August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon of the Ten Seconds

by ramoncb - Jam Entry

In this mysterious dungeon, at every ten seconds something strange can happen!

Made and running with Blender, using only logic bricks!

Modelling, Sculpting, Animation and Logic: Blender
Image editions: Gimp
Music generated by Otomata and editade with Reaper
Photo textures comming from Cgtextures and a folder I have here xD

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#97Graphics(Jam)4.03
#277Mood(Jam)2.96
#337Overall(Jam)3.03
#369Audio(Jam)2.57
#405Fun(Jam)2.63
#530Theme(Jam)2.48
#541Innovation(Jam)2.27

Comments

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:39am

Not sure if I'm entirely convinced this adheres to the theme ;) It's a very pretty and interesting game. One change I might suggest is having the mouse control turning, since that is the goto method for any PC FPS and I kept trying to do that and getting frustrated.

ramoncb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:35am

thanks for the feedback =)

for the LD, I always use only logic bricks, to make a 'mouselook' option is practically impossible without real coding, and even if made using only logic bricks, it probably will have a lot of problems

about the theme, the idea was to make a maze where traps and enemies appear at every ten seconds, or something like that xD

(sorry my bad english)

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Really nice dungeon crawler. Wish it was another theme so the game would be more malleable. Nicely done mate.

skiesgamingtv says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Hi ! I really liked the game, an old school dungeon crawler just as I remember them ;)

I made a video gameplay about it : http://youtu.be/FeDE6nfGqeE
Thanks for the game and keep up the great work !

ramoncb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:39pm

torvik88 and skiesgamingtv, thank you for the feedback and I'm glad you like the game!

and skiesgamingtv, really thank you for make a video about my game, you made my day more happy! =)

now I see that the dungeon need to be larger! xD

sorry my bad english

ix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:31am

I like how this addresses the theme. I could imagine a fantasy setting with a cursed dungeon like this.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:36am

The z and x buttons don't seem to do anything. I watched skie's video and saw that it should do an attack but for some reason its not working for me. I'm on windows btw.

ramoncb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:41pm

thank you for the feedback

KhaoTom, this for sure is some kind of bug!

the idea of Z and X was for not put the weapons selection on "1,2,3,4...", instead, "Z,X,C,V..."(but I did have only time for the melee and fireball attack, so, only Z and X ^^')

when you select the fireball, the quantity of mana is shown
when you select the melee, the mana will be hided
is that happened for you?
(and don't forget to attack with the ctrl! xD)

Joror says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Exact controls took a little figuring out, and I seems to only strafe with my arrow keys for a while. But after that it was a simple / effective little dungeon crawl. :)

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Oh I see now, those are the selection buttons. I wasn't using ctrl! Thanks :)

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:38am

sweet game bro good job :3

Arcana says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:39am

Nice atmosphere and graphics. I liked the dungeon crawling. The time countdown was kind of obscure but eventually I figured it out. Kind of wished there were more enemies to fight. Agree with the others about the controls but you gotta work with what you're given.

ramoncb says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

thank you all for the feedback

and KhaoTom, I'm glad that was not a bug xD

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:05am

I agree that it seems only loosely-related to the theme, but it's very pretty, and fun in its own right. I love this style of dungeon crawler. The controls could have been better, but for being coded only in logic blocks, it's not bad at all.

Nice work, and thanks for putting this together! I had fun.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Yeaaaah, pushing snakes against wall and hitting them until they diiiie ! Very good !

acro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:12pm

I haven't seen any other BGE ludum dare entry before - do u know if there have been any? I'm downloading the rar, hoping it contains the .blend, as I'm curious to see what's all in there. I'm very interested in your whole process, as it's something I considered before LD26 (and in the end I just used Blender to make all the prerendered sprites for that). So it'd be good to know how your time was spent, etc.
As for the game, it's a little disappointing that the critical path through the maze is so short, and even after all the F1 help text I never worked out how to fire the fireball (as noted in the other comments) - so the controls could definitely improve. The lighting was a little bit underdone so lots of areas blacked out - but I can understand that, you probably didn't have time to increase the lighting everywhere and AO/shadow-bake to make the walls look ok with that, so how it is is a fair compromise.
I wasn't aware that mouselook in BGE needed much/any scripting, as there are quite a lot of game engine demos showcased on BA or BN that use it. But if it does need it, honestly, the scripting system in blender is particularly easy and fun to get into and python is easy to use - don't be afraid to just try something with it even if you think "it's too complicated" or you think you won't understand. All the best!

ramoncb says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:18am

thank you all for the feedback

Acro, there are other games made in the BGE, not much, unfortunately =/

here some:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=22782
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=18865
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=18865
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=18865
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=11311
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=15028
and all my entries (always using only logic bricks):
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/ramoncb/

you will find everything I made for this jam in the source file (all I did right AND wrong heheheh xD)

for this game, I start on the friday getting the theme and making a prototype only with cubes (so, I figured out what is the main idea and the gameplay, "the player" was pratically done )

I passed saturday and sunday focused in what I'm better, the graphics ^^', I didn't made concept art, so I started modelling like crazy, so, the process became a mess xD

made a trap, put on the game, now made a door, put on the game too
(yes, this way ^^')

by the night of sunday, I did all, except I still don't had made the enemy for the game! So, I did the model and texture of the snake by all the dawn and did all his logic (AI, how it hit, how hurt the thing) on the monday

at monday's night, I did the title screen, the music and I had to make a 'end game'
(very irresponsible xD~~~)

I think that the principal thing is start on the friday doing the most of possible of all the logic part of the game, run like crazy on the start and walk on the end! ;-)

about the python and programming, you are right, but I always try to make games using only logic bricks to get attention of the people for the BGE, it's a very powerful engine, with a very quickly and easy use of logic bricks... and people don't know this =/

(sorry my bad english xD)

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:28am

gameplay made me a little woozy, no movement bob or small fov i dont know, otherwise was pretty neat

Livsk says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Nice game. Good luck!

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:36pm

The staff and other graphics are very nice and the music is good. More enemies would make it more exciting. I liked the dark scary dungeon mood and the use of theme once I figured it out.

Antidote says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:21am

Pretty nice graphic and mood :) good job !

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:01am

Interesting idea. Moving around was a bit difficult, but the graphics were very nice.

blackotus says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:23pm

The graphics and ambience are amazing!

Could use more feedbacks and a classic WASD control scheme, though.

Nice entry!

ramoncb says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:51am

thank you all for the feedback!

I started to work on a post-LD version thanks to you! ;-)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]