August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sky Trader

by dekart - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Become the captain of the sky ship, visit all floating islands, fight against sky pirates, and earn the honor to join the Sky Guild!

How to play:

* Control your ship with ARROWS or AWSD
* Aim & shoot with mouse
* Press ENTER to dock on stations
* Buy & sell goods for profits
* Don't forget to refuel - each fuel can lasts only 10 seconds
* Buy new ships for better performance and cargo capacity

Main Goal: destroy the pirate base in the middle of the map.

What do you think about the game? Please let me know - your feedback is very important for me!

P.S. The game was made with HTML5, JavaScript, and pixi.js

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#88Graphics3.92
#372Overall3.24
#439Fun3.06
#465Mood2.84
#492Innovation3.05
#592Humor2.18
#904Audio1.60
#1177Theme1.68

Comments

tigerj says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:52am

I'm not seeing the theme so that was really the only low mark. I'd love to hear some sound. I hope you continue this game after LD27. I'm a big fan of shooters and economics.

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:59am

Cool concept :D
Love the gameplay style and the graphics ^^

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:42am

Great work! I'm not a big fan of trading games, but if I were I'd play this through to the end (and it looks like there's plenty of gameplay time available).

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25am

Nice game! Lots of enemies though. Maybe you could limit the number of enemies on screen? I didn't really see how this fits the 10 second theme though.

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33am

Perhaps, given the sheer number of them and the small amount of time in which you can spar with them, the pirates should be a bit squishier.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:40am

The ships and isles look great and the trading felt very Port-Royale-y, which is great as well.

The theme was somewhat implemented, but the game wasnt really built around it, so that is the only negative.

rephus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:49am

Interesting mix of concepts, I like the sprites and the animations. It will be helpful if you add a life bar to the enemies, at least for the pirate base. Good work.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:54am

Nice concept and nice work! I like the graphics a lot :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:08pm

It's fun.. I like this control of a plane! :D

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:09pm

I liked it, but I couldn't find how to finish the game..

gre says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Very good graphics, gameplay and game concept :) Would have loved a few parallax effect on the clouds but that's still a 5-star graphics :)

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Yes the graphics are stunning. Miss the theme but the idea is really cool!

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Great mix of genres and awesome graphics ! Good job

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Nice art and good mechanics. Pretty weak implementation of theme in my opinion, but it is present (fuel cans last 10 seconds). The pirate behavior was a little exploitable - you can just hover outside of their follow range and shoot them without any reaction from them. Desperately needed audio. Overall, pretty fun to play with a good amount of depth added with the trading system, just needs some more polish.

crashbanito says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:54pm

I really liked the art on those ships. Very clean and professional. I was able hover out of range of the pirates and take pot shots out of them which is a little exploitable.

This is a game that really could have used some audio to go with it. Coming from a guy who isn't much of an audio guy myself, I'd recommend using WolframTones and SFXR to generate some random beeps and boops for your next project.

VagabondEx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:34pm

This is a lovely game, but it doesn't seem to be aligned with the theme too much.
Nonetheless, I like it, and will play with it for a while to kill those pirate bases :)

GagaPete says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38pm

This game looks awesome but it trading simulations isn't really my genre. Another point is that the theme is quite hidden.

grayhaze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Really nice graphics and a good trading mechanic, but not really related to the theme. Impressive result in the short time though!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Good job, nice game :)

InfN555 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Not sure how this applies to the theme.
It's good fun to work out how to win, but after that it just becomes a grinding process to get money for the next ship.

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:14pm

I like the idea. There is a small problem with enemies. I can shoot on them from a distance and they don't care = don't move. Makes it really easy to kill them all.

proc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:23am

Hold ten thing and fuel last 10 seconds, passable for the theme but I had to really look. I destroyed the big flying base thing, no end to the game? The enemies are hard unless you creep to them and so they don't activate as people have said. Perhaps have the AI respond if they are fired upon as well as proximity? I liked it!

LemonTree says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29am

Looks good! But I don't see theme here.

LittleThor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:46am

Nice graphics and interesting concept. Need more of the "ten second thing" to realy fit the theme, like an effective ten second time to fly between two towns.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:43am

Cool idea and funny graphics with the flying stations.

Dew says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Nice concept for a steampunk game but missed the theme T_T

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:35am

Oh that was nifty. I love dogfighting and trading, so putting the two into one game certainly appeals to me. If you keep working, it'd be cool to make exploration a bigger art of the game, for example, making it necessary to explore different parts of the map to find different resources.

Makio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:48pm

lovely graphism and inertie on the control but I m so bad at trading :(

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Nice game, it was possible to kill the boss easily with the second ship by hovering just out of range and shooting for a while. After that I wasn't very motivated to hoard enough money for the last ship :-P

The mechanic reminded me a bit of Escape Velocity, one of my favorite games as a child.

canvapps says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:22am

wow! impressive for just two days
great work!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Cute graphics! I love the game and how one interacts with other cities! Pretty impressive. I featured it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ksgU2Iicu2g

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Fine game but it is so far from the theme

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:47pm

graphics were top notch -- no sound which was a shame -- nice effort

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Exceptionally fun to play :)

Once I found an industrial city and a cultural city really close, I shuttled backwards and forwards 'til I could upgrade my ship.

You can shoot the enemy without them reacting if you are far enough away.

There tends to be rather a lot of enemy around sometimes.

someone says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:42pm

That was cool, good work.
I did miss the main objective as it wasn't specified in game or anywhere on the page. The game doesn't seem to have a victory condition anyway... Just killed the boss from a safe distance.
Also enter wasn't a great choice for the trade key. It doesn't seem to have anything to do with the theme either.

panurge says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Excellent game - lovely polished style and the mechanics worked really well. It was like a pared down 'Pirates!' and very enjoyable to play.

Minor quibbles: tenuous link to the theme and a poor choice of key for entering cities (the player has to take their hand off the mouse or keys to hit enter - space would have been preferable).

Altogether, a really strong entry. Nice work!

Latcarf says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Very good graphics and very good game!

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:43am

First time, I got destroyed in less than 10 seconds and realized it wasn't a shooter.
I really like the mood you created with those floating cities, and all the ships flying around. I went till the first upgrade of my ship. I found trading a bit tough since price were changing maybe too much from one visit to another. But I globally liked the experience.

jay griffin says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Very cool piece of work, and an awful lot of game there for a 48 hour entry. Love the visual style, it looks and feels nicely polished all round. Just wish there was a little audio to go with it.

blay09 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Nice grapics. I'm not sure if that brown thing I killed was the pirate base or not. It would have been helpful if there was some kind of minimap or at least an indication on what type of island an island is without having to enter it. Gameplay felt smooth, but got monotonous after I bought the first better ship so I went to kill the boss right away.

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:22pm

This game is very polished! I liked the instructions, is good when a game tells you why you died, specially when you are trying it for the first time.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:11am

Nice concept, not sure if it's random but 80% of the cities were cultural, which make the trade a bit hard :p

Per says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Really nice graphics and controls!
It's like a 2d elite but with good graphics :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]