August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

METEOR

by Red Mike - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Finished in 24 hours, on account of having a party in the second competition day.

The link to the theme is loose, in that it was meant to be a 10-second-wave defense game. However, ending it abruptly at 10 seconds made for a poor game. I thus decided to make it carry on, if necessary, but on average it'll end at 10 seconds.

The game is a tower-defense/missile-defense meld. You have a building phase, where you organise launchers and modules on your screen (at a cost), then an attack phase, where a wave of meteors flies at your colony. Your launchers/modules need to protect your colony.

It's an arcade game, and thus there is no 'win condition', however more meteors are spawned the more rounds you play, until a maximum of 50, that I'm not sure is survivable.

PRICES: Completely forgot to add price tags to the game, and I don't have time for a major change now, and likely won't have in the second day of the competition as well, so the prices are as follows:

Pipes: 5 resource.
Brakes/Speed/Delay: 25 resource.
Split Launcher: 100 resource.
Launcher: 50 resource.

Known issues: There is an occasional slowdown that I can't trace (any attempt to debug it makes the bug not happen, a heisenbug). If it occurs and does not go away until the end of the round, restart the application. Sorry!

Mostly self explanatory, the basics are explained in the second screenshot (animation) and ingame.

Only Windows is supported, unfortunately. VS2010 source included, so not easily built on Linux either.

EDIT1: Tweaked starting money a bit, to make it easier to survive. (Thanks to edh649 for the feedback)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#373Innovation3.22
#471Graphics3.03
#584Overall3.03
#601Fun2.87
#884Audio1.72
#892Humor1.64
#900Mood2.25
#1031Theme2.50

Comments

skywing says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 4:21am

Cool, neat twist on the missile defense formula. Though difficultly stops ramping up after several waves so its pretty easy to just stock up on turrets and demolish everything. It's still pretty fun and nice to look at to boot though.

manabreak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:47am

This was pretty fun. I think that without the limitation and with more stuff to place around, this could be a really cool game, especially for phones. :)

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:47am

A bit easy, but really fun to play!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:52am

Very nice - I see this working well on a mobile platform. Love the graphics and arcade vibe.

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:23am

Really cool. I only placed turrets and that seemed to work :P
I like the graphics :)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10am

Simple, fun, clever "Missle Deffence" variation. Music would give it some more life though.

nexust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10am

Very enjoyable, nice graphics and interesting gameplay.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:20am

The redirecting mechanic was innovative. Liked the game.

Clavus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37am

Pretty neat. Not much else to do than building stuff and blasting meteors though. The bullet acceleration stuff never really seemed necessary to survive. Turret spam is all that is needed.

CoOz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37am

Fun to play :)
No sounds so i can continue to listen my music, nice trick! ;)
The progression seems exponential : how many meteors and turrets in 1 hour?
24hours you say? wow very nice.

Komradus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:57am

Really cool take on the tower defense genre, I like it.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Funny!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Wow! What a cool, original take on space invaders. Lovin' all the options!

bassarisse says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:50am

Nice concept.

Antidote says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Interesting idea ^^

d__adee says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:04am

pretty neat.. :P
Nice graphics too!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Enjoyable game :)

Sestren says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 7:29am

I really like the concept on this one, and the visuals are nice. I would love to see a Post-Compo version of this with more polish and features.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]