool frontend!

Really nice game, I didn't feel rushed or get confused with controls, the layout give you time, and explain it really well. The art and music is cute and suits the game well.

Really good job! :)

zanval says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Wow! love the art, the gameplay, the three playing modes, the music, the sound effects, just everything. This game is hard! Really enjoyed it!

panurge says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Excellent. The story-telling was concise but evocative, the visuals and sound matched the mood perfectly and the gameplay was varied and fun. Very enjoyable!

meszka says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Nice art style and mood. Interesting gameplay ideas. Not sure if the 10s phases work all that well with this game, sometimes it felt like the time was up just when I started doing something cool.

motty says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:13am

A solid, quality effort.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:09pm

the dream beast.. great play on concept nice work guys!

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:46am

Good game.
But it should be a bit slower.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:52pm

I really liked this! Was fun to switch between the game modes and have the meta goal of beating the boss. Well done game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]