August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

To War!

by Gidaio - Jam Entry

So, like all of our games, graphics and polish are lacking, but the core mechanic is there.

Controls:
WASD - set move direction
IJKL - set attack direciton
Space - end turn early
Q/E - previous/next unit
R - go to build mode
F - go to unit mode

The idea is that you have 10 seconds to tell your units what to do. Once you're done with that, they'll begin to carry out the actions given them. As they're working, your opponent will plan his moves. After he finishes, you'll go back to your planning phase while his units move.

There are three kinds of units:
Warrior - attacks directly in front of him - melee range
Ranger - attacks in a straight line 10 units long
Mage - attacks in a diameter 3 circle centered on him

By going to build mode, you can construct more units by pressing the appropriate WASD key.

Please note that we cannot vouch for the integrity of builds on OSs other than Windows - we're trusting what Unity has told us.

Programming by Gidaio and bowlercaptain, art by bowlercaptain, and 3D models by Gidaio using Blender.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1422Coolness39%

Comments

epiplon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:06am

Provide different links, Github won't let you download a single build alone.

Gidaio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Should be fixed, Epiplon.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Data folder not found

There should be 'ToWarWin_64_Data'
folder next to the executable

Gidaio cant play this my windows system Not sure how to fix this

Gidaio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:56pm

There is an accompanying "_data" folder on the google drive page. I don't know why Unity doesn't bundle it in with the executable. For Modding and patching purposes, perhaps?

coeoliver says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:11am

I played it and it was hard to control

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Wow! Ouyo support!

koe415 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:24am

Cool idea but I wish it had some type of simple AI to fight against as playing by myself isn't ideal haha Solid game in every other regard though. Good job guys!

hbocao says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:42am

Very cool concept! I too missed some AI to play against, but I got the idea.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 4:39pm

I couldn't run your game
"There should be
'ToWarWin_64_Data'
folder next to the executable"

This was a Unity game? No? You must include the Data file for this to work.

Croze says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:36pm

couldn't download :(

jwolf says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:03am

Something appears to be wrong with the "Win64" package. It seems to have the Linux files mixed in. I was able to get the Winx86 version working, though.

The concept is neat, but for a two player hotseat game I think it needs a pause screen at least, so that the players can switch controls in a reasonable amount of time and to have a better idea whose turn it is.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]