August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rainy Rainbow

by SasoriDama - 48 Hour Compo Entry

4th Ludum dare. Really fun this time.

You play as a little cloud person who is trying to bring rainbows into the rainyday. There are ten levels and it gets harderd and rainier with each level.

You have to keep the clouds in the sunbeam for ten seconds to make the rainbow, and in order to push the clouds you need to be close.

Press h for help in game or read the readme included.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#131Graphics3.76
#235Innovation3.45
#271Mood3.13
#372Overall3.24
#400Humor2.54
#677Fun2.78
#752Theme2.94
#915Audio1.53

Comments

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41pm

A good time, for sure haha. Very difficult!!!

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Brilliant game, all it needed was a soundtrack :D

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:45pm

I can't play it (on ArchLinux), I get the error:
> Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path
[...]

(and lwjgl is installed)

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Rainbow! :D
I loved the game, getting the cloud to stay in there is difficult.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Very enjoyable. Awesome work. :)

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:15pm

What an odd idea for a game! However. It was quite lovely! Good effort and lovely visuals!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Really creative design with a cute style to it, I liked this one a lot.

kayupla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:33pm

exellent work .

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Niec little game although surprisingly hard. Think if the player movement was a bit faster or more interesting (maybe with acceleration) it would have helped the game.

Nice drawings :)

kristof says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Cute little game and very nice visuals. I cant play it very long as my laptop gets burning hot. A frame rate limitation would have been great.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:44pm

I'm not able to play, I'm getting the message "Could not find or load main class Cloud.jar" when inputting into the console "java Cloud.jar". If I double click it nothing happens...

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:06pm

@RHY3756547
what operating system do you have? Do you have the latest java?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Atmosphere dark, spiders .. All that I love!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Hurray! Finally got a rainbow!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:42pm

good job

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:56am

I have java 1.7, I got this with another game too recently... It's the 64-bit version.

kbm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:40am

Yeeeey! I love this cloud! :D

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:59pm

@RHY3756547
That's odd. So no java games are working for you? Are any java programs working for you at all?

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:37pm

nice entry, good style and I like the mechanic. Great work.

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:01am

Sorry I haven't been replying much! I appreciate all the feedback and whatnot and I thank everyone for playing!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:12am

Very nice, I like the way you used the them. It's challenging too.

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:21am

RAINBOW! Pretty art, dude! I just wish you had included some music and sound to fit the mood. Great job!

RoseNinja says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:06pm

nice game the art was good well done

Sep 13, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Hard and awesome :D
I too miss some music and the sun rays look a bit weird (on Ubuntu).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]