August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds Flat

by IndigoWolf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I created this game in a little under 8 hours with around 4 of those being productive. I had very little time over the weekend and that probably reflects in the game.

The game uses pure Java with no external libraries and should be able to run cross-platform but I haven't had the opportunity to test this. If a Mac user is able to tell me whether or not this works on Mac I would greatly appreciate it.

Please leave any comments, good or bad I'm happy to hear them! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#971Humor1.33
#978Fun2.36
#1038Theme2.49
#1052Overall2.45
#1060Mood1.72
#1094Graphics1.91
#1114Innovation2.00

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Nicely done. For 8 hours this is pretty solid. I liked the different block behaviours, especially the white ones.
There is some obvious room for improvement, such as sound effects or some other kind of feedback when you hit a block. Also I just realize that I never used the teleport thing... kind of forgot about it. Anyway, got to Level 22 or so and it was quite enjoyable.

Clavus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Pretty good for just six hours. The different blocks kept it interesting :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Quite good work if you were forking on it only 6 hours.

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Avoiding the bars gets pretty challenging. I didn't like the teleport power ups, though. I would preferred temporary invulnerability.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:50pm

I have between 2 and 3 fps, so it's not easy to play (by the way, it works on Linux)

kratorspore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:52pm

This is incredibly fun and playable for a 6 hour attempt. Hat off to you.

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43pm

For an 8 hour entry, i'd say that pretty impressive!
I liked the fact that it was hard to stand completely still due to momentum (i guess?) made it seem that you were falling at really high speed (did you actually fall down, or was that just the way i saw it?)
As others mentioned, it could be cool with some sounds - at least for indicating damage.
Had a fun time playing it, and a nice little challenge. I like the idea of the game crashing if you actually are mad enough to hit the bottom!

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02pm

really cool entry. only 4/6/8 h? impressive!
y-axis would be great!

IndigoWolf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Thanks for all the positive feedback guys, working on a small post-comp version because people seem to like it, and yes voltorben, you are constantly moving down and I used velocities for the movement rather than a consistent speed along the x-axis which makes it difficult to stand still :)

zzForrest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Good job. I liked the extra blocks, but it took me a while to figure out that blue blocks would hurt you. It also took me a while to figure out that the mouse controlled the player.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:12am

Kind of nice game, it does not have the content for 128 levels.

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:46am

Nice job for such a small amount of time. I played it for longer than I expected. Simple and entertaining.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:33am

Good job! Avoiding the bar is hard D:

kraj0t says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:33am

The music kept me going :-) Gratz! And get dressed already!!

kraj0t says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:36am

^that comment was meant for another entry ^^U

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:43am

Woah.. Under 8 hours? Good work.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:55pm

I like avoider games. Nice use of theme. Good Job!

Genecyll says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Nice game, it was fun to play! If you worked longer, you maybe could add some sound ;)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Nice game as for 8 hours producing! I miss the audio a bit ;)

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:38am

good job

Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Level 6 and 12 seem to be empty, I wish it showed more that we were being hit by blocks. Due to it being in Java, fraps wont record it so I cant include it in my LD27 compilation videos sadly

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]